Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Giro finale
Photo ©: Bettini

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports from Australia

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to Cyclingnews

Peel CC
Southern Veterans
Mt Baw Baw Classic
Illawarra Cycle Club
Adelaide CC
Southern Vets CC

Central Coast CC
Latrobe CC
Balmoral CC

Bundaberg Amateur CC
Central Coast CC

Launceston MBC

ACT BMX Champs

Illawarra Cycling Club

November 24, 2002

Davis rewarded with victory

There is no place to hide and very few places to have a rest in the 27km Feature race. With riders having to sprint to the top of Hooker hill each lap then turn and ride up the 'easy' side before recovering sufficiently for the sprint at Huntley at the end of each lap.

Bonus time deductions were awarded at each sprint point and taken off the rider's finishing time. If a rider was brazen enough to attack the bunch they could actually win without winning a bunch sprint at any intermediate sprint points.

Mark Davis threw the gauntlet down to the twelve strong A grade bunch on the second lap and rode strongly taking out the final three sprints as well as finishing nine seconds in front of Chris Brown and Frank Tortorici with the main bunch a further twelve seconds behind.

Davis had been assisted by Danny Hennessy blocking the chasers and his gamble paid off recording a well deserved win. The early protagonists had been Tim Morris and Brown with the two sharing the early time deductions between themselves.

Brown finished second overall with Morris equal on time with Tortorici but taking out third place on a countback.

If B Grade thought that they were in for a nice meander through the country side, they were sadly mistaken. Right from the gun, the pace was high and the bunch was stretched to the limit. The leg to the first sprint was pushed along by Steve Franklin and Peter Evans with some assistance from some of the others on occasions.

The first sprint up hooker hill saw the riders dig deep with a good sprint won by Stuart Binns from Franklin and Adam Crowther. The sprint saw the bunch thinned out as they reached the turn just up the road and the "elasticband effect" caused a few riders to fall off the back after not going with the sprinters, even just to hang on the back of the bunch.

Adam Hotchkis had his big legs pumping showing he was the king of the sprint finish at Huntley by winning two of the three sprints on offer. Steve Franklin picked up two second placings and won the other sprint so he was only one second behind Hotchkis from the Huntley sprints.

At the end of the first Lap several of the B Graders had started to feel the pinch as the pressure was kept high, even Franklin, moved towards the back of the pack and attempted to recover from the hard effort at the front of the bunch.

By the turn for home at Hooker Hill, the bunch was almost half the original size, and today, that was a lot of riders. Funny enough, after the last sprint up Hooker Hill, the pace had dropped significantly for some of the riders to recover and get their breath back.

As the approached the finish line, Gavin Drury moved to the front of the group, with Franklin on his wheel and the wise Evans on his. As the bunch got jumpy the three drew away from the main group and headed for the line flat out. Several others attempted to bridge the gap to the threesome but they were to strong and too close to the line.

When the tallying was completed Franklin was victorious from Hotchkis and Dylan Forbes.

Lou Jonceski took the honours at the Hooker hill sprint point but he was out gunned by Peter Vesel's flat line speed that won him all three sprints at Huntley.

Vesel eventually won by six seconds from Jonceski with Andy Shannon a further nine seconds behind.

Next week's race is the Elite Bicycle Repair handicap with prizes and money totalling over $300 in value. Marshals are from group 10. Entries close with Lionel Covington next Thursday.

Results, 27km

A Grade
1 Mark Davis (Illawarra)            40.31
2 Chris Brown (Illawarra)            0.15
3 Tim Morris (Illawarra)             0.27
4 Frank Tortorici (Illawarra)
5 Danny Hennessy (Canberra)          0.33
6 Rob Calladine (Illawarra)          0.38
7 Adam Rourke (Illawarra)            0.40
8 Tony Pulo (Illawarra)
9 Richie Lorenc (Illawarra)          0.41
10 Lionel Covington (Illawarra)
11 Jason Johnson (Illawarra)
12 Jeff Gray (Illawarra)
B Grade 
1 Steve Franklin (Illawarra)        41.32
2 Adam Hotchkis (Illawarra)          0.07
3 Brian Joyce (Illawarra)            0.14
4 Dylan Forbes (Illawarra)           0.15
5 Stuart Binns (Illawarra)           0.17
6 Peter Evans (Illawarra)            0.19
7 Keith Bennet (Non-Member)          0.20
8 Gavin Drury (Illawarra)            0.21
9 Jose Periera (Illawarra)           0.21
10 Kirk Brown (Illawarra)            0.22
11 Peter Kelly (Illawarra)
12 Ben Lohse (Illawarra)
13 Andrew Telford (Illawarra)
14 Bethany McCarthy (Illawarra)
15 Dean Kelly (Nowra)
16 Scott Turnbull (Illawarra)
17 Adam Crowther (Illawarra)         1.47
18 Bobby Krstevski (Illawarra)       1.48
19 Phil Ciufo (Illawarra)
C Grade 
1 Peter Vesel (Illawarra)           47.56
2 Lou Jonceski (Illawarra)           0.06
3 Andrew Shannon (Illawarra)         0.15
4 Alvin Coehlo (Illawarra)           0.18
5 Andrew Brooks (Illawarra)          4.07
DNF Alan McClelland (Illawarra)

Australian results from the past week

Footscray CC
Footscray CC
Ipswich Amateur Cycling Club
St Kilda Criterium at Brighton
St Kilda Criterium at Port Melbourne
Illawarra CC
Carnegie Caulfield CC
Randwick Botany CC
Mildura-Coomealla CC
Canberra CC Series #2
Gold Coast CATS CC
Broadford-Seymour CC Twilight race
Broadford-Seymour CC
Carnegie Caulfield Criterium
Eastern Suburbs Criterium
Footscray CC Criterium
Canberra CC Criterium Series #4


Complete Australian results for 2002