Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Mt Hood Classic
Photo ©: Swift

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports from Australia

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to Cyclingnews

Peel CC
Southern Veterans
Mt Baw Baw Classic
Illawarra Cycle Club
Adelaide CC
Southern Vets CC

Central Coast CC
Latrobe CC
Balmoral CC

Bundaberg Amateur CC
Central Coast CC

Launceston MBC

ACT BMX Champs

Carnegie Caulfield Criterium

Sandown Raceway, March 11, 2003

Finning first in final evening frenzy

By Mal Sawford

Finning & Hayat
Photo: © Mal Sawford
Click for larger image

Good weather once again for the third last of Carnegie Caulfield's twilight Criteriums for the season. Smallish fields in A and B Grade with only the super fit (and those hoping to be!) testing themselves on the tough circuit.

Racing on the 3km hot dog circuit, previous winners Sean Finning (VIS) and Robert Crowe (BikeNOW) were expected to feature heavily, with Junior World's Medallist Nic Sanderson (VIS) making his first appearance this season. The opening laps were fast, with the bunch watchful and not prepared to let a break get any distance.

Finning forced the first gap 20 minutes in, with the impressive Ash Hayat (The Freedom Machine) working strongly at the head of affairs for the third week in a row. The pairs lead hovered around the 10 second mark before Crowe powered across the gap with 20 minutes remaining. The three leaders only stayed together for a lap, before Finning decided to shake things up again as the bunch closed in and rode away alone.

The bunch got within meters of the lone leader, only for the fresh legs of Ray Turner (Repco/Diamond Back) and Anthony Smith to counter attack and bridge to Finning, but the bunch were still working hard and not far behind.

Turner punctured with less than 2 laps remaining, and the loss of his effort saw the bunch finally re-group during the final lap. In the slight uphill sprint to the line, Finning led out and still had enough speed and strength to hold off the bunch by a couple of lengths, with Crowe next best ahead of Smith and Warren Knevitt (O'Mara Cycles).

Winner of the Bendigo Wheelrace, deaf cyclist Reece Van Beek, was prominent early in the B Grade race, with the early high speed forcing a few withdrawals. V8 Supercar driver Cameron McConville (SBR) was another making his 'debut' at the venue - although at a somewhat slower speed than his Holden would normally be traveling!

The race win was fought out between Brett Morton (Bicycle Superstore) and Grant Jamieson, who rode away before the half way mark, and extended their lead every lap to over a minute by race end. Morton was clearly contributing most of the pace making, and was rewarded with a well deserved win in the two up sprint. A late attack from John Hollingworth to try to take third didn't come off, with the sprint for the minor placings going to David Taylor ahead of Robbie Doyle (O'Mara). Miyoko Karami took out the Women's division despite losing ground early and riding in the third group for most of the race, but her determined chase with Danny Weatherley, Paul Kelly and Tony McGarrigle saw her rejoin the bunch in the final lap.

Simon Vandestadt and Brendan Leihy were the front runners in C Grade, combining well but never able to extend their lead beyond 10 seconds to the strong bunch. With 10 minutes remaining, the lead was down to 5 seconds, but he pair hung on and still held a slender lead at the call of 3 to go, before the sprinters took control in the closing stages.

Jeremy Austin took out the downhill sprint from James Sheppardson, Wayne Howard and Bryan Stewart, with Jenny Macpherson (Fitzroy Cycles) riding strongly to take out the Women's division.

Former Club President Bob Beattie took his first win in many years with a good sprint in D Grade, with his training for the Mildura to Port Fairy team relay at he end of the month (Bob's team uses the event to raise funds for the local Yarrabah Special School) paying off. Youngsters Andrew Knowles and Ben Day took second and third with Mick Kilkenny claiming the final podium spot. Eliza Beasley is starting to get the wood on the girls, taking her second win in succession in the Women's division over Gemma Goyne.

Criterium racing continues Tuesday nights until the end of March, with entry via the Sandown Road gate (Melways Map 80 B10) open at 5.30pm for race starts for all grades at 6.30. Criteriums are also held on Sunday mornings at Glenvale Crescent (Melways Map 80 B2) with a 9am start time for C, D and E grades and 10am for A and B Grades.

All holders of current Cycling Australia licenses are welcome (don't forget to bring your license or receipt!) at all Carnegie Caulfield races, and non-members can have a go by taking out a three-race license for $33, deductible from your full membership if you decide to continue racing.


A Grade (1 hour+ 3 laps) 16 starters
1 Sean Finning (Castlemaine CC)
2 Robert Crowe (Carnegie Caulfield CC)
3 Anthony Smith (Blackburn CC)
4 Warren Knevitt (Carnegie Caulfield CC)
B Grade (1 hour + 3 laps) 17 starters
1 Brett Morton (Blackburn CC)
2 Grant Jamieson (Carnegie Caulfield CC)
3 David Taylor (Carnegie Caulfield CC)
4 Rob Doyle (Carnegie Caulfield CC)
1 Miyoko Karami (Japan)
C Grade (50 mins + 3 laps) 22 starters
1 Jeremy Austin (St Kilda CC)
2 James Shepardson (Carnegie Caulfield CC)
3 Wayne Howard (Carnegie Caulfield CC)
4 Bryan Stewart (Carnegie Caulfield CC)
1 Jenny Macpherson (Carnegie Caulfield CC)
D Grade (45 mins + 3 laps) 30 starters
1 Bob Beattie (Carnegie Caulfield CC)
2 Andrew Knowles (Carnegie Caulfield CC)
3 Ben Day (Carnegie Caulfield CC)
4 Michael Kilkenny (Chelsea & Peninsula CC)
1 Eliza Beasley (St Kilda CC)
E Grade (40 mins + 3 laps) 6 starters
1 Jason Rushen  (Carnegie Caulfield CC)
2 Paul Franklin (Chelsea & Peninsula CC)
3 Nathan Saber(Carnegie Caulfield CC)
4 Hannah Every (Carnegie Caulfield CC)

Australian results from the past week

Mildura-Coomealla CC
Carnegie Caulfield CC
St Kilda CC
Randwick Botany CC
Murwillumbah CC
Bennett's Creek Road Kermesse
Illawarra CC
Canberra CC series #10
Trek Bikes Summer Series #9
Carnegie Caulfield CC (Mar 4)


Complete Australian results for 2003