Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Mt Hood Classic
Photo ©: Swift

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports from Australia

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to Cyclingnews

Peel CC
Southern Veterans
Mt Baw Baw Classic
Illawarra Cycle Club
Adelaide CC
Southern Vets CC

Central Coast CC
Latrobe CC
Balmoral CC

Bundaberg Amateur CC
Central Coast CC

Launceston MBC

ACT BMX Champs

Illawarra CC handicap

December 29, 2002

Moss beats the heat

Despite the festive season, the weekend racing was well attended. The limit riders were 15 in front of the Scratch riders at the start of the race over the short sharp 27km course. The added challenge of the summer heat meant that the event was going to be a hard fought event.

Brett Shorten was the first off then mark with Roger Phillips and Andrew Brooks 3 minuted behind him. The two groups to watch were the 9 min group and the 11-minute group. Both groups hard strong riders that would not shirk their responsibility in the chase for victory. Joe Pereira had the 9minute group going right from the start getting on the front of the group and driving the pace high before getting out of sight of the starter.

With only one minute between the block riders and the scratch riders, it was not long before the two groups had merged and begun the chase to catch the riders in front. With 15 minutes to make up, it was going to be a difficult task to achieve, but not impossible. At the end of the first lap, Shorten was still out in front from Phillips and Brooks with Emma Ringer, Alvin Coelho, Andy Shannon and Paul du Bois bearing down on the leaders.

The combined block and scratch riders had made good inroads into the start given to the limit riders. The end of the first lap had cut the lead cut back from the 15 to 10 minutes. If this pace kept going, the finish would be a bunch sprint.

The end of the 2nd lap saw the results of some hard riding. The gap between limit and scratch had been dragged back to just on 5 minutes. It also saw Phillips out in front from a hard chasing Mal Moss who was in turn being pursued by Coelho, Shannon, Ringer and Peter Vesel.

As the riders came into the finish line, they were strung out over the length of the straight with some of the riders feeling the effects of a high paced event. Moss had ridden a good race to end up taking the event in a corrected time of 46m17s from Phillips who just managed to hang on from a fast finishing Andy Shannon.

The battle for fastest time was between Josh Wall and Danny Hennessy who had ridden down the leaders to finish a mere 2minutes down on the first place getter after giving away 15 minutes. Wall managed to hold off Hennessy on the line claiming the fastest time in a time of 38m41s.

Next week's event is a 27km Scratch race, Marshals are to be provided by Group 4.


1 Mal Moss (Illawarra)            51.17
2 Roger Phillips (Illawarra)       0.03
3 Andrew Shannon (Illawarra)       0.10
4 Paul du Bois (Illawarra)         0.16
5 Alvin Coelho (Illawarra)         0.24
6 Jose Periera (Illawarra)         0.33
7 Stuart Binns (Illawarra)
9 Phil Ciufo (Illawarra)
10 Mick Kejda (Illawarra)
11 Phil Jones (Illawarra)          0.48
12 Emma Ringer (Illawarra)         1.09
13 Peter Kelly (Illawarra)
14 Adam Crowther (Illawarra)
15 Brian Joyce (Illawarra)         1.49
16 Austin Pitman (Illawarra)
17 Kirk Brown (Illawarra)
18 Peter Vesel (Illawarra)
19 Andrew Brooks (Illawarra)
20 Josh Wall (Illawarra)           2.24
21 Danny Hennessy (Canberra)
22 Mark Davis (Illawarra)          2.50
23 Grant Law (Illawarra)
24 Peter Evans (Illawarra)
25 Tim Morris (Illawarra)
26 Dean Marcinkowski (Illawarra)   4.25
27 Frank Tortorici (Illawarra)
28 Keith  Bennet (Illawarra)       4.41
DNF Jeff Gray (Illawarra)
DNF David Russel (Illawarra)
DNF Bobby Krstevski (Illawarra)
DNF Jason Johnson (Illawarra)
DNF Patrick Delahunty (Illawarra)
DNF Dennis Fitzgerald (Illawarra)
DNF Jaclyn Kejda (Illawarra)
DNF Brett Shorten (Illawarra)
Fastest times
1 Josh Wall (Illawarra)           38.41
2 Danny Hennessy (Canberra) 

Australian results from the past week

Illawarra CC Scratch Race
Ron Jenkins Handicap
Randwick Botany CC
Carnegie Caulfield CC Criterium
Eastern Suburbs Club Championships
Footscray CC Criterium


Complete Australian results for 2002