Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  
Races & Results
2003 Results
About Joseph


Joseph Sunde Memorial Criteriums

Heffron Park, Maroubra, Australia, January 26, 2004

2003 results     2002 results      2001 Results    2000 Results    Preview    Start list     Races List    Past winners


The Joseph Sunde Memorial Criteriums are conducted by the Eastern Suburbs Cycling Club at the popular Heffron Park criterium circuit and are dedicated to the memory of Joseph Sunde, who passed away in 1993 after an 18 month battle with leukemia.

Joseph was the youngest son of John & Christine Sunde (see about Joseph) His father John is a keen cyclist who has been racing at Heffron Park for 20 years and also works in the bicycle industry.

The 45km feature event has been won by four Australian Champions and during its 10 year history no rider has won the event more than once. With 2003 winner Graeme Moffett unable to defend his title this year, previous winners who have a chance to win again include Dutchman Jens Mouris, English Time Trial specialist Stuart Dangerfield, US Pro Jeff Hopkins and of course perennial Heffron Park favourite Anthony Spurgeon. The biggest challenge is likely to come from in form Jose Rodrigeuz (Easts) and Chris Sutton (NSWIS/FdJ) who have both had convincing wins on the challenging Heffron Park circuit in recent weeks.

One of the more unique events of the Joseph Sunde Memorial is the 30km graded handicaps for B, C and D grade riders. The event is based on the same format as the popular Tuesday night summer Criterium series, where D grade are given a 1'30" start over C and B grades.

The 30km Masters event opens the days racing and like the elite event, has become one of the prestigious Masters events on the summer calendar. Last years winner Laurence Vignes who also won the event in 1999 once again will be the rider to watch.

This could be yours
Photo: © John Sunde
Click for larger image

One of the special features of the day is the fundraising efforts of the cycling community for the Childrens Cancer Institute. Joseph underwent treatment at the Sydney Children's Hospital in Randwick, which is where the Institute is based and over $10,000 has been raised through the Memorial Criteriums and other efforts. All fundraising from the day is donated to the Childrens Cancer Institute of Australia and this year a World Champion Jersey signed by Australia's 2003 Teams Pursuit squad has been generously offered by the team for auction on eBay.

Donations can be made direct to the Chrildrens Cancer institute of Australia by clicking here. Simply quote 'Joseph Sunde Memorial' in the comments box.

Moffet gets the sprint
Photo: © Peter Pagidas
Click for larger image

Past winners

Elite: Graeme Moffett (Clarence St Cyclery)
Masters: Laurence Vignes (Parramatta)
Handicap: Will Gray (Randwick Botany)

Elite: Jeff Hopkins (Bankstown Sports)
Masters: Liam Kelly (Easts)
Handicap: Steve Newman (Easts)

Elite: Jens Mouris (Ned) Van Vliet-Weba
Masters:Robert Upton (Harlequin)
Handicap: Steve Newman (Easts)

Click for larger image
Jeff Hopkins
Photo: © JJ/CN
Elite: Stuart Dangerfield (Parramatta)
Masters: Tony Iannacito (Harlequin)
Handicap: Steve Newman (Easts)
Elite: Brent Dawson (Dubbo)
Masters: Lawrence Vignes (Bici Sport)
Handicap: Andrew Hoang (Easts)
Elite: Matt White (Amore Vita)
Masters: Robert Upton (Harlequin)
Handicap: Arthur Driver (Penrith)
Elite: Anthony Spurgeon (Caravello)
Masters: Gary Burgett (Penrith)
Handicap: D Mackay (Randwick Botany)
Elite: Christian Back (Penrith)
Masters: G Bennett (Penrith)
Handicap: T Mulligan (Randwick Botany)
Elite: Tony Gaudry (Caravello)
Elite: Andrew McGee (Parramatta)
Masters:Dick Conway (Easts)
Handicap: Tim Francis (Easts)

back to top