Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Giro finale
Photo ©: Bettini

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports from Australia

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to Cyclingnews

Peel CC
Southern Veterans
Mt Baw Baw Classic
Illawarra Cycle Club
Adelaide CC
Southern Vets CC

Central Coast CC
Latrobe CC
Balmoral CC

Bundaberg Amateur CC
Central Coast CC

Launceston MBC

ACT BMX Champs

Randwick-Botany CC

Heffron Park, Maroubra, November 23, 2002

Jenkins powers home

By Tony Horneman

Puncture-city in A grade
Click for larger image

Mild temperatures, overcast skies and a light breeze created ideal cycle racing conditions at Heffron Park, Maroubra NSW on Saturday 23 November 2002.

Nine A grade riders set off for a 36km criterium race around the 2km circuit, setting a challenging average speed of just under 40kmh. Several riders were dropped, leaving a core group of five riders at the half waypoint, including Randwick Botany riders Chris Jenkins, Clive Hammerson and Matthew Lucas, with Eastern Suburbs and editor Jeff Jones and George Pappas from Dulwich Hill. Powering away for a comfortable win was Jenkins in a time of 54min 14sec, followed by Jones and Hammerson. Lucas was fourth and Pappas fifth.

Randwick Botany rider David Gardner and Sydney Cycling Club rider Simon Kenny made a 50m breakaway with 6km to go, in the 32km B grade race. The remaining 10 riders chased down the breakaway pair for a bunch sprint to the finish line. First home was Randwick Botany’s Michael Cowan in a time of 51min 13sec at an average speed of 38kph. Three Sydney Cycling Club riders followed Cowan home, they were Tim Rice, Phil McKnight and Paul Rigby.

Randwick Botany rider Crispin Arnall returned to competitive cycle racing after a break of several years to take fourth place in the 28km C grade event. It was good to see Michael Pitt back racing again too. Randwick Botany’s John Rivesz scored another win with a time of 47min 10sec and an average speed of 36kph. Regular rider Tony Caruana was second with Richard Edmonds third.

Yo Adrian! Rocky Fortuna (M) with two young-uns
Click for larger image

Randwick Botany riders Guy Bicknell and his son Tyrone Bicknell formed a father - son team in the 20km D grade race with Tyrone finishing in the placings. New member Suzanne Jackson rode strongly in her first race at Heffron Park. Rocky Fortuna made an appearance representing the St George Cycling Club. Randwick Botany’s Craig Klement won in a time of 32min 22sec followed by Jamie Guinan, Tyrone Bicknell and Ron Sproule.

Juniors Patrick Shelley, Belinda Angwin, Sam Buckland, Luke Davison, Andrew Young and Thomas Murdoch competed in a time trail and handicap races. Placings in the Handicap event were Thomas Murdoch, Luke Davison and Belinda Angwin.

Coverage of local cycling results can be heard on Sydney’s Eastside Radio 89.7FM 'GAME ON' program, hosted by Brad Cooke, each Saturday morning from 10am to 11am.

Randwick Botany Cycling Club conducts racing at Heffron Park, Maroubra NSW each Saturday throughout the year. Juniors start at 1.00pm and Seniors 2.30pm. For more information please contact the club secretary Helen Vella on 02 9667 3307 or email or website


Images by Randwick-Botany CC

  • Robert Cater (Randwick Botany), Rocky Fortuna (St George CC) and Chris Jenkins (Randwick Botany) at the start line
  • Puncture city - A grade placegetters Chris Jenkins, Clive Hammerson and Jeff Jones fixing punctures after the race


(Randwick Botany Cycling Club riders unless otherwise noted.)
A grade, 36km
1 Chris Jenkins                  54.14 (39.5 kn/h)
2 Clive Hammerson
3 Jeff Jones (Eastern Suburbs)
4 Matthew Lucas
5 George Pappas (Dulwich Hill CC)
B grade, 32km
1 Michael Cowan                  51.13 (38 km/h)
2 Tim Rice (Sydney CC)
3 Phil McKnight (Sydney CC)
4 Paul Rigby (Sydney CC)
C grade, 28km
1 John Rivesz                    47.10 (36 km/h)
2 Tony Caruana
3 Richard Edmonds
4 Crispin Arnall
D grade, 20km
1 Craig Klement                  32.22
2 Jamie Guinan
3 Richard Edmonds
4 Tyrone Bicknell
5 Ron Sproule
Juniors, 8km handicap
Thomas Murdoch
Luke Davison
Belinda Angwin

Australian results from the past week

Footscray CC
Footscray CC
Ipswich Amateur Cycling Club
St Kilda Criterium at Brighton
St Kilda Criterium at Port Melbourne
Illawarra CC
Carnegie Caulfield CC
Randwick Botany CC
Mildura-Coomealla CC
Canberra CC Series #2
Gold Coast CATS CC
Broadford-Seymour CC Twilight race
Broadford-Seymour CC
Carnegie Caulfield Criterium
Eastern Suburbs Criterium
Footscray CC Criterium
Canberra CC Criterium Series #4


Complete Australian results for 2002