Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Giro finale
Photo ©: Bettini

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports from Australia

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to Cyclingnews

Peel CC
Southern Veterans
Mt Baw Baw Classic
Illawarra Cycle Club
Adelaide CC
Southern Vets CC

Central Coast CC
Latrobe CC
Balmoral CC

Bundaberg Amateur CC
Central Coast CC

Launceston MBC

ACT BMX Champs

Caesar's Illawarra CC - Criterium Championship

Albion Park, November 8, 2002

Morris Major

Caesar’s Illawarra Cycle held the 2002 Criterium Club Championships on Sunday with 38 riders spread over four grades.

C Grade set off for the 15 minute + 3 lap dash around the Albion Park course with Paul du Bois doing a great deal of the work on the front of the group of 8 riders. Anna Habeck rode well and also took some time at the front with Scott Turnbull to ease the burden on du Bois. All the while Joe Chiaverini waited his time to catch the bunch unaware. As they headed for the sprint on the last lap, the effort put in by du Bois, Turnbull and, Habeck had taken the sting out of their sprint leaving Chiaverini to come through and take first place from Turnbull and Habeck.

B Grade - 20 minutes + 3 laps, was on from the start with some strong moves made off the front by Mick Keda and Gavin Drury. Although these did not stay away, they did shake the bunch up and the tempo lifted for the rest of the event. With pace high, few riders could make any significant break from the front of the group and so the bunch roe in a group for the remaining laps.

With one lap to go, Kirk Brown and Jonathon Stagg moved off the front leaving a gap of about 10 metres back to Andrew Telford. Telford put the foot down to bridge the gap and move Kejda into a good sprinting position. As they moved down the back straight, Telford started to dig "postholes" and swung off the front to allow the chasers through.

The chasers caught the two breakaways well before the line leaving Kejda with a long sprint to the finish with Kirk Brown and Dennis Fitzgerald coming in behind him.

A Grade and Masters were next off the line. This was a collection of riders that were strong and fast. This would be a quick event. Mark Davis has been riding well recently and today was not different. Putting in strong efforts with Dylan Forbes and Jeff Grey, Davis was able to split the group apart. Very few attacks were made but the pace remained high. Into the last lap, five riders had a break on the remaining bunch. Forbes and Frank Tortorici put in a good sprint over the last 100 metres with Tortorici winning the upper hand and defeating Forbes with Davis rolling in third.

The Elite event saw several top class riders competing to become the 2002 Club Criterium Champion. Defending Champion Adam Rourke was back to defend his title from the likes of Brendan Cato, who has been competing overseas earlier this year, and upcoming and well credentialed rider, Luke Dale. Rourke made his first move only a few laps into the race putting a gap of 200metres on the chasing bunch with out much effort. Tim Morris and Adrian Cooper combined to chase Rourke down with some assistance from Cato and Dale.

Rourke was soon caught, but after a short rest he again attacked the bunch and put a small gap into the field. The field was awake this time and did not let the gap get to an unmanageable distance. Rourke was soon back in the fold. With two laps to go, Morris, Cato and Dale where out the front pushing the pace and each other to the limit. Morris led into the final corner and was never in danger of loosing his position to the fast finishing Dale and Cato.

Next week is an 18km time trial with marshals provided by Group 1.


(All rider from Illawarra CC)
A Grade
1 Tim Morris
2 Luke Dale
3 Brendan Cato
4 Peter Jones
5 Adam Rourke
6 Adrian Cooper
7 Tony Pulo
B Grade
1 Mick Kejda
2 Kirk Brown
3 Dennis Fitzgerald
4 Gavin Drury
5 Keith Bennet
6 Jonathan Stag
7 Adam Hotchkis
8 Patrick Delahunty
9 Jose Periera
10 Phil Jones
11 Tim Devlin
12 Bethany McCarthy
13 Peter Kelly
14 Andrew Telford
C Grade
1 Joe Chiaverini
2 Scott Turnbull
3 Anna Habeck
4 Andrew Shannon
5 Paul du Bois
6 Roger Phillips
7 Vince O'Dwyer
Masters A
1 Frank Tortorici
2 Dylan Forbes
3 Mark Davis
4 Paul Hooper
5 Lionel Covington
6 Peter Evans
7 Jeff Gray
8 Jason Johnson
9 Garry Doughty

Australian results from the past week

St Kilda CC Criterium
Ipswich ACC Criterium #3
Footscray CC
Carnegie Caulfield CC
Illawarra CC
Randwick Botany CC
Mildura-Coomealla CC
Canberra CC
Western Australian Criterium Championships
Carnegie Caulfield Criterium
Eastern Suburbs Criterium
Canberra CC Summer Criterium Series #6


Complete Australian results for 2002