Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Mt Hood Classic
Photo ©: Swift

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports from Australia

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to Cyclingnews

Peel CC
Southern Veterans
Mt Baw Baw Classic
Illawarra Cycle Club
Adelaide CC
Southern Vets CC

Central Coast CC
Latrobe CC
Balmoral CC

Bundaberg Amateur CC
Central Coast CC

Launceston MBC

ACT BMX Champs

Carnegie Caulfield Criterium

Glenvale Cres, Mulgrave, December 1, 2002

Bright sunshine brought the biggest fields this season for the host club, including a strong A Grade field all looking to test themselves against last years standout rider, Robert Tighello (ACR). Tighello has been forced to sit out the last 6 months serving a misconduct suspension, and has filled his time playing Aussie Rules Footy amongst other things! The rumors have been circulating just how fit and determined the former Australian Road champion would be; and the speculation did not last long.

After a frantic 10 minute opening burst, with a flurry of attacks from Tighello, last weekÕs winner Hilton Clarke (SBR) and Junior Road and Track World Championships star Jonny Clarke (VIS), which very nearly saw your correspondent experience breakfast for the second time, a select group had formed off the front including Tighello, the Clarke brothers, Barcelona Olympian Robert Crowe (BikeNOW) and track star Leigh Egan (Mainline).

Despite the best efforts of class riders including winner of the previous nights Melbourne Cup on Wheels Richard England (ACR), Dean Johnstone (Pro-Motion) and the gang from The Freedom Machine, the gap to the flying leaders steadily opened in the windy conditions. The bunch despite being strung out in single file was once again in danger of being lapped until the fearsome Ōno passengersÕ pace set by Tighello and Clarke saw their companions drop back to the bunch one by one.

At the finish of a very long hour for most riders, Tighello capped off his comeback ride with a win, while the bunch splintered in the acceleration for the minor placings, eventually lead home by TighelloÕs team mate Matt Goold from Ray Turner (Diamond Back/Park Tools) and David Sturt (SBR).

B Grade rode at a pace that made breakaways virtually impossible, despite the best efforts of the drivers like Mark Windram (Pro-Motion) and Dr Russell Newnham. A bunch sprint looked inevitable and Newnham came out of the big pack best, and held of second place winner at the Melbourne Cup on Wheels, Michael Ford (Gran Prix/VIS), Peter Ballas and Nick Gibson for the win.

David Downing (Le Tour) stole away early from the C Grade field and opened a commanding lead and looked very comfortable as the hour progressed. Eventually the wind wore him down, and he was swept up just before the call of 3 to go.

The sprinters were back in contention until a minor fall on the last lap split the bunch, and the win went one of the stars of the Carnegie Caulfield Roller Derby, Cameron Wise, in his first outing on the road this summer. Tim Nuttall held out the irrepressible Jack Dovaston for second, while new track star Jenny McPherson lead the huge womenÕs field home with outright 5th ahead of mountain bike star Dellys Franke (Merida).

By comparison to the other races, the D Grade race was a relatively tame affair with the pace far more reasonable for a pleasant Sunday morning! As is often the case, a bunch sprint decided the outcome with the win going to Darren Moore, ahead of Glen Carlson, Daniel Yeow and Dion Warburton. Another fantastic womenÕs field was lead in by the much improved Gemma Goyne from Under 15 star Tess Downing.

Carnegie Caulfield Criteriums continue at Glenvale Crescent on Sunday mornings, with racing also held every Tuesday night at the Springvale Necropolis circuit, with the Police Road gate (Melways Map 80 G6) opens at 6pm for race starts for all grades at 6.30. All holders of current Cycling Australia licenses are welcome (don't forget to bring your license or receipt!) and non-members can have a go by taking out a three-race license for $39, deductible from your full membership if you decide to continue racing. For first time competitors, Tokyo Olympian Mick Hollingworth conducts racing clinics in E Grade.


Images by Malcolm Sawford


A Grade (1 hour+ 3 laps) 55 starters
1 Robert Tighello (Carnegie Caulfield CC)
2 Hilton Clarke (Carnegie Caulfield CC)
3 Matthew Goold (Carnegie Caulfield CC)
4 Ray Turner (Footscray CC)
5 David Sturt (Carnegie Caulfield CC)
B Grade (1 hour + 3 laps) 40 starters, 2 women
1 Russell Newnham (Carnegie Caulfield CC)
2 Michael Ford (Carnegie Caulfield CC)
3 Peter Ballas (Carnegie Caulfield CC)
4 Nick Gibson (Carnegie Caulfield CC) 
C Grade (50 mins + 3 laps) 45 starters, 10 women
1 Cameron Wise (Carnegie Caulfield CC)
2 Tim Nuttall (Blackburn CC)
3 Justin Dovaston (Noble Park - Dandenong CC)
4 Ivan Collings (Carnegie Caulfield CC)
1 Jenny Macpherson (Carnegie Caulfield CC)
2 Tess Downing (Carnegie Caulfield CC)
D Grade (45 mins + 3 laps) 28 starters, 7 women
1 Darren Moore (Chelsea & Peninsula CC)
2 Glen Carlson (SKCC)
3 Daniel Yeow (Carnegie Caulfield CC)
4 Dion Warburton (Carnegie Caulfield CC)
1 Gemma Goyne (Carnegie Caulfield CC)
2 Tess Downing (Carnegie Caulfield CC)
E Grade (35 mins + 3 laps)
1 Scott Jensen (Carnegie Caulfield CC)
2 Fern Walklate (Carnegie Caulfield CC)
3 Jason Rushen (Carnegie Caulfield CC)

Australian results from the past week

Footscray CC - Nov 23
Mildura-Coomealla CC - Criterium
Mildura-Coomealla CC - TT
Randwick-Botany CC - Sat
Carnegie Caulfield - Nov 24
Illawarra CC
St Kilda CC
Lidcombe Auburn CC
Carnegie Caulfield - Nov 26
Eastern Suburbs Criterium
Mildura-Coomealla CC - Nov 26
Canberra CC Criterium #5
Footscray CC - Nov 28
Gold Coast CATS CC


Complete Australian results for 2002