Home Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on Cyclingnews.com

Giro finale
Photo ©: Bettini

 MTB index page for all MTB content

Australian National MTB Championships - CN

Mount Stromlo, Australia, January 25-28, 2008

Main Page    Results   Overall standings    Previous Race   Next Race

Race 8 - January 27: XC: Elite/U23 Men

Jongewaard doubles

By Sharon Payne

Chris Jongewaard
Photo ©: Evan Jeffery
(Click for larger image)

Potential Olympic cross country mountain bikers today made steps towards their selection for the Beijing 2008 Olympics. The men's defending national champion Chris Jongewaard claimed another victory. The UCI recently announced one men's spot for the Olympics, so the competition has been heating up.

Jongewaard was not challenged after the first lap of five. The defending national champion, found the technical sections suited him. The 28 year-old from Adelaide finished the five lap course in two hours, two minutes and 12 seconds. Athens Olympian Sid Taberlay claimed second while Victorian Dan McConnell placed third.

"I just knew that I would have it over these guys on the technical sections," admitted Jongewaard.

The charge off the line
Photo ©: Evan Jeffery
(Click for larger image)

"I thought I'd give it a bit of a test on the first climb. Going down the descent I just gapped them. I rode my own race and went on with it."

Three of the men have already gained positions on the shadow team. Chris Jongewaard, Sid Taberlay and Daniel McConnell have already made it onto that team however gaining his second title has significance to Jongewaard personally.

"It's a good feeling to win the title again," he said.

There was some close racing in the Under 23 men's division with Paul Van Der Ploeg beating Cal Brittan. Local favourite Ben Henderson claimed third.


For a thumbnail gallery of these images, click here

Images by Evan Jeffery/www.evanjeffery.com.au


Elite men

1 Chris Jongewaard (Avanti / Sasi / Shimano )                                                 2.02.12
2 Sid Taberlay                                                                                   1.48
3 Daniel McConnell (Cycling Australia National-Tis)                                              2.14
4 Shaun Lewis (Mongoose, Sram, Maxxis)                                                           2.23
5 Brent Miller (Bike Culture, Titus, Adidas Eyewear )                                            2.51
6 Aiden Lefmann (Cannondale, Sram, Maxxis, Oakley, )                                             3.09
7 Dylan Cooper (Conceptis.Com.Au, Fictive.Com.Au)                                                3.34
8 Murray Spink (Giant Bicycles)                                                                  4.13
9 Andrew Blair (Giant, Spearman Cycles, Maxxis Tyres)                                            5.20
10 Perren Delacour (Yeti Factory Team,Sram,Smith,Pearl Izumi)                                    7.02
11 Adrian Jackson (Flight Centre - Scott Mtb Team, Adidas Eyewear)                               7.31
12 Brian Price (Khs & Penrith Physiotherapy Sports Centre)                                       7.49
13 Jason English (Bmc, Gordon Street Cycles)                                                     8.08
14 Mike Northcott (Jamis, Peak Fuel, Bellamy Gallery, )                                         10.44
15 James Williamson (Giant/Ritchey/Polar)                                                       12.04
16 Rohin Adams (Total Rush Authorised Specialized Dealer)                                       13.21
17 Matthew Fleming (Clarence Street Cyclery)                                                    14.19
18 Tim Hucker (Garneau/Crocs Road Team,Moroni's Bike Shop)                                      16.13
19 James Maebus (Bikenow, Vis, Michelin, Bianchi, Jayco, )                                      17.28
20 Troy Glennan (Merida Australia, Bikebug North Sydney)                                        17.51
21 John Waddell (Santa Cruz Syndicate/ Red Bull Energy)                                         18.16
22 Andrew Burford                                                                               19.46
23 Shane Spicer                                                                                 22.08
24 Chris Kendall (Www.Wheelworks.Co.Nz)                                                         22.46
25 Paul Traynor (Merida, Advance Traders)                                                       23.31
26 Adam Franklin                                                                                24.04
27 Camm Winn (Orbea Bicycles, Catlike Helmets)                                                  25.33
28 Paul McEntee                                                                                 27.52

Behind one lap

29 Scott Finlay (Ashgrovecycles.Com , Finlay Racing)                                                 
30 Daniel Watson (Bellys Bikes)                                                                      
31 Devin Sando (Master Sport And Life)                                                               
DNF Ben Mather (Orbea Bicycles, Catlike Helmets)                                                     
DNF Daniel MacKay (Giant, The Bike Shed Canberra)                                                    
DNF Josh Fleming (Felt, High 5, Sram)                                                                
Under 23 Men

1 Paul Van Der Ploeg (Felt Bicycles, Sram Components)                                         2.05.20
2 Cal Britten (Kona/Mt Buller Factory Team)                                                      1.34
3 Ben Henderson (Mongoose, Sram, Maxxis)                                                         2.28
4 Lachlan Norris (Cycling Australia National - Tis Mountain Bike Team)                           3.09
5 Nathan Haas (Actas Act Academy Of Sport, Orbea Australia, Catlike Helmets, Northwave Shoes)    3.16
6 Glenn Stewart (Cannondale, Sram, Maxxis, Sugoi, Oakley, Enervit, Cateye)                       6.49
7 Brett Anderson (Trak Cycles, Trek Bicycles)                                                    8.22
8 Joshua Carlson (Spearmans Cycles)                                                              9.56
9 Erin Francis (Thylacine Custom Cycles)                                                        12.02
10 Angus Harding (Orbea Bicycles, Catlike Helmets)                                              14.22
11 Neil Van Der Ploeg (Kona/Mt.Buller Factory Team)                                             16.29
12 Andrew Arthur (Clarence Street Cyclery/Trek)                                                 22.33
13 Benjamin Dyball                                                                              22.37
14 Scott Chancellor (Orbea Bicycles, Catlike Helmets)                                           24.41
15 Daniel Hallam (Queensland Academy Of Sport, Merida Factory Racing Team)                      26.39

Behind one lap

16 Mark Flood                                                                                        
17 Luke Graydon                                                                                      
DNF Joshua Keep (Race Elements for The Riders Intense Tyres)                                         
DNF Alexander Pung                                                                                   
DNF Scott Liston (Felt Bicycles, Pinnacle Cycles.)                                                   
DNF Benjamin Grieve-Johnson (Sram)                                                                   
DNF Brad Cady                                                                                        
DNF Edward Hood