Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Dauphiné Libéré
Photo ©: Sirotti

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports from Australia

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to cyclingnews

Peel CC
Southern Veterans
Mt Baw Baw Classic
Illawarra Cycle Club
Adelaide CC
Southern Vets CC

Central Coast CC
Latrobe CC
Balmoral CC

Bundaberg Amateur CC
Central Coast CC

Launceston MBC

ACT BMX Champs

Randwick-Botany CC

Heffron Park, Maroubra, November 2, 2002

Cyclingnews editor on the podium

By Tony Horneman

CN editor Jeff Jones
Click for larger image

Thanks to repair work carried out by Randwick Council, racing at Heffron Park Maroubra is a whole lot safer. The circuit had deteriorated over recent years with gaps in concrete paving and cracked asphalt. The council has replaced the rough asphalt and filled all the gaps. Runners and walkers are also happy with the repairs.

On Saturday 2 November, the Randwick Botany Cycling Club conducted a full program of senior and junior racing. In the 9 rider A grade 36km race, George Pappas from the Dulwich Hill club had a spectacular rear tyre blowout at the start of the straight and had to retire from the race. Randwick Botany’s Chris Jenkins and Robert Cater attacked several times early in the race before a group of four riders broke away at the mid-way point. Eastern Suburbs rider and Cyclingnews editor Jeff Jones worked hard with three Randwick Botany riders Patrick Jones, Robert Cater and Clive Hammerson. The foursome powered away to contest the final bunch sprint along the repaired final straight. Patrick Jones finished first in a time of 58"30', followed by Jeff Jones, Cater and Hammerson.

Randwick Botany’s Keegan Aitchison made some short breakaways in the 11 rider B grade 32km race. Simon Kenny (Sydney CC) tried hard too. Final placings were Paul Rigby (Sydney) 48min 38sec, Simon Kenny and Roger Shackleton (Waratah Veterans).

In his first win after returning from injury, Karl Bellamy (Sydney CC) took out the 30km C grade event in a time of 48min 4 sec. Bellamy finished just ahead of Randwick Botany’s John Revesz in the 14-rider race. Randwick Botany’s Janelle Lindsay backed-up after her win in the Gay Games Warmup (Affiliated Women) 12km sprint event earlier in the day to take an impressive third place in the C grade club race. Tony Caruana finished fourth.

The 15 rider D grade 20km race was won by Peter Davison in a time of 35min 15sec followed by Grant Bennett (Bankstown) and Alan Sumner (Dulwich Hill).

Nine junior riders competed in four events. U17 Robert Cater recorded another good time in the 1-lap 2km Time Trail. Cater’s time was 2.59sec. Other junior results can be found at the end of this report.

Coverage of local cycling results can be heard on Sydney’s Eastside Radio 89.7FM 'GAME ON' program, hosted by Brad Cooke, each Saturday morning from 10am to 11am.

Randwick Botany Cycling Club conducts racing at Heffron Park, Maroubra NSW each Saturday throughout the year. Juniors start at 1.00pm and Seniors 2.30pm. For more information please contact the club secretary Helen Vella on 02 9667 3307 or email or website


(Randwick Botany Cycling Club riders unless otherwise noted.)
A Grade, 36km
1 Patrick Jones                   58.30
2 Jeff Jones (Eastern Suburbs)
3 Robert Cater
4 Clive Hammerson
B Grade, 32km
1 Paul Rigby (Sydney)             48.38
2 Simon Kenny (Sydney) 
3 Roger Shackleton (Waratah Veterans)
C Grade, 28km
1 Karl Bellamy (Sydney)           48.04
2 John Revesz
3 Janelle Lindsay
4 Tony Caruana
D Grade, 20km
1 Peter Davison                   35.15 
2 Grant Bennett (Bankstown)
3 Alan Sumner (Dulwich Hill)
E Grade, 14km
1 Julia Guinan                    32.10
2 Norman Jew
1 Kevin Malcolm
2 Kevin Blanchfield
A Grade, 2km Time Trial
1 Robert Cater                     2.59
2 Michael Murdoch                  3.19
2 Thomas Murdoch                   3.32
B Grade, 2km Time Trial
1 Andy Powell                      3.29
2 Tyrone Bicknell                  3.44
3 Andrea Bertini (Marconi)         3.45
First woman: Charlotte Cotes
C Grade, 2km Time Trial
1 Luke Davison (Southern Cross)    3.31
2 Jack Bennett                     4.13
3 Sam Buckland                     4.13
Juniors, 10km Handicap
1 Robert Cater
2 Keegan Aitchison
3 Tyrone Bicknell
4 Jack Bennett
5 Luke Davison
6 Andy Powell

Australian results from the past week

Illawarra CC
Murwillumbah CC
Randwick Botany CC
Carnegie Caulfield CC
Canberra CC Crit Series #1


Complete Australian results for 2002