Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Mt Hood Classic
Photo ©: Swift

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports from Australia

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to cyclingnews

Peel CC
Southern Veterans
Mt Baw Baw Classic
Illawarra Cycle Club
Adelaide CC
Southern Vets CC

Central Coast CC
Latrobe CC
Balmoral CC

Bundaberg Amateur CC
Central Coast CC

Launceston MBC

ACT BMX Champs

Illawarra CC

November 10, 2002

Hot and sticky

Forty one riders competed in three grades of the summer criterium series held on Sunday morning's balmy conditions. The new Albion Park criterium course proved to be both quick and punishing, catching out a few riders who found themselves hanging off the back of the bunch more than once.

C grade were first to race. New rider Anna Habeck quickly learned the importance of staying close to the wheel in front and demonstrated a cool head and strong legs to stay with the bunch. Attacks were being made by Paul Kaye and Andrew Telford at regular intervals. With 15 minutes raced and 3 laps to go Kay and Telford attacked again with Telford opening up a gap on the fast run down to the bottom corner giving him a clear run at the line. Kaye was able to hang on to second from Paul Dubois, Wayne Farrugia and Anna Habeck.

The B grade criterium seemed to be flat out from the start which stretched out the large field of 21 riders. Attacks were coming one after another from Stuart Binns, Brian Joyce, Jason Johnson and Adam Hotchkiss. The pace saw the bunch split several times before it all came back together at twenty minutes. Several minutes after chasing down the last attack, Leone Aissett from Bicisport jumped as the last lap bell rang, opening up a threatening gap. However Johnson was too quick in the last 100 metres taking the win from Joyce, Aisett and a fast finishing Mick Kejda.

By contrast the twelve A grade riders took it easy until the last five minutes of their 25 minute race when a 3-man breakaway containing Tim Morris, Danny Hennessy and World Masters Sprint Champion, Grant Law, rode away from the bunch. This trio worked well to stay away. It was clear that Morris has been training and had some speed left to take a decisive win from Hennessy and Law.

Next Saturday is the Caesar's Illawarra Cycle Club annual track carnival at the Unanderra Velodrome. Racing starts at 5.00 pm with Juniors and Senior racing starts at 6.30 pm. Club members are needed to assist running the event, all are welcome to spectate. Next Sunday's race is 27.5km scratch race with group 8 as marshals.

Results, Criterium

A Grade
1 Tim Morris (Illawarra)
2 Danny Hennessy (Canberra)
3 Grant Law (Illawarra)
4 Josh Wall (Illawarra)
5 Hardy Lohse (Illawarra)
6 Neil Midgley (Illawarra)
7 Adrian Cooper (Illawarra)
8 Jeff Gray (Illawarra)
9 David Russel (Illawarra)
10 Paul Hooper (Illawarra)
11 Richie Lorenc (Illawarra)
12 Lionel Covington (Illawarra)
B Grade
1 Jason Johnson (Illawarra)
2 Brian Joyce (Illawarra)
3 Leone Aissett (Bicisport)
4 Mick Kejda (Illawarra)
5 Kirk Brown (Illawarra)
C Grade
1 Andrew Telford (Illawarra)
2 Paul Kaye (Illawarra)
3 Paul du Bois (Illawarra)
4 Wayne Farrugia (Illawarra)
5 Anna Habeck (Illawarra)
6 Alvin Coehlo (Illawarra)
7 Alan McClelland (Illawarra)
DNF Carlo Paiola (Marconi) 

Australian results from the past week

Carnegie Caulfield Criterium
Southern Districts CC
Randwick-Botany CC Gay Games warm-up
Randwick-Botany CC
Murwillumbah CC
Footscray CC
Illawarra CC
Carnegie Caulfield CC
Mildura-Coomealla CC Spring Tour
Footscray CC


Complete Australian results for 2002