Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Dauphiné Libéré
Photo ©: Sirotti

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports from Australia

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to Cyclingnews

Peel CC
Southern Veterans
Mt Baw Baw Classic
Illawarra Cycle Club
Adelaide CC
Southern Vets CC

Central Coast CC
Latrobe CC
Balmoral CC

Bundaberg Amateur CC
Central Coast CC

Launceston MBC

ACT BMX Champs

Canberra CC Summer Criterium Series #6

Kingston Foreshore, December 4, 2002

'Holidaying' Rabobank pros lap field

By Martin Mullin

Round 6 of the Summer crit series was a night that most who stayed on to watch A Grade will not forget. The gale force Westerly wind that had played havoc with each preceding grade would either prove a leveler for an increasingly elite A grade, or, as it turned out, expose just how far ahead the 'holidaying' pros really are.

Early on, Women's A was all but decided after 5 minutes, with Oenone Wood and Kim Palmer establishing an ever-increasing gap over a strong chase group. By the bell lap, the pair were 500 metres clear of the pursuers, who in turn held a similar gap over the nearest scattering of chasers. A somewhat anti-climactic finish saw Kim Palmer concede the sprint well short of the line to Oenone Wood. Jesse Maclean was the strongest finisher of the chase group, taking the sprint over Terry Moore for third.

B grade was also be dominated by an early breakaway, with Simon Claringbold, Mark Harris and Jeff Dau breaking off the front and working together well. Dave Osmond and Paul Scherl were the only survivors of a chase group that tried to catch the trio, with several other unsuccessful attacks off the front proving unable to bridge. The sprint for the line went to Mark Harris, with Simon Claringbold second, and joining him in promotion to A grade next week. Jeff Dau was third, with the chasing duo of Dave Osmond and Paul Scherl staying away to finish in that order.

An early attack in A grade containing Mathew Hayman, Rory Sutherland, James Meadley, Paul Brosnan and Paul Forrest managed to establish a sizeable gap in quick time. The chasers who went after them did so in ones and twos, and for some, the remained of the race was spent this way, battling the wind solo or in a pair with the leaders pulling further and further away.

At 15 minutes down, teammates Hayman, Sutherland and Meadley had dropped Brosnan and Forrest who in turn picked up Dennis Mungoven and Marc Williams. This foursome was chasing hard, but the class of the lead trio was evident as they continued to gain ground into the vicious wind. The chasers eventually finished Brosnan/Forrest/Mungoven/Williams, several hundred metres back from the leaders.

In the history of crit racing at the Kingston course the A grade field has never been lapped. Until Wednesday night. As the main bunch came through for the bell lap, the Rabobank clad trio burst out of the final corner ahead of them (much to the relief of the officials who were not prepared for the eventuality of a sprint finish occurring at the same time as the bunch passed through).

Hayman took it from a grinning Sutherland, with Meadley happy to sit out the prospect of sprinting his pro teammates, rolling over for third. The result gives a fair indication of the class of Canberra Club crits: Australian senior, Australian under 23 and Australian under 19. It's no disgrace to finish off the podium here.


A Grade 
1 Matt Hayman
2 Rory Sutherland
3 James Meadley
4 Paul Brosnan
5 Paul Forrest
6 Denis Mungoven
7 Mark Williams
8 George Bunt
9 Paul Crake
10 John Forrest
B Grade 
1 Mark Harris
2 Simon Claringbold
3 Geoff Dau
4 Dave Osmond
5 Paul Scherl
6 Shane Spicer
7 Rochelle Gilmore
8 Nick Boylan
9 Joe Neeman
10 Troy Reddick
C Grade 
1 Peter Frew
2 Richard Bourne
3 Lewis Gough
4 Ashley Sked
5 Mark Wright
6 Andrew Mohr
7 David Whitelow
8 Martin Johns
9 John May
10 Vince Dunn
Open Women 
1 Oenone Wood
2 Kim Palmer
3 Jessie Maclean
4 Terry Moore
5 Cassie Carey
6 Jacqui Clynes
7 Fiona Hedgecoe
8 Jessie Armstrong
9 Trisha Garrett
Novice Women 
1 Laura Meisel-Denis
2 Ingrid Peterson
3 Narelle Sible
4 Ally Roche
5 Sian McDonald
6 Peta Jacobs
7 Claire Perry
8 Victoria Smith
9 Janelle Carter
10 Kerry Henderson
1 Mathew Meisel-Denis
2 Alfred Cook
3 Olivia Dawson
4 Michael Phelan
5 Adam Phelan

Australian results from the past week

Footscray CC - Nov 23
Mildura-Coomealla CC - Criterium
Mildura-Coomealla CC - TT
Randwick-Botany CC - Sat
Carnegie Caulfield - Nov 24
Illawarra CC
St Kilda CC
Lidcombe Auburn CC
Carnegie Caulfield - Nov 26
Eastern Suburbs Criterium
Mildura-Coomealla CC - Nov 26
Canberra CC Criterium #5
Footscray CC - Nov 28
Gold Coast CATS CC


Complete Australian results for 2002