Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Mont Ventoux
Photo ©: Sirotti

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports from Australia

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to Cyclingnews

Peel CC
Southern Veterans
Mt Baw Baw Classic
Illawarra Cycle Club
Adelaide CC
Southern Vets CC

Central Coast CC
Latrobe CC
Balmoral CC

Bundaberg Amateur CC
Central Coast CC

Launceston MBC

ACT BMX Champs

Canberra Cycling Club Summer Criterium Series #5

Kingston Foreshore, November 27, 2002

Hayman shows his class as riders continue to share the spoils

By Martin Mullin

Another Wednesday night when the virtually guaranteed rains failed to eventuate and another winner for Men's A grade, making five different winners from five weeks-a far cry from last year when Baden Burke won the first 11 in a row.

In the preceding grades, Open women contested a tight race, where the customary breakaway failed to eventuate and a large bunch headed into the last lap together. Jessie Maclean took the sprint from Terry Moore in her first race back, with Erin Philp taking third after winning the previous two weeks.

A six-strong breakaway made up of some of the regular place-getters looked like it might hold off the bunch in B grade, but when three riders went down on the first corner at 12 minutes, the break wisely slowed down as they came through on the next lap, allowing the bunch to close the gap. In the end it came to a bunch sprint. Some sideline commentators felt this would be a good opportunity for Alison Wright to show up the blokes with the kick that took the bunch sprint for fifth at the World Championships and more recently won her the Tour de Femme, but she was caught in the pack as Nick Dyriw took the best line out of the final corner and sprinted strongly to win by half a wheel from Shane Spicer, with two bike lengths back to Paul Burbidge-Smith and Alison fourth.

A Grade lined up in semi-darkness, but the race was soon lit up as Rabobank pros Matt Hayman and Rory Sutherland broke away with Denis Mungoven midway through the race. Pete Rogers and his Rideshop teammates closed the gap and the trio had been reeled in after three laps away. With four laps to go Pete Rogers attacked and quickly established a 150m gap on the bunch, with Matt Hayman and Kevin Poulton chasing frantically for two laps.

With two to go Hayman kicked away from Poulton and reeled in Rogers. On the bell lap the duo led by 75m but by now the bunch was working hard and this was closing fast. By the final corner Rogers led Hayman, but the bunch was now on their wheels. In the sprint, the exhausted pair just managed to hold the sprinters at bay, as Hayman won ahead of Rogers, with James Meadley the best of the bunch, thanks largely to a huge turn from Sutherland that had brought him and the rest of the bunch to the line.


A Grade 
1 Matt Hayman
2 Pete Rogers
3 James Meadley
4 Dave Newton
5 Danny Okeefe
6 Rory Sutherland
7 Paul Brosnan
8 George Bunt
9 Paul Forrest
10 Ian Downing
B Grade 
1 Nick Dyriw
2 Shane Spicer
3 Paul Burbage-Smith
4 Alison Wright
5 Jim Thompson
6 Jeff Dau
7 Oenone Wood
8 Adam Dossiter
9 Paul Scherl
10 Jon Chowns
C Grade 
1 Tony Winter
2 Ric Fitch
3 Richard Bourne
4 Justin Jarvis
5 Joel Donney
6 Chris Short
7 Lewis Gough
8 Peter Frew
9 Gerard Frawley
10 John May
Open Women 
1 Jessie Maclean
2 Terry Moore
3 Erin Philp
4 Liz Hickey
5 Janine Risdale
6 Bronwyn Wiseman
7 Jacqui Clynes
8 Linda Cappello
9 Lucy Stewart
10 Leesa Carson
Novice Women 
1 Susanna Van der Stratten
2 Belinda Thompson
3 Laura Meisel-Denis
4 Ingrid Peterson
5 Trisha Garrett
6 Ally Roche
7 Sian McDonald
8 Claire Perry
9 Dale Inabet
10 Victoria Smith
1 Mathew Meisel-Denis
2 Michael Phelan
3 Alfred Cook
4 Adam Phelan
5 Olivia Dawson

Australian results from the past week

Footscray CC
Footscray CC
Ipswich Amateur Cycling Club
St Kilda Criterium at Brighton
St Kilda Criterium at Port Melbourne
Illawarra CC
Carnegie Caulfield CC
Randwick Botany CC
Mildura-Coomealla CC
Canberra CC Series #2
Gold Coast CATS CC
Broadford-Seymour CC Twilight race
Broadford-Seymour CC
Carnegie Caulfield Criterium
Eastern Suburbs Criterium
Footscray CC Criterium
Canberra CC Criterium Series #4


Complete Australian results for 2002