Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Dauphiné Libéré
Photo ©: Sirotti

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports from Australia

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to cyclingnews

Peel CC
Southern Veterans
Mt Baw Baw Classic
Illawarra Cycle Club
Adelaide CC
Southern Vets CC

Central Coast CC
Latrobe CC
Balmoral CC

Bundaberg Amateur CC
Central Coast CC

Launceston MBC

ACT BMX Champs

Carnegie Caulfield Criterium

Glenvale Crescent, Mulgrave, November 10, 2002

De Luca wins in another breakaway

By Mal Sawford

Numbers keep growing as the season gets into full swing, and despite a brief patch of ominous grey skies just before the A Grade race was due to start the weather was once again kind. This time last year we were washed out 3 weeks in a row!

Two riders on the comeback trail, Paul Groves and A Grade rider of yesteryear Kim Marshall proved too strong for the regular D Grade riders, opening a gap midway through the race and extending their lead every lap. Geoff Rushen gave the bunch a thrill finding out first hand why you're not supposed to pedal into corners, catching a pedal and lifting his rear wheel way off the ground. He was lucky to walk away after his rear wheel shattered on landing with only minor grazing to one elbow.

Groves took the win, with Matt Sherwin leading the bunch home ahead of Jack Dovaston and Fleur Dean, who out sprinted the healthy women's field.

Mechanical problems also affected the outcome of the C Grade race. With a bunch sprint looking inevitable Craig Rothenburger suffered a rear wheel blow out in the second last corner. Only great handling skills kept him upright, but he and two others were forced to go straight on, splitting the bunch coming into the finish.

Michael Bailey, in his first race back after spending the road season working as mechanic for the AIS women's team, took advantage of the confusion to take the win, just getting over Matt Duck on the line. Craig Hawke and Cam Rotter filled the minor places, while Kirsty Bortolin (the Freedom Machine) continued her good form with a narrow win in the women's division.

After some early attempts to break up the big field by Peter Zvedeniuk and John Hollingworth were neutralized, the B Grade bunch played into the hands of the eager sprinters. After a fairly sedate second half, the original 'Sit on Sprinter' Chris 'Snake' Salisbury (BikeNOW) duly delivered, inches ahead of David O'Leary, with Russell Newnham and Nathan Wise also in the money.

A Grade is yet to finish together, and an early attack kept the streak alive. With the Todd Wilksch half of the recent dominating duo absent, Leigh De Luca was the inform rider, with Robert Crowe (BikeNOW) another to watch for.

De Luca was in the early move, along with Ray Turner (Diamond Back/Park Tools), Warren Knevitt and Justin Davis (O'Mara Cyles), Simon Clarke (BikeNOW), Doug Garley and Matt Jones. The bunch was lulled into a false sense of security when Davis and a few others were unable to maintain the pace, and the break split.

By the time a half hearted chase was organized in the bunch, the 6 leaders were out of sight, and with few prepared to commit to the chase, the riders who had been dropped from the lead group also maintained a gap on the bunch. David Sturt (SBR), Chris Bradford (CBD Cycles) and Rob Crowe made strong efforts to bridge to what they thought was the lead group with 15 minutes to race, but as they got there the real leaders succeeded in latching onto to the back of the bunch, and fairly soon after swept up the few who thought they were in the lead!

After a few laps convincing the bunch they were a lap down all the lapped riders were withdrawn allowing the 6 leaders to fight out the finish. An attack from De Luca with 3 to go saw him stay clear for a great win, with the others content to save their strength in the battle for second. Turner lead for most of the straight, but a fast finish from Under 17 rider Clarke saw him get the nod, With Garley just holding off Knevitt for the last spot on the podium.

Carnegie Caulfield Criteriums continue every Tuesday night at the Springvale Necropolis circuit, with the Police Road gate (Melways Map 80 G6) opens at 6pm for race starts for all grades at 6.30, and at Glenvale Crescent on Sunday morinings. All holders of current Cycling Australia licenses are welcome (don't forget to bring your license or receipt!) and non-members can have a go by taking out a three-race license for $39, deductible from your full membership if you decide to continue racing. For first time competitors, Tokyo Olympian Mick Hollingworth conducts racing clinics in E Grade.


Images by Mal Sawford


A Grade (1 hour+ 3 laps) 30 starters

1. Leigh De Luca (Noble Park - Dandenong CC)
2. Simon Clarke (Carnegie Caulfield CC)
3. Ray Turner (Footscray CC)
4. Doug Garley (Carnegie Caulfield CC)

B Grade (1 hour + 3 laps) 40 starters

1. Chris Salisbury (Carnegie Caulfield CC)
2. David O'Leary (Carnegie Caulfield CC)
3. Russell Newnham (Carnegie Caulfield CC)
4. Nathan Wise (Carnegie Caulfield CC) 

Unplaced Women: Lizzie Williams (Carnegie Caulfield CC)

C Grade (50 mins + 3 laps) 31 starters

1. Michael Bailey (Carnegie Caulfield CC)
2. Matt Duck (Carnegie Caulfield CC)
3. Craig Hawke (Carnegie Caulfield CC)
4. Cam Rotter (Carnegie Caulfield CC)

Unplaced Women: Kirsty Bortolin (Blackburn CC)

D Grade (45 mins + 3 laps) 24 starters

1. Kim Marshall (Carnegie Caulfield CC)
2. Paul Groves (Carnegie Caulfield CC)
3. Matt Sherwin (Carnegie Caulfield CC)
4. Jack Dovaston (Noble Park - Dandenong CC)

Unplaced Women: Fleur Dean (Carnegie Caulfield CC)

E Grade (35 mins + 3 laps)

1. Jason Rushen (Blackburn CC)
2. Tom Gallagher (Carnegie Caulfield CC)
3. Kylie Lloyd (Carnegie Caulfield CC)

Australian results from the past week

Illawarra CC
Murwillumbah CC
Randwick Botany CC
Carnegie Caulfield CC
Canberra CC Crit Series #1


Complete Australian results for 2002