Home Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on Cyclingnews.com

Bayern Rundfahrt
Photo ©: Schaaf

 MTB index page for all MTB content

Australian National MTB Championships - CN

Mount Stromlo, Australia, January 25-28, 2008

2007 results     Schedule     Preview    Past winners


  • Race 1 - January 25: Club Team Relay
  • Race 2 - January 26: XC: Super Master/Master/Veteran/Sports/U19/U17/U15 Women
  • Race 3 - January 26: XC: Super Master/Master/U17/U15 Men
  • Race 4 - January 26: XC: Expert/Sport(A&B) Men
  • Race 5 - January 26: 4X
  • Race 6 - January 27: XC: Veteran/U19 Men
  • Race 7 - January 27: XC: Elite/U23 Women
  • Race 8 - January 27: XC: Elite/U23 Men
  • Race 9 - January 27: Observed Trials
  • Race 10 - January 27: Downhill: Group C
  • Race 11 - January 28: XC Short Course: Junior & Open Men
  • Race 12 - January 28: XC Short Course: Open Women
  • Race 13 - January 28: XC Short Course: Men
  • Race 14 - January 28: Downhill: Group B
  • Race 15 - January 28: Downhill: Group A

Australian Nationals returns to Mt Stromlo

Luke Madill
Photo ©: Mark Gunter
(Click for larger image)

The Australian National Mountain Bike Championships head to Mt. Stromlo, Canberra, this weekend from January 25 to 28. It will be the second consecutive year the nationals are held at Stromlo Forest Park which will also be the site for the upcoming World Cup in August. Then, international riders will return to Australia for the first time since the World Championships in 1996 in Cairns.

Held Saturday evening, the four cross race is expected to be a battle between Caroline Buchanan and Sarsha Huntington for the women and Leigh Darrell and Luke Madill in the men's race. The riders have been going head to head in the Australian 4X national series all season.

The Olympic cross country race will showcase potential Australian Olympians mid-day on Sunday including Tory Thomas, Dellys Starr, Rowena Fry, Zoe King, and Kate Potter. Fry is fresh off her win at the Wildside MTB race last weekend in Tasmania. Both Fry and King are in the "Dirt Roads to London" national talent identification program.

Sid Taberlay and Chris Jongewaard will be the men to beat in the cross country race, but they will get a tough run from Dan McConnell, Dylan Cooper, Shaun Lewis, and Aiden Lefmann.

The cross country race will play an important role, especially for the women riders. If no Australian woman meets the selection criteria at the upcoming World Cups and World Championships, the pick for the Olympic Games will fall back to the winner of the National Championships.

The action will wrap up Monday afternoon with the downhill race. Top international talent Tracey Hannah and Tracey Moseley will race the likes of Claire Whiteman. Jared Rando, Nathan Rennie, and Amiel Cavalier are the favorites for the men's race.

Riders from the United Kingdom and New Zealand will race alongside riders from all states in Australia. Moseley, from the UK, is one of those riders.

Past winners

      XC Men            XC Women        DH Men            DH Women          Dual / 4X Men     Dual / 4X Women

2007  Chris Jongewaard  Tory Thomas     Jared Graves      Julia Boer        Luke Madill       Caroline Buchanan
2006  Sid Taberlay      Dellys Starr    Nathan Rennie     Tracey Hannah
2005  Chris Jongewaard  Emma Colson     Mick Hannah       Sabrina Jonnier
2004  Sid Taberlay      Lisa Mathison   Sam Hill          Tracey Hannah
2003  Josh Fleming      Lisa Mathison   Sam Hill          Tai-Lee Muxlow
2002  Sid Taberlay      Mary Grigson    Chris Kovarik     Tai-Lee Muxlow    Chris Kovarik
2001  Paul Rowney       Mary Grigson    Chris Kovarik     Tai-Lee Muxlow    Jared Rando       Donna Hadfield
2000  Paul Rowney       Mary Grigson    Chris Kovarik     Donna Hadfield    Grant Day         Katrina Miller
1999  Paul Rowney       Mary Grigson    Joel Panozzo      Tai-Lee Muxlow 
1998  Rob Woods         Mary Grigson    Michael Ronning   Katrina Miller    Nathan Rennie     Suzanne Cengia
1997  Cadel Evans       Hanneke Geysen  Michael Ronning   Rachael Grundy    Miles Davis       Katrina Miller
1996  Cadel Evans       Alex Alty       Scott Sharples    Katrina Miller    Craig Fisher      Caroline Haas
1995  John Gregory      Janine Fayaets  Michael Ronning   Caroline Haas     Craig Fisher      Caroline Haas
1994  Rob Eva           Meg Carrigan    Scott Sharples    Bronwyn Battersby 
1993  Rob Eva           Janine Fayaets  Rob Eva           Bronwyn Battersby 
1992  Rob Eva           Robyn Harris    John Tomac (USA)  Rachael Bruce
1991  Vincent Flanagan  Robyn Harris    Ewen Gellie       Rachael Bruce     Robert Langlands  Nicole Dutton
1990  Scott Steward     Robyn Harris    Pete Smith        Rachael Bruce
1989  Graham Allbon     Megan Warthold  Ben Monroe        Robyn Harris
1988  Werner Wohlrab    Karen Wells     Ewen Gellie       Robi Van Nooten