Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Giro finale
Photo ©: Bettini

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports from Australia

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to Cyclingnews

Peel CC
Southern Veterans
Mt Baw Baw Classic
Illawarra Cycle Club
Adelaide CC
Southern Vets CC

Central Coast CC
Latrobe CC
Balmoral CC

Bundaberg Amateur CC
Central Coast CC

Launceston MBC

ACT BMX Champs

Randwick Botany CC

Heffron Park, January 4, 2003

First race of Randy Bots' Centenary Year

By Tony Horneman

Happy trio of Randy Bots
Photo: © Randwick Botany CC
Click for larger image

Cycle racing returned to Heffron Park, Maroubra NSW on Saturday 4 January 2003 for the start of the Randwick Botany Cycling Club 2003 race program. Under clear skies and a light breeze, Club President John Buckton welcomed junior and senior riders to the first race of the club’s Centenary Year. Mr. Buckton commented on some exciting events planned to mark the 100-year anniversary of the club, including a gala dinner on 15 November 2003. "Further details will be advised over coming weeks," he added.

A-Grade rider John Kenny from the Eastern Suburbs club described the A-Grade race as "quite co-operative" with most riders sharing the load over the 32km distance. Randwick Botany’s young gun Robert Cater was off the front early in the event, before Stewart Campbell (Eastern Suburbs) and Jeff Jones (Randwick Botany) made a big dig. The lead bunch thinned to only four riders during the closing stages. George Pappas from Dulwich Hill wearing his usual bright pink jersey led out in the final sprint. Campbell powered home to claim first place in a time of 49min 43sec and an average speed of 39kph. A bike length behind was John Kenny (Eastern Suburbs) followed by Jeff Jones, George Pappas and Robert Cater.

B Grade riders started with the A-Grade bunch and stayed with them for the early laps. The first three B-Graders where: David Watkinson (Manly Warringah), Chris White (Randwick Botany) and Michael Cowen (Randwick Botany).

Sixteen riders, including U17 Randwick Botany rider Brittany Orr who won the 2002 National U17 Time Trial championships and New Zealand National U17 time trial and road race, lined up in the C-Grade 24km race. John Buckton was off the front for three laps but the bunch never lost sight of him and managed to catch him at the mid way point. In the final lap, whilst riders were working out which wheel to follow in the final sprint, Tony Horneman surprised everyone and made a strong breakaway with 400m to go. Horneman faded 200m from home and was rolled by the other C-Grade front-runners. First home was Ryan Terry (Manly Warringah) in a time of 42min 13sec and an average speed of 35kph. Second was David South (Waratah Veterans), followed by Randwick Botany riders Tony Caruana, Janelle Lindsay and Shaun Ballesty. Sixth place went to Jim Eades (Southern Cross).

D-Grade rider Greg Smart ended up riding in dirt and grass as the "A-Grade Train" passed D-Grade during their 20km event. Smart recovered to make a strong breakaway with 1000m to go and won by 50m in a time of 36min 28sec at an average speed of 33kph. Second was sixty-five-year-old Alec Lazich (Waratah Veterans) with Jonathon Hogard (Randwick Botany) third.

Six junior riders competed in four events including Time Trial and Criterium races. Juniors registered included Luke Davison (Southern Cross), Tom Paton, Charlotte Coates, Jack Bennett, Adriano Maradini and Elliott Doughty. Placings and times are listed at the end of this report.

Coverage of local cycling results can be heard on Sydney’s Eastside Radio 89.7FM "GAME ON" program, hosted by Brad Cooke, each Saturday morning from 10am.

Randwick Botany Cycling Club conducts racing at Heffron Park, Maroubra NSW each Saturday throughout the year. Juniors start at 1.00pm and Seniors 2.30pm. For more information please contact the club secretary Helen Vella on 02 9667 3307 or email or website


(Randwick Botany Cycling Club riders unless otherwise noted.)
A Grade, 32km
1 Stewart Campbell (Eastern Suburbs)  49.43 (39 km/h)
2 John Kenny (Eastern Suburbs)
3 Jeff Jones
4 George Pappas (Dulwich Hill)
5 Robert Cater
B Grade, 32km
1 David Watkinson (Manly Warringah)   50.30 (38 km/h)
2 Chris White
3 Michael Cowen
C Grade, 24km
1 Ryan Terry (Manly Warringah)        42.13 (35 km/h)
2 David South (Waratah Veterans)
3 Tony Caruana
4 Janelle Lindsay
5 Shaun Ballesty
6 Jim Eades (Southern Cross)
D Grade, 20km
1 Greg Smart                          36.28 (33 km/h)
2 Alec Lazich (Waratah Veterans)
3 Jonathon Hogard
E Grade, 14km
1 Julia Guinan                        36.40 (23 km/h)
2 Kevin Blanchfield
A Grade 1km Time Trial
1 Luke Davison (Southern Cross)        3.25
2 Tom Paton                            0.14
3 Charlotte Coates                     0.33
B Grade 1km Time Trial
1 Jack Bennett (Southern Cross)        3.54
2 Adriano Maradini                     0.06
3 Elliott Doughty                      0.24
A Grade 10km Scratch Race
1 Charlotte Coates
2 Tom Paton
3 Luke Davison
B Grade 8km Scratch Race
1 Jack Bennett (Southern Cross)
2 Adriano Maradini
3 Elliott Doughty

Australian results from the past week

Illawarra CC handicap
Glenelg Street Race
VLCC Outer Harbour


Complete Australian results for 2002