Home  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   Cyclocross   Track   News   Photos    Feedback 


Wrap up: French leave sans gold; new stars for US
Feature: Greek team set their sights on Athens 2004
Feature: Anne Maree's still dressing cyclists' wounds after 20 years
Heiko Salzwedel on Britain's track plans
Day 1 Highlights
Day 2 Morning
Day 2 Evening
Start list


Round 1 in Mexico
Track WC in Sydney
Day takes Kelly's place
Teams arrive
May 7 update

Sessions & Results

Individual Pursuit
Individual Sprint
Points Race
Scratch Race
Time Trial
Team Pursuit
Team Sprint



World Cup

Round 1 - Mexico

Track Racing FAQ

An overview of track racing


Track World Cup Round 2 - CDM

Dunc Gray Velodrome, Sydney, Australia, May 10 - 12, 2002

Sydney Track World Cup news

May 7, 2002, News

The Sydney round of the UCI Track World Cup will kick off on Friday, May 10 with the fastest men and women on wheels in action on the Dunc Gray Velodrome. The gold, silver and bronze medal nations of the 2001 World Championships will do battle when France, Australia and Great Britain line up in the team sprint event.

France, the reigning World and Olympic champions, will be led by Arnaud Tournant, who along with the team sprint gold also claimed the sprint crown and his fourth consecutive kilometre time trial world title at last year's championships in Belgium.

But the Australians, the silver medallists last year, are in form after the recent national titles and will be riding with a home town advantage. Reigning world keirin champion, Ryan Bayley, 20, will join recently crowned Australian keirin and kilometre time trial champion, Danny Day and Ben Kersten to challenge the French. 2001 World title bronze medallists Great Britain make up the trio of favourites for the event.

In the keirin, Australia's hopes rest with Sydney's Sean Eadie and Adelaide's Rosealee Hubbard. Eadie was second at the Australian titles while Hubbard stormed across the finish line to claim gold in the women's event, which only this year has been added to the national and world championships' schedule.

The endurance riders will also appear on the first day of racing with competition in the men's 4km and women's 3km individual pursuit. 2002 Australian pursuit champions, Peter Dawson and Amy Safe, have been confirmed to start with other countries yet to lodge their entries for the events.

The other final on Friday's schedule is the men's points race in which Mark Renshaw will race for Australia. Tasmanian rider Darren Young is expected to represent Australia in the Men's 15km Scratch race.

Sixteen countries will contest the World Cup round. They are: Australia, Belgium, Canada, Colombia, France, Germany, Great Britain, Greece, Hungary, Malaysia, Mexico, Netherlands, New Zealand, Poland, South Africa, and the USA.



back to top