Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Mont Ventoux
Photo ©: Sirotti

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports from Australia

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to cyclingnews

Peel CC
Southern Veterans
Mt Baw Baw Classic
Illawarra Cycle Club
Adelaide CC
Southern Vets CC

Central Coast CC
Latrobe CC
Balmoral CC

Bundaberg Amateur CC
Central Coast CC

Launceston MBC

ACT BMX Champs

Murwillumbah Cycle Club Annual Presentation Night

November 9, 2002

The 2002 road racing season for the Murwillumbah Cycle Club effectively finished with the Club's Annual Presentation Night held on Saturday 9 November 2002.

Overall it has been a good season for the Club with road races being held every weekend with one exception for wet weather (can you believe it!) from the first Saturday in February 2002.

During this time the Club conducted 3 Open races - Tyalgum Cup, Masters Easter Carnival and the Banana Festival Criterium and 40 Invitational (club) races utilising both handicap and scratch formats. As well there were 2 longer distance races held as part of the Johns Cyclesport Cup and graded scratch races over the new stretch of the Pacific Highway from Chinderah to Yelgun and return as part of the official opening ceremonies.

The following awards were presented at the Annual Presentation Night and are self explanatory unless otherwise described:

Club Championships 17 August 2002 55 kilometre Bald Mountain course


1 Sandra Bury
2 Melanie King

A Grade

1 Ashley Bryant
2 Dave Costanzo
3 Robert Lyte

B Grade

1 Graeme Harvey and Jeff Collier (finished together for equal first place)
3 Steve Gibbs

C Grade

1 Stuart Ellick
2 John Anderson
3 Gerard Robards

D Grade

1 Frank Schirmer
2 Tom Allen
3 Phil Ruge

In addition to the above the Club conducts a Pointscore Competition across the road racing season to encourage regular participation in racing by riders. This competition begins in March and finishes at the end of October. The results for 2002 were:

Pointscore Competition

1 Tom Allen
2 Graeme Harvey
3 Dennis Burger

A number of other prizes are also awarded for various categories throughout the year. These awards are as follows:

Jims Cycle Centre Most Improved Rider

2002 - Tim Beck

Tim only began racing this year and despite being a junior and riding restricted gears showed great promise to win several races and in the process be upgraded from D to C Grade. Tim has a promising future ahead of him.

Hubcap Award

2002 - Graeme Harvey

This award goes to the rider who has spent the greatest part of the season stuck on someone else's wheel - hence the title Hubcap Award! Graeme strongly disputes this award and will tell anyone who will listen to him!.

Galah Award

2002 - Stuart McPherson

This award is for the silliest or most outrageous incident that happens to a rider whilst racing. Stuart justly deserved this award when he competed in one of the weekly races proudly wearing his new pair of club nicks. Following the race he complained that the new nicks were no good as he had been uncomfortable in them throughout the race. It was only when he took them off that he discovered that the price tag was still attached to the inside of the nicks! To add insult to injury he also realised later that evening when the discomfort did not improve that the tag had cut his derriere - a bummer indeed!!.

That about sums it up for the year. Many thanks to Cyclingnews for their support in putting our race details and results on the net. There have been plenty of positive comments about it including several from riders who have been able to keep up with local racing whilst overseas!

The first race for the Club next year will be the Tyalgum Cup on Australia Day, 26 January 2003.


Australian results from the past week

Illawarra CC
Murwillumbah CC
Randwick Botany CC
Carnegie Caulfield CC
Canberra CC Crit Series #1


Complete Australian results for 2002