Results and Reports for January 26, 2001


Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to cyclingnews

8th Joseph Sunde Memorial Criterium

8th Joseph Sunde Memorial Criterium

Heffron Park, Sydney, NSW, January 26, 2001
Click for larger image
Jens Mouris and Sunde clan
Photo: © Cycingnews/JJ

While the majority of Australian's were preparing for today's Australia Day celebrations, Sydney's cycling community were once again heading to the Heffron Park criterium circuit to celebrate the 8th edition of the Joseph Sunde Memorial Criteriums. The criteriums are dedicated to Joseph Sunde, who died of leukemia when he was 4 years old. His father John is a keen bike rider who works in the industry, and puts a lot of work into organising the race, along with the Eastern Suburbs Cycling Club.

The event is always well supported by riders and spectators alike and despite extremely hot and humid conditions over 160 riders lined up to compete in the three races. The special feature of the Joseph Sunde Memorial Criteriums is the fundraising efforts on the day are generously donated along with a percentage of race entries to the Childrens Cancer Institute. ,p> A 35km criterium for Masters started the programme and once again boasted a quality field of 35 riders with all the serious Div 1,2 and 3 contenders present. As was expected with a strong field on a hot and fast morning, there were no serious breaks during the early part of the race until a threatening move with 6 laps to go from Roland Lang (Waratah Vets) and Rob Hampshire (St George) gained a solid 20 sec advantage.

Some strong turns from the likes of Robert Upton (Harlequin), Perry Hughes and Peter Biddington (Manly) brought the bunch back together. A couple of late attacks John Sunde (St George) almost paid off before he was caught by a strong finishing Robert Upton who edged out Liam Kelly (Easts) and Kevin Nicholls (St George).

Over 60 riders lined up for the 30km group handicap which is run over the same format as the popular Tuesday summer racing. The rather sparse C and D grade bunches of 15 riders each looked very vulnerable when the 35 fitter and stronger B grade riders lined up a 1min 30 sec behind them.

The smaller D grade bunch however proved once again that handicap racing is all about riding together and by simply rolling through and sharing the workload - they managed to hold off both B and C grades. Capping off a unique double, Steve Newman (Easts) won for the second year in a row, while John Dyet-Carthew won the fastest time for B grade.

Elite race

Australia Day temperatures had climbed into the low 30's by the time the Elite race started at 10 am, and with the extreme humidity this made for an exhausting race. Although the race was scheduled for 1 hour + 3 laps, the commissaire was feeling in a generous mood and allowed the riders an extra lap, in addition to the neutral lap [I was counting! JJ].

This wouldn't have affected the outcome of the race, which was for the most part fast and free flowing due to the large and well credentialled field. The action happened in the latter half of the race, as riders started to tire and small breaks could escape. However, there was enough firepower to chase everything down, until an attack went in the final five laps.

Click for larger image
Rowney, Lonie and Mouris
Photo: © Cycingnews/JJ

Internationals Jens Mouris (Ned, Van Vliet) and Welshman Martin Lonie (who was wearing Linda McCartney gear) spearheaded the break, managing to stay away from a fast finishing bunch. Mouris showed a superior burst of speed to beat Lonie, with MTB star Paul Rowney (Easts) taking third in front of Brent Dawson (NSWIS) and Jeff Hopkins (Bankstown). The proclaimed 'King of Heffron Park' Anthony Spurgeon also managed to find a podium spot (10th) after sharing with Stuart Campbell and Wayne Anderson.

After the race, Paul Rowney demonstrated his versatility and endurance by continuing on to run in the Botany Bay Gift, where he was participating in a celebrity event.


Elite - 1 hour + 3 laps (52 km)

1 Jens Mouris (Ned) Van Vliet-Weba      1.11.20 (44.2 km/h)
2 Martin Lonie (GBr) Linda McCartney Dev.
3 Paul Rowney (Aus) Easts
4 Brent Dawson (Aus) NSWIS
5 Jeff Hopkins (Aus) Bankstown

B/C/D Grade Handicap - 15 laps (30 km)

1 Steve Newman (Easts)
2 Phil Kauter (Easts)
3 Ian Hood (Parramatta)
4 Avril Swan (Bici Sport)
5 Tony Hammerman

1st B Grader

John Dyet - Carthew

Masters - 40 mins + 3 laps - (35km)

1 Robert Upton (Harlequin)
2 Liam Kelly (Easts)
3 Kevin Nicholls (St George)
4 Rob Hamsphire	(St George)
5 Roland Lang (Waratahs)
John, Christine, Edward and Portia Sunde and the Eastern Suburbs Cycling Club would like to thank all those riders and spectators who attended the event and generously donated over $1,000 to the Childrens Cancer Institute Australia. Over $10,000 has now been raised by the cycling fraternity in memory of Joseph Sunde. A big thank you also to the sponsors who contributed to the prizes and raffle and are listed below.

If you would like to make a donation online to the Childrens Cancer Institute Australia, please visit their website at

Other sponsors

Croydon Industries
Bell Sports Australia
Trek Australia
Albion Cycles
Ivan Lulic Pharmacy
Dolina Fashion Group