Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Bayern Rundfahrt
Photo ©: Schaaf

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports from Australia

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to Cyclingnews

Peel CC
Southern Veterans
Mt Baw Baw Classic
Illawarra Cycle Club
Adelaide CC
Southern Vets CC

Central Coast CC
Latrobe CC
Balmoral CC

Bundaberg Amateur CC
Central Coast CC

Launceston MBC

ACT BMX Champs

Illawarra CC

November 17, 2002

Riders enjoy the sun and speed of short course

A near record number of riders participated in last weekend's 27km scratch races. The forty-eight strong contingent were greeted with a nice sunny morning and only a slight north wester to contend with.

Even though Josh Wall and Luke Dale had ridden strongly in the track carnival the night before it didn't stop them from riding aggressively in the A grade race. Wall attacked on the first lap and using his time trialing abilities was able to stay away from the chasing bunch for a lap and a half.

Just after Wall was brought back into the bunch there was a decisive break, which saw Wall, Craig Williams, Mark Walters, Mark Scott and Adrian Cooper get away. Try as they may the remaining riders were unable to get back up to the leaders.

Scott surprised the others by attacking early on the lead in to the finish. He held off a fast finishing Williams and Wall. The winning time was 40:27.

B Grade saw the riders go like off like a shot right from the start. Steve Franklin after a bit of a lay off from the bike, was firing well pushing the pace of the race up and up. He was not alone with riders such as Dennis Fitzgerald, Peter Evans and, Adam Crowther pushing the pace. It was almost as high as A Grade pace at times.

A few small attacks were made along the way by Jason Johnson and Evans to try and stretch the field out and kill off the sprinters legs. Coming in to the finish Franklin had a reasonable lead, but was digging post holes as the bunch closed in fast. It was touch and go as to if he would be able to hold out Johnson who was thundering up behind him with Adam Hotchkis not too far behind. On the line, Johnson grabbed it from Franklin with mere millimeters to spare. Hotchkis finished 3rd.

In only his second ride with the Club, John Stagg stamped his authority on the C grade race. Very rarely off the front of the bunch he maintained a very quick pace that quite a few of the other riders had trouble with and were subsequently dropped.

In the closing stages of the race only Joe Chiaverini and Paul Kaye were still with Stagg.

Over the final kilometre Stagg surged again and broke clear of the others, winning in a time of 45:24, he looks like a definite candidate for B grade. Chiaverini was second and Kaye third.

Next week's race is a 27km feature race for A, B and C grade. The event is over three laps to Hooker hill and consists of a sprint up Hooker hill and at Huntley each lap. There are 5, 3, 2 and 1-second time deductions at each intermediate sprint and double time deductions on the final sprint. The winner will be the rider with the lowest time after their time deductions are taken away from their elapsed race time. There will be a total prize pool of $225 on the day. Group 9 are to provide the marshals.

Results, 27.5km Scratch

A Grade
1 Mark Scott (Illawarra)                     40.27
2 Craig Williams (Illawarra)
3 Josh Wall (Illawarra)
4 Mark Walters (Macarthur)
5 Adrian Cooper (Illawarra)
6 Lionel Covington (Illawarra)
7 Richie Lorenc (Illawarra)                   0.42
8 Adam Rourke (Illawarra)
9 Garry Doughty (Illawarra)
10 David Greening (Illawarra)
11 Rob Calladine (Illawarra)
12 Frank Tortorici (Illawarra)
13 Ben Lohse (Illawarra)                      5.00
B Grade
1 Jason Johnson (Illawarra)                  42.21
2 Steve Franklin (Illawarra)
3 Adam Hotchkis (Illawarra)
3 Austin Pitman (Illawarra)
4 Peter Evans (Illawarra)
6 Kevin Brown (Sth Highlands)
7 Jose Periera (Illawarra)
8 Brian Joyce (Illawarra)
9 Adam Crowther (Illawarra)
10 Phil Jones (Illawarra)
11 Keith Bennet (Non-Member)
12 Gavin Drury (Illawarra)
13 Mick Kejda (Illawarra)
14 Patrick Delahunty (Illawarra)
15 Dennis Fitzgerald (Illawarra)
16 Dean Kelly (Illawarra)                     0.29
17 Carlo Paiola (Marconi)                     0.49
18 Bethany McCarthy (Illawarra)               1.07
19 Peter Kelly (Illawarra)                    2.05
C Grade
1 Jonathan Stag (Illawarra)                  45.24
2 Joe Chiaverini (Illawarra)                  0.30
3 Paul Kaye (Illawarra)
4 Peter Vesel (Illawarra)                     1.26
5 Paul du Bois (Illawarra)                    2.26
6 Alvin Coehlo (Illawarra)                    3.13
7 Andrew Brooks (Illawarra)                   5.33



Australian results from the past week

Canberra CC - Summer Criterium Series #3
Illawarra CC
Carnegie Caulfield CC - Tuesday
Carnegie Caulfield CC - Sunday
Footscray CC
Randwick-Botany CC
St. Kilda CC
Murwillumbah Cycle Club Annual Presentation Night
Eastern Suburbs Criterium


Complete Australian results for 2002