Home  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   Cyclocross   Track   News   Photos    Feedback 




Day 1 report
Day 2 report
Day 3 Men's Sprint
Day 3 Women's IP
Day 3 Men's TP
Day 3 Women's 10km scratch
Day 4 Men's 20km scratch
Day 4 JU19 Men's TP
Meares sisterly rivaly
Shane Kelly's crash
Danny Day Interview
Chris Scott Interview
Kelly back at track
Pursuit attempts fall short
Vinnicombe returns
Day 5 U19 Women's 10km Scratch
Day 5 U19 Men's Keirin
Day 5 Women's Keirin
Day 5 Men's Keirin
Day 5 Men's 40km Points
Day 5 U19 Men's Madison
Final wrap-up

Sessions & Results

Individual Pursuit
Individual Sprint
Points Race
Scratch Race
Tandem Sprint
Time Trial
Team Pursuit
Team Sprint


Day 1
Day 2
Day 3
Day 4

Day 5

2002 Australian National Track Cycling Championships

Dunc Gray Velodrome, Australia, April 17 - 21, 2002

Men's Sprint    Women's Individual Pursuit    Men's Teams Pursuit     Women's 10km Scratch

NSW wins men's teams pursuit

By Karen Forman

NSW in formation
Photo: © Phil McKnight
Click for larger image

The Australian men's team pursuit championship has gone to a classy team from NSW. Stephen Wooldridge, Mark Renshaw, Jonathon Davis and Brent Dawson rode a near-faultless race against the Victorian team of Chris Carr, Bradley Edmunds, Andrew Mason and Adrian Sansonetti, to take the National title for 2002.

The boys were a credit to coach Gary Sutton as they swapped turns smoothly, leaving no room for gaps or error, to catch the Victorians at 10 laps. It was evident from the start that NSW was out for a win and they weren't risking a thing.

When Victoria pulled out, knowing they were beaten, the NSW team kept going, looking to break a record.

Although Wooldridge was seen to struggle to get back on after being gapped when the NSW team overtook the Victorians, all four riders completed the course all in position in 4.16.144. ACT was awarded the bronze medal.

Photography courtesy Tom Balks

Photography courtesy Phil McKnight

Full results

back to top