Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Dauphiné Libéré
Photo ©: Sirotti

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports from Australia

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to Cyclingnews

Peel CC
Southern Veterans
Mt Baw Baw Classic
Illawarra Cycle Club
Adelaide CC
Southern Vets CC

Central Coast CC
Latrobe CC
Balmoral CC

Bundaberg Amateur CC
Central Coast CC

Launceston MBC

ACT BMX Champs

Randwick Botany CC

Heffron Park, Maroubra, March 24, 2003

New members steal D-grade placings

By Tony Horneman

9 year-old Elliot Doughty
Photo: © Tony Horneman
Click for larger image

The King of Heffron Park, Team Caravello's Anthony Spurgeon, suffered two punctures during the Randwick Botany Cycling Club's weekly criterium races at Heffron Park Maroubra on Saturday 22 March 2003.

Spurgeon was forced to retire to leave the remaining A-Graders to complete the 36km race. With 6km to go, Randwick Botany's Shaun Higgerson attacked and established a lengthy lead on the bunch. Simon Rice (Hobart Wheelers), Robert Cater and John Kenny (Eastern Suburbs) worked together to reduce the margin without success. As Higgerson rolled across the line to take the win, the chase group was 400m behind. Rice won the sprint for second place followed by Robert Cater, Chris Jenkins, John Kenny, Dave Wilkinson (Manly Warringah) and Dave Jackson. The winning time was 52min 32sec at an average speed of 41.5kph.

In a fairly evenly contested 32km B-Grade race, Patrick Norton (Bicisport) broke away with 2km to go and sailed away to take a solo win. Dave Mackey (Randwick Botany) started the bunch sprint with 400m to go, but was rolled by the other sprinters. Second place went to Chris Young (Eastern Suburbs) followed by Will Grey, John Buckton and Dave Mackey.

Photo: © Tony Horneman
Click for larger image

Randwick Botany's Janelle Lindsay was the star of the C-Grade race over 28km. Lindsay, who was recently selected to team-up with Lindy Hou, a visually impaired rider, as part of the Australian Paralympic tandem cycle team. The girls have qualified and will represent Australia at the European track championships to be held in Prague in September 2003. The duo managed a Level 1 qualifying time for the 200m fly. (Level 1 being not more than world record plus 5%.)

The pair have been training at Dunc Gray Velodrome. After Praque, their sights will be firmly fixed on the Paralympic Games in Athens in September 2004. During today's C-Grade race, Lindsay drove the bunch on several occasions. Fellow club member Greg Smart worked with Lindsay to maintain the pace. Mark Goodwin rode a touch race, but finished out of the placings. In the mad dash to the line, Lindsay was triumphant in a time of 46min 15sec at an average speed of 36.7kph. Second was Martin Snowden (Sutherland) with Shaun Ballesty third.

New Randwick Botany members filled the first three places in D-Grade after 20km. Peter McDonald, Joel Turner and Alex Templeton raced home to place 1, 2 and 3 respectively.

Ten junior riders competed in time trails and a 10km handicap race. New member Nicholas Hall recorded the best time in the 2km Time Trial. Nine-year-old Elliot Doughty was thrilled to win the 10km Handicap, beating the bigger juniors by 200m.

Radio coverage

Coverage of local cycling results can be heard on Sydney's Eastside Radio 89.7FM "GAME ON" program, hosted by Brad Cooke, each Saturday morning from 10am to 12noon.

More information

Randwick Botany Cycling Club conducts racing at Heffron Park, Maroubra NSW each Saturday throughout the year. Juniors start at 1.00pm and Seniors 2.30pm. For more information please contact the club secretary Helen Vella on 02 9667 3307 or email or website


Images by Tony Horneman

  • Men-in-Black - Randwick Botany Elite riders Chris Jenkins, Robert Cater, Shaun Higgerson and NSW State Masters 4 Track Champion John Buckton
  • Nine-year-old Elliott Doughty rode the race of his life to beat the other nine junior riders by 200m in the 10km Junior Handicap event


(Randwick Botany Cycling Club riders unless otherwise noted.)
A Grade, 36km
1 Shaun Higgerson                   52.32
2 Simon Rice (Hobart Wheelers)       1.38
3 Robert Cater
4 Chris Jenkins
5 John Kenny (Eastern Suburbs)
6 Dave Wilkinson (Manly Warringah)
7 Dave Jackson
B Grade, 32km
1 Patrick Norton (Bicisport)
2 Chris Young (Eastern Suburbs)
3 Will Grey
4 John Buckton
5 Dave Mackey
C Grade, 28km
1 Janelle Lindsay                   46.15
2 Martin Snowden (Sutherland)
3 Shaun Ballesty
D Grade, 20km
1 Peter McDonald
2 Joel Turner
3 Alex Templeton
E Grade, 12km
1 Ross Fullerton
2 Kevin Blanchfield
A Grade 2km time trial
1 Nicholas Hall,                     3.23
2 Andrew Young                       0.08
3 Belinda Angwin                     0.10
B Grade 2km time trial
1 Matthew Guillan (Southern Cross)   3.24
2 Tamas Bykerk                       0.14
3 Tom Patton                         0.34
C Grade 2km time trial
1 Elliot Doughty                     4.03
2 Leah Guillan (Southern Cross)      0.27
3 Matthew Fortuna                    0.44
4 Patrick Jenner                     0.50
All in 10km handicap
1 Elliot Doughty
2 Matthew Guillan (Southern Cross)
3 Andrew Young
4 Tom Patton
5 Tamas Bykerk 

Australian results from the past week

Canberra CC (Mar. 12)
Lilydale Circuit Race
Carnegie Caulfield CC
Mildura-Coomealla CC
Randwick Botany CC
Murwillumbah CC
Illawarra CC
Trek Series #11
Carnegie Caulfield CC
Canberra CC


Complete Australian results for 2003