Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Mt Hood Classic
Photo ©: Swift

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports from Australia

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to Cyclingnews

Peel CC
Southern Veterans
Mt Baw Baw Classic
Illawarra Cycle Club
Adelaide CC
Southern Vets CC

Central Coast CC
Latrobe CC
Balmoral CC

Bundaberg Amateur CC
Central Coast CC

Launceston MBC

ACT BMX Champs

Illawarra CC Criterium Series #2

Oak Flats, January 12, 2003

With A & B Grade combined, the bunch of 13 set off around the Oak Flats Criterium course to deal with the strong winds around the course. The first few laps were settled as several of the B Grade riders controlled the pace of the group at the front.

A few minor attacks went off up the road, but these were short lived as the wind forced the riders back to the group.

The likes of Graham Rutter, Dylan Forbes and Mark Davis then moved to the front of the bunch and set to raise the tempo of the race. This caused a small gap to form in the bunch leaving the field split into two groups with A Grade out front and B Grade out the back.

The sprint for the line saw a tussle between Morris, Forbes and Rutter. Going through the fast bottom corner the riders started to put the pressure on as they dashed for the line. Morris was too good for the field holding out the fast finishing Forbes and Rutter as they crossed the line.

The C Grade race (15mins + 3 laps) rode a steady race with most of the riders taking turns at the front of the group as they went along the top straight in to the head wind. Vince O’Dwyer is rarely off the front of the bunch and this was no different on the weekend, stringing the bunch along behind him as he forced the pace.

Although the bunch was stretched during the race, the whole C Grade field contested the sprint. O’Dwyer was pushed all the way to the line by Anna Habeck who in turn was under pressure from Mal Moss. Habeck almost lost 2nd placing to Mal Moss after appearing to give up the sprint with 20 metres to the line. But she was able to hold Moss out.

Next week's is a 37km Scratch Race with Group 5 to provide the Marshals.


A / B Grade
1 Morris Tim (Illawarra)             25:04.7
2 Forbes Dylan (Illawarra)
3 Rutter Graham (Hinchinbrook)
4 Davis Mark (Illawarra)
5 Gray Jeff (Illawarra)              00:22.5
6 Drury Gavin (Illawarra)
7 Lohse Ben (Illawarra)              00:57.8
8 Periera Jose (Illawarra)           01:15.0
9 Crowther Adam (Illawarra)
10 Jones Phil (Illawarra)
11 du Bois Paul (Illawarra)
12 Kelly Peter (Illawarra)
13 Telford Andrew (Illawarra)        01:26.3
C Grade
1 O`Dwyer Vince (Illawarra)          21:00.6
2 Habeck Anna (Illawarra)            00:01.3
3 Moss Mal (Illawarra)               00:02.6
4 Coelho Alvin (Illawarra)           00:12.7
5 Jonceski Lou (Illawarra)           00:32.6
6 Shannon Andrew (Illawarra)         00:58.5 

Australian results from the past week

Coburg CC Crit
Carnegie Caulfield Crit
Eastern Suburbs CC Summer Series #1
Norwood CC Summer Series Crit
VLCC Scratch Race
Carnegie Caulfield CC
St Kilda CC Criterium
Illawarra CC Scratch Race
Randwick Botany CC Criterium


Complete Australian results for 2003