Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Giro finale
Photo ©: Bettini

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports from Australia

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to Cyclingnews

Peel CC
Southern Veterans
Mt Baw Baw Classic
Illawarra Cycle Club
Adelaide CC
Southern Vets CC

Central Coast CC
Latrobe CC
Balmoral CC

Bundaberg Amateur CC
Central Coast CC

Launceston MBC

ACT BMX Champs

Illawarra CC

West Dapto, March 23, 2003

Morris by a mile

Tim Morris showed his class in the 41km A grade scratch race at West Dapto. Morris won the sprint from Steve Franklin and Luke Dale when the trio broke away in the final few kilometres of last Sunday's race.

Thirty seven riders turned out for the 41 kilometre scratch race. This was the first time for nearly six months that the riders had to negotiate the very difficult climb. The riders turned at Marshall Mount hall on the first lap but went down the steep side of Marshall Mount hill on the second lap to the Calderwood road turnaround.

In the A-grade event Morris was very active on the first lap attempting to break away on several occasions. The bunch knew the danger and never let him get more than a few hundred meters up the road. Mitchell Pearson, Brett Townsend, Lionel Covington, Adrian Cooper, Jason Johnson and Ben Lohse all worked well at the front to keep the race together.

At the start of the second lap Steve Franklin road off the front of the bunch. He was quickly joined by Neil Midgley and the two worked well together building a gap up of over half a kilometre. Franklin was too strong on the climb for Midgley but Midgley didn't give up and rode back onto Franklin's wheel.

The climb up Hooker hill saw the decisive move of the race with Franklin pulling away from Midgley and Morris and Luke Dale exploding from the bunch to join him. The trio put their heads down and pulled away from the bunch. Morris was too strong in the sprint winning from Franklin and Dale. The bunch came in twenty four seconds later led over the line by Pearson and Midgley.

The B-grade event was evenly matched with several riders attempting to get away from the bunch. First Joe Pereira then Jonathan Stagg. Each time the bunch let them get a hundred metres up the road before they tired and were caught again.

The pace slowed at the TAFE on both laps heading into a slight south-west wind. Riders became desperate rounding the far turn on the second lap so as to get a front position on the approach to the climb at Marshal Mount. Nearly everyone got over the climb together for the ten kilometres back to the finish line. Several attacks occurred in the last two kilometres but it was Canberra rider Greg Nelson who won the sprint from Gary Pearson of Eurobodalla and Illawarra's Joe Pereira.

Next week is a 27 kilometre scratch race followed by the club Championship presentations. Group 4 is to provide marshals.

Meanwhile at the Dunc Grey Velodrome, Illawarra had more representation at the State Time Trial Championships on Friday night. Rebecca Borgo won the gold medal in the under 19 women's 500 metre event. Grant Law won silver in the Masters 3 1000 metre event and Rob Calladine won bronze in the Masters 6 division. Kylie Spencer and Emma Ringer again rode well for their first time at this level.

Apologies also to Grant Law and Rob Calladine for overlooking their medals from the previous weekend where Grant won gold in the NSW Masters 3 Sprint Championship and Rob Calladine Bronze in the Masters 6 event.

Results, 41 km

A Grade
1 Tim Morris (Illawarra)           1.04.30
2 Steve Franklin (Illawarra)
3 Luke Dale (Illawarra)
4 Mitchell Pearson (Eurobodalla)      0.24
5 Neil Midgley (Illawarra)
6 Adrian Cooper (Illawarra)
7 Gil Rutty (Illawarra)
8 Ben Lohse (Illawarra)
9 Bret Townsend (Eurobodalla)
10 Richard Lorenc (Illawarra)
11 Brian Joyce (Illawarra)
12 Gavin Drury (Illawarra)
13 Rob Calladine (Illawarra)
14 Keith Bennett (Illawarra)
15 Jeffrey Gray (Illawarra)
16 Lionel Covington (Illawarra)       2.20
17 Jason Johnson (Illawarra)          2.20
DNF David Russel (Illawarra)
B Grade
1 Greg Nelson (ACT)                1.09.01
2 Gary Pearson (Eurobodalla)
3 Jose Periera (Illawarra)
4 Karen Dutton (Sutherland Shire)
5 Patrick Delahunty (Illawarra)
6 Fiona Campbell (Illawarra)
7 Terry Welsh (Illawarra)
8 Peter Evans (Illawarra)
9 Andrew Shannon (Illawarra)          0.09
10 Dave Morris (Illawarra)
11 Jonathan Stagg (Illawarra)         1.06
12 Mark Owen (Illawarra)
13 Gail Johnston (Eurobodalla)
14 Graeme Meek (Eurobodalla)
DNF Paul du Bois (Illawarra)
DNF Peter MacDonald (Illawarra)
DNF Teegan Makowski (Illawarra)
DNF Andrew Brooks (Illawarra)

Australian results from the past week

Canberra CC (Mar. 12)
Lilydale Circuit Race
Carnegie Caulfield CC
Mildura-Coomealla CC
Randwick Botany CC
Murwillumbah CC
Illawarra CC
Trek Series #11
Carnegie Caulfield CC
Canberra CC


Complete Australian results for 2003