Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Giro finale
Photo ©: Bettini

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports from Australia

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to Cyclingnews

Peel CC
Southern Veterans
Mt Baw Baw Classic
Illawarra Cycle Club
Adelaide CC
Southern Vets CC

Central Coast CC
Latrobe CC
Balmoral CC

Bundaberg Amateur CC
Central Coast CC

Launceston MBC

ACT BMX Champs

Randwick-Botany CC Criterium

Maroubra, January 11, 2003

Family affair at Heffron Park

By Tony Horneman

The (other) Murdoch family
Photo: © Randwick Botany CC
Click for larger image

Seventy senior and junior riders registered for the second race day for 2003 with the Randwick Botany Cycling Club at Heffron Park on Saturday 11 January 2003.

A strong 17-rider A-Grade field, including Australian MTB champion Paul Rowney from the Eastern Suburbs Cycling Club, lined up for a 36km race around the park. Randwick Botany star, Robbie Cater, backed up after winning the Eastern Suburbs handicap race at Heffron Park last Tuesday evening to pair with Stewart Campbell for a breakaway at the mid way point. Cater and Campbell steadily built on a 100m lead with 8km to go, up to 300m lead with 4km to go. The main A-Grade bunch had no chance of catching the breakaway, with Campbell crossing first just ahead of Cater who developed a slow leak in his front tyre during the last lap. John Kenny (Eastern Suburbs) won the sprint for third followed by Randwick Botany’s Jeff Jones.

After a busy social schedule over the festive season, which didn't include much cycling, Saxon Johns from the Eastern Suburbs club made a triumphant return to B-Grade, winning the 32km event in fine style. Keegan Aitchison made a break on the first lap, but was back in the bunch by the second. The group stayed together for much of the race with some attempted breakaways by Randwick Botany riders Chris White and Dave Jackson. Final placings were Saxon Johns, James Stevens (Randwick Botany) and Dean Preddy (Eastern Suburbs).

Seventeen C-Grade riders competed in a 28km event. A cracking pace was set during the race that dropped half the field by the closing stages; only eight riders were left to fight out the final laps. Randwick Botany’s Michael Murdoch made a solo breakaway on the last lap and won easily. John Buckton (Randwick Botany) won the bunch sprint to second place. Judges spent some time determining other minor places with a wall of riders crossing the line behind Buckton. Tony Caruana (Randwick Botany) was judged third, with Janelle Lindsay (Randwick Botany) fourth and Ryan Terry (Manly Warringah) fifth. Graham Jones from the Waratah Veterans Cycling Club rode well in his first race at Heffron Park.

Tanya Bosch from the Sydney Cycling Club made a welcome return to D-Grade racing at Heffron Park after recovering from injury. The sixteen riders stuck together for most of the 20km race. Randwick Botany’s Jamie Guinan and Jonathon Hogard made a strong breakaway on the hill on the last lap. Fellow club rider Tony Aitchison tactically blocked the other riders to allow the breakaway pair to get away. Guinan made it home first, followed by Hogard. Alec Lazich (Waratah Veterans) won the sprint for third place. Sarah Oakes from the Southern Cross club also rode strongly.

Junior riders competed a Trial and Handicap races. Placings and times are listed at the end of this report.

Coverage of local cycling results can be heard on Sydney’s Eastside Radio 89.7FM "GAME ON" program, hosted by Brad Cooke, each Saturday morning from 10am.

Randwick Botany Cycling Club conducts racing at Heffron Park, Maroubra NSW each Saturday throughout the year. Juniors start at 1.00pm and Seniors 2.30pm. For more information please contact the club secretary Helen Vella on 02 9667 3307 or email or website


(Randwick Botany Cycling Club riders unless otherwise noted.)
A Grade, 36km
1 Stewart Campbell (Eastern Suburbs)
2 Robert Cater
3 John Kenny (Eastern Suburbs)
4 Jeff Jones
B Grade, 32km
1 Saxon Johns (Eastern Suburbs)
2 James Stevens
3 Dean Preddy (Eastern Suburbs)
C Grade, 28km
1 Michael Murdoch
2 John Buckton
3 Tony Caruana
4 Janelle Lindsay
D Grade, 20km
1 Jamie Guinan
2 Jonathon Hogard
3 Alec Lazich (Waratah Veterans)
A Grade 2km Time Trial
1 Thomas Murdoch              3.16
2 Tyron Bicknell              3.26
B Grade 2km Time Trial
1 Tamas Bykerk                3.41
2 Tom Paton (Manly Warringah) 3.41
C Grade 2km Time Trial
1 Adriano Maradini            4.00
10 km Handicap
1 Adriano Maradini
2 Thomas Murdoch
3 Tamas Bykerk
4 Tyron Bicknell

Australian results from the past week

Coburg CC Crit
Carnegie Caulfield Crit
Eastern Suburbs CC Summer Series #1
Norwood CC Summer Series Crit
VLCC Scratch Race
Carnegie Caulfield CC
St Kilda CC Criterium
Illawarra CC Scratch Race
Randwick Botany CC Criterium


Complete Australian results for 2003