12,'min'=>30, 'refresh'=>500); // IN GMT $refresh[2]=array('hr'=>13,'min'=>30, 'refresh'=>300); // IN GMT $refresh[3]=array('hr'=>17,'min'=>30, 'refresh'=>0); // IN GMT //add new $refresh rows as you like in chronological order. Set refresh => 0 for no refresh line // foreach (array_keys($refresh) as $r) { // foreach not available in PHP3! Have to do it like this reset ($refresh); while (list(, $r) = each ($refresh)) { if (time() > gmmktime($r[hr], $r[min], 0, $m, $d, $y)) $delay=$r[refresh]; }; if ($delay) { return ("\n"); } else { return(''); }; }; ?>
Home Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  


Start list
Past Winners


Day 3 wrap up
Day 4 preview
Ind. Pursuit - M
Ind. Pursuit - W
500 m.
Team Pursuit
Scratch 10 km
Scratch 7.5 km
Team Sprint
Sprint - Women
Sprint - Men
Points Race 20km
Madison 30 km



First Endurance
Best Cycling Books
Competitive Cyclist


USCF National Track Championships - CN

Lehigh Valley Velodrome - Trexlertown, PA, August 27-31 2002

Event program and results    Men's Keirin    Women's Keirin

August 27-30: Keirin

Men: Nothstein era comes to an end

Keirin podium
Photo: © Mike Gladu
Click for larger image

Garth Blackburn (Houston, TX) scored an upset win in the Men's Keirin, the final event on the first night of the US track championships in Trexlertown, PA. Blackburn beat eight-time National Champion Marty Nothstein, who has never lost a keirin competition in his home town, and has only ever lost one other National Keirin Championship since 1993. However, Nothstein has sacrificed some of his track speed for more endurance this year, as he attempts to perform on the road.

"To do it here in T-town is very special, because of the fans" said Blackburn. "It is so exciting to win here because the people go crazy. It makes me feel special."


Photos by Mike Gladu


1 Garth Blackburn
2 Marty Nothstein
3 Joshua Weir
4 Giddeon Massie
5 Larry Detris
6 Andy Lakatosh
7 Erik Bonser
8 Jeffrey Labauve
9 Trevor Matulys
10 David Wiswell
11 Doug Beck
12 Michael Beers
13 Jon Frederick
14 Brandon Haines
15 Christopher Remaly
DNS Jame Carney

Women: Reed wins first women's U.S. keirin title

In perhaps the most exciting race finish of the evening, Jennie Reed (Kirkland,Wash. - Greggs/TREK) won the first-ever women's national keirin title, beating Sarah Uhl (Pa. - Dansko/Wheelworks/IF) by the slimmest of margins in a photo finish. Reed, who lives and trains in Lausanne, Switzerland for nine months during the year, has also earned an automatic berth on the 2002 World Track Cycling Championships next month in Copenhagen, Denmark.

"This is such a surprise, and it really feels good," said Reed of her victory. Reed pulled ahead of the pack at the start of the two-lap race. Uhl was the only rider who made a strong play to take over the lead. "The first round, I was just testing out my legs," said Reed. "They were very warm coming into this competition, so I thought, 'okay, maybe I do have the legs!'"


1 Jennie Reed (Greggs/TREK)
2 Sarah Uhl (Dansko/Wheelworks/IF)
3 Becky Quinn (East Coast Velo)
4 Rebecca Conzelman (Freddie Fu)
5 Suzie Tignor (Frisco Cycling Club)
6 Alane Ballweg (Memorial Hermann)
7 Jamie Pettinato (East Coast Velo)
8 Cindy Lakatosh (Tri State Velo)