Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Dauphiné Libéré
Photo ©: Sirotti

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports from Australia

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to Cyclingnews

Peel District CC

Peel Presidents Cup, Casuarina, September 16, 2006

Paul Slocombe took line honours in the Peel Presidents Cup for 2006 last weekend.

The Presidents Cup hosted by the Peel Cycling Club covered 60kms through the semi rural roads of Casuarina. As expected the competition was fierce and the pace was intense whilst the blustery conditions proved too much for several riders.

Slocombe off 13 minutes had to work hard for the win keeping the likes of Dave Berglund and Phil Diesel at bay. Laurie Longworth, Steve Ware and Andrew Bennett looked strong only to be swallowed up 4kms from the line.

Leanne Hoffman suffered early but recovered to find her rhythm as Slocombe pushed on ahead holding off Berglund by 14secs. Diesel was solid for third ahead of Darren Lee and Bob Addy. Matt Gibbons found the going tough after a long break out of the saddle as did Michael Dowell. Senior riders Joe Cox and Tom Atkinson put in a great effort in very testing conditions.

Berglund clocked the fastest ride in the Cup of 1hr 34min 34sec.

The next club event will be the Club Championships at Doghill, Baldivis on Saturday 23rd of Sept at 2pm.

New members are welcome. For more information go to or call 9581 6613.


1 Paul Slocombe 
2 Dave Berglund 
3 Phil Diesel
4 Darren Lee
5 Rob Addy 
6 Steve Ware
7 Laurie Longworth
8 Stan Baker
9 Leanne Hoffman 
10 Andy Bennett 
11 Joe Cox 
12 Tom Atkinson
13 Geoff Marshall 
14 Michael Dowell 
15 Mark Roberts 
16 Matt Gibbons 

Local results 2006