12,'min'=>30, 'refresh'=>500); // IN GMT $refresh[2]=array('hr'=>13,'min'=>30, 'refresh'=>300); // IN GMT $refresh[3]=array('hr'=>17,'min'=>30, 'refresh'=>0); // IN GMT //add new $refresh rows as you like in chronological order. Set refresh => 0 for no refresh line // foreach (array_keys($refresh) as $r) { // foreach not available in PHP3! Have to do it like this reset ($refresh); while (list(, $r) = each ($refresh)) { if (time() > gmmktime($r[hr], $r[min], 0, $m, $d, $y)) $delay=$r[refresh]; }; if ($delay) { return ("\n"); } else { return(''); }; }; ?>
Home Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  


Start list
Past Winners


Day 3 wrap up
Day 4 preview
Ind. Pursuit - M
Ind. Pursuit - W
500 m.
Team Pursuit
Scratch 10 km
Scratch 7.5 km
Team Sprint
Sprint - Women
Sprint - Men
Points Race 20km
Madison 30 km



First Endurance
Best Cycling Books
Competitive Cyclist


USCF National Track Championships - CN

Lehigh Valley Velodrome - Trexlertown, PA, August 27-31 2002

Event program and results

Men's Madison

Carney and Peace lap field twice to win madison

Carney and Pearce
Photo: © Mike Gladu
Click for larger image

In the men's madison, Jame Carney (Durango, Colo.- Prime Alliance Cycling) won his third gold medal of these championships, winning the madison with teammate Colby Pearce (San Francisco, Calif.- OFOTO/Lombardi Sports). In the madison event, two-man teams ride 120 laps, with one teammate racing, while the other circles above the track, resting, until tagged by the other racer and "slung" back into the race. Good teamwork is paramount, and Carney and Pearce put together a winning team.

"I told Colby to do push-ups and pull-ups all summer to prepare his arms for some good slinging in this event," said Carney. "Yeah," replied Pearce. "I didn't do any pull-ups, but we still won!"


Photos by Mike Gladu


1 Prime Alliance                          34 pts
(Colby Pearce/Jame Carney)

2 laps behind

2 Navigators                              34
(Marty Nothstein/Ryan Oelkers)
3 Team Fuji                               27
(Kyle Wamsley/Bobby Lea)
4 Prime Alliance 2                        21
(John Walrod/Jonas Carney)
5 Saturn Development                      15
(Andy Crater/Tim Reinhart)
6 Broadmark Capital                       12
(Kenny Williams/Rad Cunningham)
7 Unattached                               0
(Doug Beck/Donny Quixote)

3 laps behind

8 Kissena                                  0
(Eric Ragot/Jared Bunde)
9 Cycles De Oro                            0
(Joey Dantoni/Eric Gerolstein)

4 laps behind

10 Fraysee                                 0
(Guillaume Nelessen/Kareem Harris)
DNF Olympic Club                           0
(William Longstreth/Giovanni Rey)
DNF East Coast Velo                        0
(Larry Detris/Tucker Brown)
DNF Cody Racing                            0
(Marcus Black/Ryan Luttrell)