Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Dauphiné Libéré
Photo ©: Sirotti

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports from Australia

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to Cyclingnews

Peel CC
Southern Veterans
Mt Baw Baw Classic
Illawarra Cycle Club
Adelaide CC
Southern Vets CC

Central Coast CC
Latrobe CC
Balmoral CC

Bundaberg Amateur CC
Central Coast CC

Launceston MBC

ACT BMX Champs

Illawarra CC

Dapto, NSW, March 16, 2003

Dale then daylight

Luke Dale won convincingly last Sunday's Caesar's Illawarra Cycle Club A-grade feature race at the west Dapto course. Combining youth and strength Dale had a comprehensive 10 second win in the in the A grade section of the 37.5km feature race.

The event consisted of two laps to Marshall Mount with sprints at the top of Hooker hill and outside Yallah TAFE on each lap. Bonus time deductions were awarded to 1st, 2nd, and 3rd place in each sprint.

Dale was too strong on the king of the mountain (KOM) sprints at the top of Hooker hill with Mitchell Pearson taking the honours at the TAFE sprint point. Pearson has just been selected in the State track team after finishing second in the U/17 pursuit title. The ever-present Tim Morris was only one second behind Pearson and took out third place. Ten riders in all gained time deductions during the race showing how even the field was.

In B grade, the time deductions were also spread out with seven of the ten riders gaining deductions. But the stand out rider was Jason Johnson who consistently featured in the top three at each of the sprint positions, eventually winning twelve seconds clear of second-placed Richard Lorenc.

Lorenc had concentrated on the flat sprint positions featuring highly at both places. Gavin Drury obtained eighteen out of a maximum possible twenty seconds deduction at the KOM sprint point which was enough to secure him third place overall.

Fiona Campbell didn't just stamp her authority at the sprint points, she rode away from the pack in the last half lap to finish forty two seconds in front of the next rider home which effectively nullified the time deductions that were gained at the sprint points during the race. Vince O'Dwyer came in second with Dave Morris third.

Next week's race is a 41km scratch race, it is expected to test a few riders as it is the first race for the year that will include the climb up the steep side of Marshall Mount hill. Group 3 are to provide the marshals.

Meanwhile at the NSW State Pursuit championships held at the Dunc Grey Velodrome Adam Rourke won silver and Grant Law bronze medals in the Masters 3 division final. Track racing is always spectacular to watch and qualifying was no exception.

With the two Illawarra representatives riding off against each other the pair rode completely different strategies for the 12 lap 3000 metre event. Law hit out hard quickly getting 25 metres up on Rourke only to fade a little midway. Rourke on the other hand rode to a strict schedule and overhauled Law gaining a 15 metre gap by midway and just held a fraction of a second lead as Law sprinted visibly to the finish in the last couple of laps. At the finish it was a mere 48 thousands of a second separating Rourke from Laws.

Other Caesar's ICC riders competing were Anna Habeck (Under 19 Women 2000m) and Emma Ringer (Women 3000m). Both were competing for the first time at this level and both made it through to their semi-finals gaining valuable experience and PB's. Masters 6 competitor Rob Calladine also made it through to the semi-finals.

A Grade, 37.5km
1 Luke Dale (Illawarra)                57.12
2 Mitchell Pearson (Eurobodalla)       57.22
3 Tim Morris (Illawarra)               57.23
4 Seth Collins (Wollongong MTB)        57.31
5 Adrian Cooper (Illawarra)            57.35
6 Jeffrey Gray (Illawarra)
7 Frank Tortorici (Illawarra)          57.36
8 Dylan Forbes (Illawarra)             57.37
9 Peter Jones (Illawarra)              57.40
10 Guy Mathiske (Illawarra)            57.41
11 Ben Lohse (Illawarra)
12 Brian Joyce (Illawarra)
13 Gil Rutty (Illawarra)               59.10
B Grade, 37.5km
1 Jason Johnson (Illawarra)          1.03.16
2 Richard Lorenc (Illawarra)         1.03.28
3 Gavin Drury (Illawarra)            1.03.35
4 Lionel Covington (Illawarra)       1.03.47
5 David Russel (Illawarra)
6 Peter Kelly (Illawarra)            1.03.50
7 Alex Verdi (Illawarra)             1.03.53
8 Paul du Bois (Illawarra)
9 Mal Moss (Illawarra)
10 Terry Wall (Illawarra)
C Grade, 37.5km
1 Fiona Campbell (Illawarra)         1.08.25
2 Vince O`Dwyer (Illawarra)          1.09.02
3 Dave Morris (Illawarra)            1.12.32
4 Tony Stephenson (Illawarra)

Australian results from the past week

Cascade Launceston 3-Day Tour
St Kilda CC
Canberra CC
Ipswich ACC
Randwick Botany CC
Canberra CC (Mar. 9)
Illawarra CC
Carnegie Caulfield (Mar. 9)
Carnegie Caulfield (Mar. 11)
Canberra CC (Mar. 12)


Complete Australian results for 2003