Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Mt Hood Classic
Photo ©: Swift

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports from Australia

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to Cyclingnews

Peel CC
Southern Veterans
Mt Baw Baw Classic
Illawarra Cycle Club
Adelaide CC
Southern Vets CC

Central Coast CC
Latrobe CC
Balmoral CC

Bundaberg Amateur CC
Central Coast CC

Launceston MBC

ACT BMX Champs

Illawarra CC Scratch Race

December 5, 2002

Hall & Wall in Good Form

A Grade was going to be tough event right from the start on the weekend at Caesar’s Illawarra Club Racing with regular top-level riders such as Adam Rourke, Josh Wall, Tim Morris and, Danny Hennessy being joined by International rider Jonathan Hall. The bunch was riding well for keeping together as they went around on the first of three laps. Before long, Hall showed his strength and class by attacking the group and riding away from the bunch. However, Wall and Morris were soon to join him and the three then continued to maintain a gap on the main field.

A few attempts to bridge the gap were made along the way by Grant Law and Hennessy over the next few kilometres. As the attacks came, the pace of the bunch increased a little more closing the gap on the three leaders. Once the bunch had consumed the three leaders, with not far to the finish line, Hall again put in a big effort to steal the lead and the victory from the bunch. Hall was successful in his attempt. Wall was the next rider to come across the line after attempting to bridge the gap to Hall. Morris won the bunch sprint from Rourke and Steve Franklin 16 seconds behind Hall.

B Grade 15 riders face the starter for the 27km race with all the riders pretty well matched. The pace of the first lap was not too high as the riders felt their way around the course and checked the competitions strength. John Stagg made his way off the front of the bunch as they rode up Hooker Hill for the first time but was brought back to the bunch quickly. The pace for most of the race was to set by Jo Periera, Peter Evans and, Paul du Bois with input from Phil Ciufo and Keith Bennett.

After the far turn-around on the last lap, Peter Kelly put in an attack with Tony Pulo and the two made a small gap on the field. Andrew Telford then made an attack to bridge the gap on the two. Upon catching the two he went past them and continued to ride away. However, it was not long lived as he lost the strength to continue the attack. Phil Ciufo joined Telford for a short period before the bunch caught up with the pair.

With less than 1km to the finish line, chaos broke out due to the local bovine community. As the bunch came to a stop for the cow crossing the road, Pereira took the group by surprise and attacked the bunch for the finish line. Once the bunch was able to proceed, they attacked quickly to make up the ground on Pereira. Jason Johnson was able to roll over the top of Periera on the line with Adam Crowther coming in on their heels.

A good size field started the C Grade event with the return of Scott Turnbull after some time away from racing. Turnbull dominated the race along with Andy Shannon taking turns at the front of the field to force the pace. Although the pair forced the pace, the bunch generally stayed together for the duration of the event. Turnbull managed to gap the field as they came to the line getting away from Vince O’Dwyer and Teegan Makowski.

Next week's race is at the Albion Park Criterium course and will commence at 8:00am. Volunteer Marshals are required for the day.

Results, 27 km

A Grade
1 Jonathan Hall (Illawarra)          37:29.7
2 Josh Wall (Illawarra)               0:11.2
3 Tim Morris (Illawarra)              0:15.8
4 Adam Rourke (Illawarra)             0:15.8
5 Steve Franklin (Illawarra)          0:15.8
6 Mark Davis (Illawarra)              0:19.8
7 Graham Rutter (Hinchinbrook)        0:19.8
8 Grant Law (Illawarra)               0:19.8
9 Danny Hennessy (Canberra)           0:19.8
10 Peter Jones (Illawarra)            1:07.5
11 Rob Calladine (Illawarra)          5:52.0
12 Richard Lorenc (Illawarra)         6:36.2
B Grade
1 Jason Johnson (Illawarra)          37:29.7
2 Jose Periera (Illawarra)
3 Adam Crowther (Illawarra)
4 Keith Bennett (Illawarra)
5 Peter Evans (Illawarra)
6 Paul du Bois (Illawarra)
7 Tony Pulo (Illawarra)
8 Gavin Drury (Illawarra)
9 Phil Jones (Illawarra)
10 Phil Ciufo (Illawarra)
11 Peter Kelly (Illawarra)
12 Rebecca Borgo (Illawarra)
13 Andrew Telford (Illawarra)         0:20.5
14 Mick Kejda (Illawarra)
15 Jonathan Stag (Illawarra)          1:44.0
C Grade
1 Scott Turnbull (Illawarra)         45:16.4
2 Vince O`Dwyer (Illawarra)
3 Teegan Makowski (Illawarra)
4 Anna Habeck (Illawarra)             0:06.8
5 Roger Phillips (Illawarra)
6 Andrew Shannon (Illawarra)          0:25.7
7 Peter Vesel (Illawarra)             0:58.4



Australian results from the past week

Illawarra CC handicap
Glenelg Street Race
VLCC Outer Harbour


Complete Australian results for 2002