Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Mont Ventoux
Photo ©: Sirotti

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports from Australia

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to Cyclingnews

Peel CC
Southern Veterans
Mt Baw Baw Classic
Illawarra Cycle Club
Adelaide CC
Southern Vets CC

Central Coast CC
Latrobe CC
Balmoral CC

Bundaberg Amateur CC
Central Coast CC

Launceston MBC

ACT BMX Champs

Canberra Cycling Club Criterium Series #7

Kingston Foreshore, December 11, 2002

Newton grabs his second in a night of bunch sprints

By Martin Mullin

The spectacle that was last week's annihilation by the Canberran Rabobank pros in the A grade race was not evident in round 7 of the club crit series, but the more open style of race meant that the A grade result, as with the grades preceding it, would be decided with a bunch sprint.

The bunch sprint theme for the night was set early in women's open grade, where attacks were attempted by Fiona Hedgecoe, Bronwyn Wiseman and Erin Philp, but in each instance these were solo efforts and the pace of the bunch would soon reel them in. The sprint for home was up for grabs, with every rider a chance on the last corner, but Jessie Maclean proved too strong for an unlucky Erin Philp whose solo breakaway at around 10 minutes may have taken the edge off her sprint abilities. Cassie Carey sprinted strongly for third after spending most of the previous 15 minutes in a difficult position at or near the back of the bunch.

The pace of Men's B grade was too much for any of the attempted breakaways to stay away, although a brave effort from Jonathon Donnely at around 10 minutes looked like it might be enough to keep him away, as he established and briefly maintained a gap of around 80m. His effort went unrewarded though, as the relentless pace reeled him in and he blew up and through to the back of the bunch. A late charge from Paul Scherl and Dave Osmond caught the bunch by surprise with three laps to go and they soon established a handy break. On the bell their gap was down to around 50m and this was closing fast. By the final corner the pursuants were on their heels, but the pair managed to hold off the fast-finishing bunch, with Scherl first across the line, Osmond second and Tony Winter leading home the rest.

As usual, the pace was on from the start for a large field of 36 A graders, with attack after attack going away but nothing sticking. Matt Hayman was his lively self, featuring in most of the attacks, or when these didn't suit him he was off the front on his own, but again, nothing stuck. At three laps to go Hayman, Dennis Mungoven, Ross Blake and Mick Rogers led away a group with the credentials and potential to stay away, but again these were reeled in on the home straight. Rory Sutherland took this opportunity to counter, and his strong charge soon opened up a gap of up to 80m. By the bell lap this was down to 30, and by the final corner the bunch had swallowed him up. The endless attacks didn't seem to have dulled Mat Hayman's sprint, but Dave Newton launched from behind to win his second crit of the series - the only other rider apart from Hayman to have done so this summer -- by two lengths from Hayman, with James Meadley third John and Paul Forrest fourth and fifth respectively and Sutherland hanging on for sixth.


A Grade 
1 Dave Newton
2 Matt Hayman
3 James Meadley
4 John Forrest
5 Paul Forrest
6 Rory Sutherland
7 Paul Brosnan
8 Ian Downing
9 Dennis Mungoven
10 Lindsay Burke
B Grade 
1 Paul Scherl
2 Dave Osmond
3 Tony Winter
4 Fabio Calabria
5 Ben Gier
6 Ali Wright
7 Nick Boylan
8 Tim Mineham
9 Mark Brittle
10 Daniel Schlage
C Grade 
1 Steven Phelan
2 Lewis Gough
3 Mark Wright
4 Jim Davey
5 Mark Conners
6 Stephen Hazelton
7 David Whitelow
8 Richard Bourne
9 Ashley Sked
10 Aaron Hymon
Open Women 
1 Jessie Maclean
2 Erin Phelp
3 Cassie Carey
4 Sandra Vlacci
5 Bronwyn Wiseman
6 Fiona Hedgecoe
7 Jacqui Clynes
8 Leesa Carson
Novice Women    
1 Belinda Thompson
2 Tania Churchil
3 Tammy Ebert
4 Georgie Howell
5 Mirka Smith
6 Ingrid Patterson
7 Alley Roche
8 Victoria Smith
9 Claire Perry
10 Dale Inabinet
1 Mathew Meisel-Denis
2 Michael Phelan
3 Chloe Hosking
4 Adam Phelan
5 Alfred Cook
6 Jessica Ellis

Australian results from the past week

St Kilda CC Criterium
Ipswich ACC Criterium #3
Footscray CC
Carnegie Caulfield CC
Illawarra CC
Randwick Botany CC
Mildura-Coomealla CC
Canberra CC
Western Australian Criterium Championships
Carnegie Caulfield Criterium
Eastern Suburbs Criterium
Canberra CC Summer Criterium Series #6


Complete Australian results for 2002