Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Mt Hood Classic
Photo ©: Swift

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports from Australia

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to Cyclingnews

Peel CC
Southern Veterans
Mt Baw Baw Classic
Illawarra Cycle Club
Adelaide CC
Southern Vets CC

Central Coast CC
Latrobe CC
Balmoral CC

Bundaberg Amateur CC
Central Coast CC

Launceston MBC

ACT BMX Champs

Carnegie Caulfield Criterium

Glenvale Cres, Mulgrave, December 5, 2003

Cookie Monster comes to Carnegie Caulfield

By Mal Sawford

If local riders thought that the first Carnegie Caulfield Criterium for the New Year would be a relatively quiet reintroduction to racing, they were wrong! Although many of the riders who had made the 2002 season finale such a standout were chasing glory in the Perth Crit Series, the presence on the start line of team mates Baden Cooke and Matt Wilson together with new Club member and Saturn signing, Nathan O’Neill, ensured that the race would be a fast and memorable one.

The early break featured Wilson, a member of the local Chelsea and Peninsula Club, alongside another new CCCC member, Junior World MTB Champion Trent Lowe (Yeti) and the raw strength of Justin Davis (O’Mara). Davis could not match the smooth tempo set by the more experienced riders and lost contact, and without his contribution the break was slowly reeled in by the peleton.

The closing stages of the race saw the field explode, as Cooke went clear with former Navigators strong man Tom Leaper. Trent Lowe tried hard to get across and spent half a dozen laps in no mans land as the leading pair pulled further ahead. The Fitzroy Cycles pair of Matt Chessum and Gary Clively combined well and overhauled Lowe in the final laps, but there was no stopping the "Cookie Monster" as he effortlessly came round the hard working Leaper to score a good win.

A strong B Grade once again played host to the cream of Victorian women cyclists. Under the watchful eye of new VIS women’s coach Bob Kelly, the team of Katie Mactier (Saturn), champion Triathlete Emma Carney, Delys Franke and Helen Kelly took the opportunity to fine tune tactics for next weeks Jayco Geelong Bay Classic. Mactier was successful in joining the early move, with 3 strong and experienced riders; Michael Bailey, Chris Boone and Colin Morris. With Mactier’s team-mates to control the bunch, the quartet was never likely to be threatened, but the breakaway riders maintained a good pace to the end, where Bailey showed his speed taking the victory ahead of Boone and Morris.

C Grade saw the win go to Paul Kelly, with a strong surge 2 corners from home surprising the queue of sprinters all set to fight out the win. Ben Noyes had to settle for second ahead of Daniel Young and Bob Kelly. Under 17 star Jessica Tanner (Drapac Property Group) forced the pace often and early in D Grade to the dismay of many, but the old hands teamed well to keep her within striking range. Mick Cummings took the win, but Tanner was good enough to sprint into second place ahead of Andrew Donohue and another well credentialed junior star, Tess Downing (Le Tour).

Carnegie Caulfield Criteriums continue every Sundayat Glenvale Crescent, with racing at the Necropolis commencing Tuesday January 7th at the Springvale Necropolis circuit. All holders of 2003 Cycling Australia licenses are welcome (don't forget to bring your license or receipt!) and non-members can have a go by taking out a three-race license for $39, deductible from your full membership if you decide to continue racing. For first time competitors, Tokyo Olympian Mick Hollingworth conducts racing clinics in E Grade.


A Grade - 1 hour + 3 laps
1 Baden Cooke (
2 Tom Leaper (Blackburn CC)
3 Matt Chessum (Carnegie Caulfield CC)
4 Gary Clively (Footscray CC)
5 Trent Lowe (Carnegie Caulfield CC)
6 Matthew Goold (Carnegie Caulfield CC)
32 starters
B Grade - 1 hour + 3 laps
1 Michael Bailey (Carnegie Caulfield CC)
2 Chris Boone (Carnegie Caulfield CC)
3 Colin Morris (Footscray CC)
4 Katie Mactier (Carnegie Caulfield CC) 
1 Katie Mactier (Carnegie Caulfield CC)
2 Narelle Peterson (Coburg CC)
39 starters
C Grade - 50 mins + 3 laps
1 Paul Kelly (Carnegie Caulfield CC)
2 Ben Noyes (Chelsea & Peninsula CC)
3 Daniel Young (Carnegie Caulfield CC)
4 Bob Kelly (Carnegie Caulfield CC)
1 Apryl Eppinger (Carnegie Caulfield CC)
39 starters
D Grade - 45 mins + 3 laps
1 Mick Cummings (Carnegie Caulfield CC)
2 Jessica Tanner (Shepparton CC)
3 Andrew Donohue (Carnegie Caulfield CC)
4 Tess Downing (Carnegie Caulfield CC)
1 Jessica Tanner (Shepparton CC)
2 Tess Downing (Carnegie Caulfield CC)
30 starters
E Grade - 35 mins + 3 laps
1 Chris Damm (Carnegie Caulfield CC)
2 Dale Reith (Blackburn CC)
3 Jason Rushen (Carnegie Caulfield CC)
4 Emma Steele (Carnegie Caulfield CC)
6 starters 

Australian results from the past week

Illawarra CC handicap
Glenelg Street Race
VLCC Outer Harbour


Complete Australian results for 2002