Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  


Past winners

Races & Results




2002 Joseph Sunde Memorial


About Joseph


Joseph Sunde Memorial Criteriums

Heffron Park, Maroubra, Australia, January 27, 2003

2002 results      2001 Results    2000 Results    Preview    Start list     Races List    Past winners


The Joseph Sunde Memorial Criteriums are conducted by the Eastern Suburbs Cycling Club at the popular Heffron Park criterium circuit and are dedicated to the memory of Joseph Sunde, who passed away in 1993 after an 18 month battle with leukemia.

Joseph was the youngest son of John & Christine Sunde (see about Joseph) His father John is a keen cyclist who has been racing at Heffron Park for 20 years and also works in the bicycle industry.

The 45km elite event has been won by four Australian Champions including current US Postal rider Matt White, who won the race in 1998. International riders have dominated the event in recent years with English time trial specialist, Stuart Dangerfield and Dutch strongman, Jens Mouris winning in 2000 and 2001. Last year, the race was taken out by U.S. based pro Jeff Hopkins.

No one has won the event more than once and perhaps this year defending champion Jeff Hopkins will be able to claim the double, however he will have plenty of competition from local Heffron king, Anthony Spurgeon, Stuart Dangerfield and upcoming NSW rider Chris Sutton who recently notched an impressive win in the final leg of the Bay Series at Melbourne's Crown Casino.

One of the more unique events of the Joseph Sunde Memorial is the 30km graded handicaps for B, C and D grade riders. The event is based on the same format as the popular Tuesday night summer Criterium series, where D grade are given a 1'30" start over C and B grades. Eastern Suburbs cyclist, Steve Newman has won the event for past 3 years and will be aiming to defend his title again on Monday.

The 30km Masters event opens the days racing and like the elite event, has become one of the prestigious Masters events on the summer calendar. Last years winner Liam Kelly will be out stamp his form on the race, especially after competing at the National Titles last week in the company of the country's top road cyclists.

One of the special features of the day is the fundraising efforts of the cycling community for the Childrens Cancer Institute. Joseph underwent treatment at the Sydney Children's Hospital in Randwick, which is where the Institute is based and over $10,000 has been raised through the Memorial Criteriums and other efforts.

Donations can be made direct to the Chrildrens Cancer institute of Australia by clicking here. Simply quote 'Joseph Sunde Memorial' in the comments box.

Click for larger image
Jeff Hopkins
Photo: © JJ/CN

Past winners

Elite: Jeff Hopkins (Bankstown Sports)
Masters: Liam Kelly (Easts)
Handicap: Steve Newman (Easts)

Elite: Jens Mouris (Ned) Van Vliet-Weba
Masters:Robert Upton (Harlequin)
Handicap: Steve Newman (Easts)
Elite: Stuart Dangerfield (Parramatta)
Masters: Tony Iannacito (Harlequin)
Handicap: Steve Newman (Easts)
Elite: Brent Dawson (Dubbo)
Masters: Lawrence Vignes (Bici Sport)
Handicap: Andrew Hoang (Easts)
Elite: Matt White (Amore Vita)
Masters: Robert Upton (Harlequin)
Handicap: Arthur Driver (Penrith)
Elite: Anthony Spurgeon (Caravello)
Masters: Gary Burgett (Penrith)
Handicap: D Mackay (Randwick Botany)
Elite: Christian Back (Penrith)
Masters: G Bennett (Penrith)
Handicap: T Mulligan (Randwick Botany)
Elite: Tony Gaudry (Caravello)
Elite: Andrew McGee (Parramatta)
Masters:Dick Conway (Easts)
Handicap: Tim Francis (Easts)

back to top