Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Mt Hood Classic
Photo ©: Swift

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports from Australia

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to cyclingnews

Peel CC
Southern Veterans
Mt Baw Baw Classic
Illawarra Cycle Club
Adelaide CC
Southern Vets CC

Central Coast CC
Latrobe CC
Balmoral CC

Bundaberg Amateur CC
Central Coast CC

Launceston MBC

ACT BMX Champs

Randwick-Botany CC

Heffron Park, Maroubra, November 9, 2002

Liam Kelly wins at Heffron Park

By Tony Horneman

Click for larger image

Liam Kelly from the Eastern Suburbs Club was the star performer in the A-Grade criterium race held at Heffron Park, Maroubra on Saturday 9 November 2002. Making a solo breakaway early in the event, Kelly was pursued by Easts rider and editor Jeff Jones, and Randwick Botany's Robert Cater and Clive Hammerson. Once contact was made, the foursome rode in formation and built a handy lead over the other A-Grade riders. Dave Watkinson from the Manly Warringah club joined forces with Randwick Botany riders Chris Jenkins and Patrick Jones to chase down the lead group without success. In the final sprint Kelly was able to power home with ease, occasionally looking over his shoulder to check for surprise attacks. Second place went to Jeff Jones followed by Clive Hammerson, Robert Cater, Chris Jenkins, Patrick Jones and Dave Watkinson.

Click for larger image

Paul Carusi from the University of Queensland Cycling Club lined up with local B-Grade riders for a 32km race. Craig Dempsey (Eastern Suburbs) and new Randwick Botany member David Gardner launched an attack early in the race. Dave Jackson (Randwick Botany) showed true grit to bridge the gap and join the lead riders. Final placings were Craig Dempsey, David Gardner, Dave Jackson, Paul Carusi, Luke Harvey-Palmer (Bicisport) and Roger Shackleton (Waratah Veterans).

The C-Grade bunch stayed together for their 28km event. There were some drop-outs in the hot and dry conditions. In a closely fought sprint, Steve McManus (Manly Warringah) was first, with Randwick Botany's John Rivesz second and Mark Deaves (Bicisport) third. Karl Bellamy (Sydney CC) finished fourth.

New Randwick Botany member Ryk Budzynski won the 20km D-Grade event, with Greg Smart second and Alan Sumner (Dulwich Hill) third. Ron Sproule and Guy Bicknall took fourth and fifth place respectively.

Junior riders competed in the annual club championships earlier in the day. Results are at the end of this report.

Coverage of local cycling results can be heard on Sydney’s Eastside Radio 89.7FM 'GAME ON' program, hosted by Brad Cooke, each Saturday morning from 10am to 11am.

Randwick Botany Cycling Club conducts racing at Heffron Park, Maroubra NSW each Saturday throughout the year. Juniors start at 1.00pm and Seniors 2.30pm. For more information please contact the club secretary Helen Vella on 02 9667 3307 or email or website


Images by Tony Horneman


(Randwick Botany Cycling Club riders unless otherwise noted.)
A Grade, 36km
1 Liam Kelly
2 Jeff Jones (Eastern Suburbs)
3 Clive Hammerson
4 Robert Cater
5 Chris Jenkins
6 Patrick Jones
7 Dave Watkinson

B Grade, 32km

1 Craig Dempsey
2 David Gardner
3 Dave Jackson
4 Paul Carusi
5 Luke Harvey-Palmer (Bicisport) 
6 Roger Shackleton (Waratah Veterans)

C Grade, 28km

1 Steve McManus (Manly Warringah) 
2 John Rivesz 
3 Mark Deaves (Bicisport)
4 Karl Bellamy (Sydney CC)

D Grade, 20km

1 Ryk Budzynski
2 Greg Smart
3 Alan Sumner (Dulwich Hill)
4 Ron Sproule
5 Guy Bicknall

Australian results from the past week

Illawarra CC
Murwillumbah CC
Randwick Botany CC
Carnegie Caulfield CC
Canberra CC Crit Series #1


Complete Australian results for 2002