Home  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   Cyclocross   Track   News   Photos    Feedback 




Day 1 report
Day 2 report
Day 3 Men's Sprint
Day 3 Women's IP
Day 3 Men's TP
Day 3 Women's 10km scratch
Day 4 Men's 20km scratch
Day 4 JU19 Men's TP
Meares sisterly rivaly
Shane Kelly's crash
Danny Day Interview
Chris Scott Interview
Kelly back at track
Pursuit attempts fall short
Vinnicombe returns
Day 5 U19 Women's 10km Scratch
Day 5 U19 Men's Keirin
Day 5 Women's Keirin
Day 5 Men's Keirin
Day 5 Men's 40km Points
Day 5 U19 Men's Madison
Final wrap-up

Sessions & Results

Individual Pursuit
Individual Sprint
Points Race
Scratch Race
Tandem Sprint
Time Trial
Team Pursuit
Team Sprint


Day 1
Day 2
Day 3
Day 4

Day 5

2002 Australian National Track Cycling Championships

Dunc Gray Velodrome, Australia, April 17 - 21, 2002

Final wrap-up: Four-gold swags for French and Meares

By Karen Forman

Victorian under 19 rider Mark French was named the champion of champions at the conclusion of the 2002 Australia Track Cycling Championships in Sydney.

French, 17, collected four gold medals during the five-day event held at the Olympic Dunc Gray Velodrome in Bankstown.

The youngster showed stunning form to win the under 19 kilo, the under 19 flying 200m, the under 19 sprint and the under 19 keirin

Kerry Meares
Photo: © Tom Balks
Click for larger image

Similarly, Queenslander Kerrie Meares picked up four gold medals in open women's division events.

She won the 500m time trial, the flying 200 metre, the sprint and the women's team sprint with Chloe Jack and her sister Anna Meares.

Three riders collected three gold medals during the week: NSW competitors Mark Renshaw and Sean Eadie, and Belinda Goss from Tasmania.

Renshaw won the men's 20km scratch, men's 40km pointscore and the 4000 metre team pursuit with Stephen Wooldridge, Jonathon Davis and Brent Dawson. Eadie won the flying 200m, individual sprint and was a member of the fast NSW team sprint trio, which included Shaun Hopkins and Ben Kersten.

Goss won the under 19 2km individual pursuit, the under 19 10km scratch and the under 19 points race.

Danny Day
Photo: © Tom Balks
Click for larger image

Then there were two golds for Queenslander Danny Day, in the Men's kilo and keirin, two for Nicholas Sanderson in the under 19 25km points race and with Johnny Clarke in the men's under 19 30km madison; two for Rochelle Gilmore in the women's 25km points race and 10km scratch race and two for Rebecca Borgo in the under 19 500m time trial and women's under 19 sprint.

Single gold medals went to West Australian Peter Dawson in the men's individual pursuit; Wade Cosgrove, Grand Irwin, Clint Johnson in the men's under 19 team sprint; Matthew Farmer in the men's under 19 15km scratch race and Jonathon Clarke, Sean Finning, Bradley Norton, Nicholas Sanderson in the under 19 4000m team pursuit; Amy Safe in the women's 3000m individual pursuit; Rosealee Hubbard in the women's keirin; and Lucy Stewart in the under 19 200m flying sprint.

Mark Renshaw
Photo: © Tom Balks
Click for larger image

The George Adams trophy for the most outstanding ride at the championships went to Mark Renshaw in the 20km scratch race on Saturday night.

The Robina Joy Trophy to the winning state in the men's category during the track titles went to NSW 167, with WA second on 64, QLD third on 50 and VIC fourth on 46.9.

The top two placings in the Norm Gailey trophy to the winning state based on points for the first eight places in each championship event including road are: NSW 993, VIC 909.

Vinnicombe & Hou
Photo: © Tom Balks
Click for larger image

Other highlights of the week uncluded the return to racing of former world kilo champion Martin Vinnicombe, in the role of a tandem steersman for disabled athlete Lindy Hou, and Chris Scott's record-smashing ride in the CP pursuit.

back to top