Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Bayern Rundfahrt
Photo ©: Schaaf

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports from Australia

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to Cyclingnews

Peel CC
Southern Veterans
Mt Baw Baw Classic
Illawarra Cycle Club
Adelaide CC
Southern Vets CC

Central Coast CC
Latrobe CC
Balmoral CC

Bundaberg Amateur CC
Central Coast CC

Launceston MBC

ACT BMX Champs

Illawarra CC Handicap

December 1, 2002

LAW Enforcer

In a close finish a flying Grant Law, just edged out Tim Morris to win the EBR Handicap at Caesars Illawarra Cycle Club's weekend race held last Sunday on its West Dapto course. Over 27.5 kilometres, the event saw high average speeds and plenty of leg ripping acceleration at the 5 turn-arounds. Race sponsor Danny Hennessy said he was pleased to see the conditions favour the scratch riders for a change.

In cool light southerly winds scratch riders had ten minutes handicap to overcome. Geoff Gooley started with 2 minutes on Al McClelland and both rode strongly but with the 4 minute bunch of seven riders not far behind they weren't going to stay away for too long.

The seven minute bunch of Peter Evans, Adam Hotchkis, Brian Joyce and Jason Johnson was working well and soon caught the five minute trio of Phil Jones, Joe Pereira and Keith Bennett. At the same time that the eight and seven minute bunches combined the scratch and block groups hooked up and were reeling them all in.

By the end of lap 2, apart from those riders that had been spat out the back, there were two major bunches in the race, separated by only a minute-and-a-half. Scratch and block groups were looking good for a win.

At the finish line six of the original eight scratch and block riders got a bunch time. The sprint finish was close with Law only just taking the win from Morris and Steve Franklin. Morris also took fastest time from second fastest, under 17 year Josh Wall. Major place prizes were kindly donated by EBR Bicycle Repairs proprietor Danny Hennessy.

Next week is a criterium at Albion Park starting at 8.00am. Volunteers are required to marshal.

Results, 27.5km

1 Grant Law (Illawarra)           48.56
2 Tim Morris (Illawarra)
3 Steve Franklin (Illawarra)
4 Josh Wall (Illawarra)
5 Danny Hennessy (Canberra)
6 Adrian Cooper (Illawarra)
7 Richie Lorenc (Illawarra)        0.41
8 Dylan Forbes (Illawarra)
9 Keith Bennet (Illawarra)
10 Jose Periera (Illawarra)
11 Phil Jones (Illawarra)          1.19
12 Dean Kelly (Nowra)
13 Andrew Shannon (Illawarra)      1.24
14 Tony Pulo (Illawarra)           1.28
15 Lionel Covington (Illawarra)
16 Peter Evans (Illawarra)
17 Paul du Bois (Illawarra)
18 Peter MacDonald (Illawarra)     2.00
19 Mark Davis (Illawarra)          3.18
20 Lou Jonceski (Illawarra)
21 Emma Ringer (Illawarra)
22 Rob Calladine (Illawarra)
23 Geoff Gooley (Illawarra)        3.48
24 Alan McClelland (Illawarra)     4.01
DNF Brian Joyce (Illawarra)
DNF Jason Johnson (Illawarra)
DNF Luke Dale (Eurobodalla)
DNF Neil Midgley (Illawarra)
DNF Adam Hotchkis (Illawarra)
DNF Vince O'Dwyer (Illawarra)
Fastest Time
1 Tim Morris (Illawarra)          38.56

Australian results from the past week

Footscray CC - Nov 23
Mildura-Coomealla CC - Criterium
Mildura-Coomealla CC - TT
Randwick-Botany CC - Sat
Carnegie Caulfield - Nov 24
Illawarra CC
St Kilda CC
Lidcombe Auburn CC
Carnegie Caulfield - Nov 26
Eastern Suburbs Criterium
Mildura-Coomealla CC - Nov 26
Canberra CC Criterium #5
Footscray CC - Nov 28
Gold Coast CATS CC


Complete Australian results for 2002