Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Giro finale
Photo ©: Bettini

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports for April 6-12, 2002


Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to cyclingnews

ROAM Criterium Series - Week 1
RASC Road Race
Boat Street Criterium
Boulder - Roubaix Road Race
Delta Cases Criterium
Kings Valley Road Race
2002 Ronde Van Mullica
UNH Road Race
Spring Fling series
Altoona Spring Circuit Race
Marblehead Circuit Race
Stazio Criterium
Tucson Bicycle Classic
Lincoln Plating Spring Classics – Criterium #2

When in ROAM Criterium Series - Week 1

San Antonio, Texas, April 11, 2002

By Jason Rivers

25 riders lined up for the 1-4 race, with San Antonio locals James Corletta, Chris Aarhus, Tom Bain, and Rob Kane all looking ready to lay down some pain.

After a neutral lap for all riders to safely see the course, it was on! Repeated attacks by Team Diabetic over the first 15 min created a break of six riders who had a good gap and were working hard. Kane, Aarhus, Peters (Team Diabetic), Chris Alexander (Trek/VW/RBM), Corletta (QuattrAssi/Peleton Racing) and Anuthee Huffstetter (UYS) were looking to make it stick.

Left behind without a rider in the break were the teams from Action Bikes and Alamo Bike Club. The chase sputtered on and off for 30 min, with teammates of riders in the break policing the attacks, before it was given up for good.

With five to go, the Team Diabetic boys were playing the numbers game in the front group by taking turns attacking the breakaway group. Huffstetter and Corletta would pull it back together with (what looked like) Alexander just riding wheels at the back. With two to go Alexander made his move and launched a solo attack that seemed to take the others by surprise. He was able to hold off the chase from Team Diabetic to claim the win.

10 riders raced in the opening 4/5 race. The group held together as a pack the whole race with Mike Molak (Team Diabetic) taking it.


Category 1-4 - 70 minutes
1. Chris Alexander (Trek-Volkswagen RBM)             1.03.36 (26.9 mph)
2. Clayton Peters (Team Diabetic)                       0.04
3. Chris Aarhus (Team Diabetic)                         0.06
4. Robert Kane (Team Diabetic)                          0.09
5. Anuthee Huffstetter (United Youth Sports Inc.)       0.11
6. James Corletta (Peloton Racing Org.)                 0.13
7. Jeffrey Skokan (Team Diabetic)                       1.10
8. Michael Springborn (Peoria Bicycle Club)
9. Thomas Bain (Matrix Cycle Club)
10. David McIver (ShowTeam Racing Club)
11. Phil Nava (Action Bikes)
25 starters, 23 finishers, 11 classified
Category 4/5 - 40 minutes
1. Mike Molak (Team Diabetic)                          40.02
2. Paul Ray (Gruene Bikeworks)
3. Brad Limmer (Team Diabetic)
4. David Pencsak (Unattached)
5. Chris Armstrong (
6. Gregg Kosterlitzky (Team Diabetic)
7. Richard Gibbs (Team Diabetic) 
8. David Hunt (Unattached)
9. Laura Matthews (Unattached)
10 starters, 10 finishers, 9 classified

Previous USA Results