Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Mont Ventoux
Photo ©: Sirotti

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports from Australia

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to Cyclingnews

Peel CC
Southern Veterans
Mt Baw Baw Classic
Illawarra Cycle Club
Adelaide CC
Southern Vets CC

Central Coast CC
Latrobe CC
Balmoral CC

Bundaberg Amateur CC
Central Coast CC

Launceston MBC

ACT BMX Champs

Illawarra Cycling Club

March 2, 2003

Morris triumphant in the cold

On the coldest morning for months a big bunch, of 39 riders, was present for the 37 km Scratch race. Nineteen A graders lined up and the pace was high from the start with the assistance of a tail wind out to the railway bridge. A few riders such as Rob Calladine, Frank Tortorici and then Adrian Cooper pushed the pace forging a gap on the field. Once around the corner and heading towards Marshall Mount into the headwind the pace slowed and the bunch regrouped.

This set the tone for the rest of the race with a few riders attempting to use the small climbs to their advantage but due to consistent work from Brian Joyce, Dylan Forbes, Graham Rutter, Steve Franklin and Cooper, no one gained a clear gap.

With a bit over a kilometre to go and just as it looked like the race was set for a bunch sprint, Luke Dale attacked, however the response from the other sprinters such as Tim Morris and Neil Midgley was swift. The bunch regrouped again for the sprint that was taken out by Morris ahead of Mitch Pearson and Brett Townsend.

The B grade race was a very even affair with no single rider able to stamp their authority on the event. Joe Pereira as usual was quite active but he was closely marked by the wary bunch. At one stage or another each rider tried to stretch the bunch out, big efforts came from Alex Verdi, Paul DuBois, Scott Turnbull, Mark Owen, Karen Dutton and Keith Bennet. Tim Devlin also did some strong turns.

Because of the evenness of the riders the whole bunch was still together for the finish. In the large bunch finish Turnbull was successful from Pereira and DuBois.

10 riders set off in the C grade race with all riders doing there share of the workload over the first 18 kms. The intensity increased at the half way mark with all riders still together. With the bunch being driven along by Dave Morris, Peter McDonald and Teegan Makowski riders were starting to feel the pinch.

New comer to road racing U/19 Illawarra Academy of Sport rider Anna Habeck showed that she will be force in the future with some good turns at the front of the bunch. With 9kms to go only 6 riders were left with Morris and Habeck still powering along.

With 1km to go, McDonald launched an attack that left the bunch splintered. Even though Morris, Habeck and Makowski chased, no one was going to pull McDonald back. McDonald took out the race with Morris storming home in 2nd and Makowski holding off Habeck for a well-deserved 3rd place. Next week's race is a 37.5km handicap with group 1 providing the marshals.

Results, 37.5km

A Grade - 37.5km
1 Tim Morris (Illawarra)            57.01
2 Mitchell Pearson (Eurobodalla)
3 Bret Townsend (Eurobodalla)
4 Steve Franklin (Illawarra)
5 Dylan Forbes (Illawarra)
6 Neil Midgley (Illawarra)
7 Andrew Stewart (Illawarra)
8 Gil Rutty (Illawarra)
9 Frank Tortorici (Illawarra)
10 Tony Pulo (Illawarra)
11 Adrian Cooper (Illawarra)
12 Graham Rutter (Hinchinbrook)
13 Luke Dale (Illawarra)
14 Jeffrey Gray (Illawarra)
15 Jason Johnson (Illawarra)
16 Brian Joyce (Illawarra)
17 Lionel Covington (Illawarra)      1.49
18 Rob Calladine (Illawarra)
19 Ben Lohse (Illawarra)             2.02
B Grade - 37.5km
1 Scott Turnbull (Illawarra)      1.05.16
2 Jose Periera (Illawarra)
3 Ben du Bois (Illawarra)
4 Tim Devlin (Illawarra)
5 Alex Verdi (Illawarra)
6 Carlo Paiola (Marconi)
7 Mark Owen (Illawarra)              0.05
8 Aron Shannon (Illawarra)
9 Karen Dutton (Sutherland Shire)    0.11
10 Keith Bennett (Illawarra)
C Grade - 37.5km
1 Peter MacDonald (Illawarra)     1.08.01
2 Dave Morris (Illawarra)
3 Teegan Makowski (Illawarra)
4 Anna Habeck (Illawarra)            0.04
5 Alvin Coelho (Illawarra)
6 Terry Wall (Illawarra)             0.12
7 Vince O'Dwyer (Illawarra)          2.11
8 Emma Ringer (Illawarra)            5.43
9 Kylie Spence (Illawarra)
10 John Kejda (Illawarra) 

Australian results from the past week

Randwick Botany CC
St Kilda CC
Illawarra CC
Carnegie Caulfield CC (Sunday)
Mildura-Coomealla CC
Trek Bikes Summer Series Rd 8
Carnegie Caulfield Criterium (Tuesday)
Mildura-Coomealla CC (Tuesday)
Canberra CC Summer Criterium Series #16


Complete Australian results for 2003