Home Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on Cyclingnews.com

Bayern Rundfahrt
Photo ©: Schaaf

 MTB index page for all MTB content

Australian National MTB Championships - CN

Mount Stromlo, Australia, January 25-28, 2008

Main Page    Results   Overall standings    Previous Race   Next Race

Race 5 - January 26: 4X

National Champs double in four cross

By Sharon Payne

Luke Madill shows great speed
Photo ©: Evan Jeffery
(Click for larger image)
Last year's winners proved too strong at the Hi Lux four cross final in Canberra. Both elite reigning champions, Luke Madill and Caroline Buchanan, retained their crowns for another year, however not without a struggle.

Buchanan forced the speed in the final to win her second national title at only 17 years of age.

"That was a tough one. I'm so tired," announced Buchanan on the line. "I knew I had to be switched on the whole time. I was just in the zone. I was so pumped up."

Challenges to Buchanan's second national title came from Brisbane's Sarsha Huntington. "I knew she was there all the time. I knew she (Huntington) would do any move to pass me. I knew if I messed up she would be there," said Buchanan.

Huntington crashed during a forced move and finished in fourth place. Second place was taken by top British downhillers, Tracy Moseley, while young Gracie Ireland from Sydney claimed third.

Caroline Buchanan and Sarsha Huntington
Photo ©: Evan Jeffery
(Click for larger image)
The repeat performance was quick to follow in the men's race with defending national champion Luke Madill too strong for local challenger Leigh Darrell.

"I knew where he was and I may have let my guard down but I came back," explained Madill. Darrell looked like a move in the second last straight may have given him the edge but Madill had it measured to perfection to win.Madill had been a standout through the day with good gates and led the field though the motos and heats. With BMX charging into tithe Olympic games in August, Madill has confirmed he will not focus on trying to gain a spot in the Australian team.

Second place went to Darrell and Sydney's Terrance Scarr retained third. Thomas Twentyman stayed out of trouble all day to finish in fourth.

National downhiller series leader Amiel Cavalier from Wollongong was unlucky to make the final after crashing in the semi-final. World ranked downhiller Nathan Rennie was lucky during the preceding races a couple of spills allowing him a safe spot into the semi final. Rennie's sights are firmly set on another national title on Monday in the downhill after finishing second last year.


For a thumbnail gallery of these images, click here

Images by Evan Jeffery /www.evanjeffery.com.au


Elite men

1 Luke Madill               
2 Leigh Darrell             
3 Terry Scarr               
4 Thomas Twentyman          
5 Thomas Hubert             
6 Nathan Rennie             
7 Amiel Cavalier            
8 Randal Huntington         
9 Cody Eichhorn             
10 Rick Boyer               
11 Tim Dunn                 
12 Michael Jobson           
13 Mitchell Scarr           
14 Jared Rando              
15 Luke Pretlove            
16 Gavin Turner             
17 Hayden Lester            
18 Joshua Button            
19 Adam Dossetor            
20 Jarah Breese             
21 Cameron Allonby          
22 Rhys Atkinson            
23 Dave West                
24 Barton Moore             
25 Mark Beeksma             
26 Adam Nicholson           
27 Ryan Andrews             
28 Adam Smithson            
DNS Craig Yates             
DNS Bryn Atkinson           
DNS Callan Ridge            
DNS Ricky Lee               
DNS Thomas Twentyman        
Elite women
1 Caroline Buchanan         
2 Tracey Moseley            
3 Grace Ireland             
4 Sarsha Huntington         
5 Julia Boer                
U19 Men

1 Rhys Willemse             
2 Shaun O'Connor            
3 David Habicht             
4 Aidan Nemet               
5 Jock Farrington           
6 Anthony Vaughan           
7 Cameron Taylor            
8 James Horton              
9 Adam Thaler               
DNS Josh Johnston           
Junior Women

1 Courtney Taylor           
2 Harriet Burbidge-Smith    
3 Alice Minahan             
4 Danielle Beecroft         
5 Emily Hockey              
6 Jasmin Rosa               
7 Bec Kirss                 
8 Emma Tatum                
U17 Men

1 Graeme Mudd               
2 Ryan Henderson            
3 Blake Nielsen             
4 Benjamin Clarke           
5 Liam Melville             
6 Dain Case                 
7 Mathew Hall               
8 Matthew Mullins           
9 Lochlan Saunders          
10 Anthony Fedorovitch      
11 Max Lobigs               
12 Tim Beaver               
DNS William Gower           
DNS Jarah Breese            
DNS James Shepherd          
U15 Men

1 Bowen Muncaster           
2 Connor Fearon             
3 David McMillan            
4 Jordan Butler             
5 Jack Murray               
6 Max Hughes                
7 Angus Easthope            
8 Luke Ellison              
9 Joe Vejvoda               
10 Aidan Vahtrik            
11 Alec French              
DNS George Hoskins          
Veteran Men

1 Robert Stone              
2 Brett Minion              
3 Brett Thompson            
4 Mic Longhurst             
5 Stephen Robinson          
6 Albert Bacci              
7 Jeffrey Solomano          
DNS Steve McKenna           
Sport Men

1 Louis Pijpers             
2 Thomas Markus             
3 Adam Cleary               
4 Philip Wood               
5 Jarrad Connolly           
6 Nathan Couzin             
7 Jiel Case                 
8 Ricardo Franzolini