Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  
Races & Results
2004 Results
About Joseph


Joseph Sunde Memorial Criteriums

Heffron Park, Maroubra, Australia, January 26, 2005

2004 results      2003 results     2002 results      2001 Results    2000 Results    Preview     Races List    Past winners


The Joseph Sunde Memorial Criteriums are conducted by the Eastern Suburbs Cycling Club at the popular Heffron Park criterium circuit and are dedicated to the memory of Joseph Sunde, who passed away in 1993 after an 18 month battle with leukemia.

Joseph was the youngest son of John & Christine Sunde (see about Joseph) His father John is a keen cyclist who has been racing at Heffron Park for 20 years and also works in the bicycle industry.

The 45km feature event has been won by four Australian Champions and during its 11 year history no rider has won the event twice. Although 2004 winner Troy Glennan will be in New Zealand for the Trust House Cycle Classic, 2003 winner Graeme Moffett (Clarence St) along with previous winners Stuart Dangerfield, US Pro Jeff Hopkins and of course perennial Heffron Park favourite Anthony Spurgeon are all in the running to record their second win in the event. Jose Rodriguez (Colnago-Caravello) is also expected to be a big threat.

One of the more unique events of the Joseph Sunde Memorial is the 30km graded handicaps for B, C and D grade riders. The event is based on the same format as the popular Tuesday night summer Criterium series, where D grade are given a 1'30" start over C and B grades.

The 30km Masters event opens the days racing and like the elite event, has become one of the prestigious Masters events on the summer calendar. Last year's winner Charlie Topfer will be another big chance this year after he completed a unique double when he won both the masters race and the graded handicap race.

One of the special features of the day is the fundraising efforts of the cycling community for the Childrens Cancer Institute. Joseph underwent treatment at the Sydney Children's Hospital in Randwick, which is where the Institute is based and over $10,000 has been raised through the Memorial Criteriums and other efforts. All fundraising from the day is donated to the Childrens Cancer Institute of Australia .

Donations can be made direct to the Childrens Cancer institute of Australia by clicking here. Simply quote 'Joseph Sunde Memorial' in the comments box.

Past winners

Troy Glennan (St George) showing the work he put in to take out the race Photo : Bob Bykerk
Click for larger image
Elite: Troy Glennan (St George)
Masters: Charlie Topfer (Lidcombe Auburn)
Handicap: Charlie Topfer (Lidcombe Auburn)

Elite: Graeme Moffet (Clarence St)
Masters: Laurence Vignes (Parramatta)
Handicap: Will Gray (Randwick Botany)

Elite: Jeff Hopkins (Bankstown Sports)
Masters: Liam Kelly (Easts)
Handicap: Steve Newman (Easts)
Elite: Jens Mouris (Ned) Van Vliet-Weba
Masters: Robert Upton (Harlequin)
Handicap: Steve Newman (Easts)
Elite: Stuart Dangerfield (Parramatta)
Masters: Tony Iannacito (Harlequin) Handicap: Steve Newman (Easts)  
Moffet gets the sprint
Photo: © Peter Pagidas
Click for larger image
Elite: Brent Dawson (Dubbo)
Masters: Laurence Vignes (Bici Sport)
Handicap: Andrew Hoang (Easts)
Elite: Matt White (Amore Vita)
Masters: Robert Upton (Harlequin)
Handicap: Arthur Driver (Penrith)
Elite: Anthony Spurgeon (Caravello)
Masters: Gary Burgett (Penrith)
Handicap: D Mackay (Randwick Botany)
Elite: Christian Back (Penrith)
Masters: G Bennett (Penrith)
Handicap: T Mulligan (Randwick Botany)
Click for larger image
Jeff Hopkins
Photo: © JJ/CN
Elite: Tony Gaudry (Caravello)
Elite: Andrew McGee (Parramatta)
Masters:Dick Conway (Easts)
Handicap: Tim Francis (Easts)

back to top