Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Dauphiné Libéré
Photo ©: Sirotti

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports from Australia

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to cyclingnews

Peel CC
Southern Veterans
Mt Baw Baw Classic
Illawarra Cycle Club
Adelaide CC
Southern Vets CC

Central Coast CC
Latrobe CC
Balmoral CC

Bundaberg Amateur CC
Central Coast CC

Launceston MBC

ACT BMX Champs

Mildura-Coomealla CC Spring Tour

November 3, 2002

"Bustling" Beruldsen Has Big Win

by Peter Winton

Ian Beruldsen took out the Club's "Spring Tour" and the right to have his name inscribed upon the L & V Westcott perpetual shield, which proudly displays a Campag chain-ring and crank (as all good trophies should!).

The Club welcomed riders from SA's Riverland club and from Horsham. The field of 22 was exceptional considering at least five regulars were unavailable. Four new local riders appeared on the scene, including two juniors, which is a healthy sign of the Club's growth. The weather could have a been a little kinder to us all however, after the severe dust storm and lightning display witnessed on Saturday afternoon perhaps we were lucky!

Grant Barnett of Horsham set the tone for the day by recording a slick time of 23:17 for the 16km time trial, easily good enough to take out stage one of the event. Ian Brade was next in a time of 24:25. The wind was a gusty west to sou' westerly which on this particular course means good time trial times are hard to achieve. Other notable times, so early in the season, were recorded by Harvey Dwyer, 25:10 and Barry Pollock with a 25:22.

In the 48km handicap road race Ian "Bustling" Beruldsen exhibited his personal bullocking, bustling riding attributes. Club regulars have come to appreciate these nuances, Ian taking the honors in stage two of the event. In a "bob of the head" finish for second place Harry Robbins proved the most resilient by edging out Casey Danvers and Brendan Liddle.

Based on the points system devised for the day, Ian amassed a score of 89 to snare the overall honor by two points from Grant Barnett.

For the road race all riders were "ranked" in accordance with their TT effort which resulted in a six rider group at the limit mark of 15 minutes. Nine riders off eight minutes and an out of sorts scratch bunch of eight with plenty of hard work to do.

The middle group were away with some speed and this aspect saw the end of new rider Richard Hale pretty early (lap two) with 24 minutes elapsing after 16kms and swamped the limit collection by lap three. At lap four there was no sign of the chasers from scratch. Chopping block kept at it with good speeds and turns by Casey Danvers (Riverland), Arthur Anderson and Ian Beruldsen of Mildura along with Chris Dalla Valla of Riverland all working well.

At the 300m mark Ian Beruldsen moved up quickly from fifth spot to take up the sprint catching Lokan (in front), Dalla Valla (second) and Winton (perfectly placed in third) all on the windward side. Liddle, Casey Danvers and Harry Robbins all managing to get onto a wheel went on to fight out the minor placings.

Rob McNally took out the sprint in the scratch bunch over Grant Barnett to savour something for the day (fastest time, by a whisker).


Stage 1 - Time Trial 16km
1 G Barnett               23.17
2 I Brade                  1.08
3 R McNally                1.26
4 P Mills                  1.40
5 H Dwyer                  1.53
6 B Pollock                2.05
7 J Danvers                2.07
8 D Heard                  2.38
9 A Anderson               2.46
10 C Danvers               2.51
11 I Beruldsen             2.52
12 C Dalla Valle           2.55
13 B Liddle                3.03
14 P Winton                3.14
15 B Ferguson              3.30
16 R Hale                  3.40
17 H Robbins               4.09
18 J Ishman                5.30
19 D Basse-Anstee          6.13
20 B Cooper                6.23
21 R Doyle                 8.13
Stage 2 - Road Race 48km
1 I Beruldsen           1.12.39
2 H Robbins
3 C Danvers
4 B Liddle
5 P Winton                 0.02
6 A Anderson               0.03
7 C Dalla Valle            0.04
8 J Lokan                  0.13
9 J Ishman
10 B Cooper
11 D Basse-Anstee
12 R McNally
13 G Barnett
14 J Danvers
15 H Dwyer
16 M Shipsides
17 D Heard
18 B Pollock
19 B Ferguson
20 R Hale
DNF P Mills

Australian results from the past week

Illawarra CC
Murwillumbah CC
Randwick Botany CC
Carnegie Caulfield CC
Canberra CC Crit Series #1


Complete Australian results for 2002