Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Bayern Rundfahrt
Photo ©: Schaaf

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports from Australia

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to Cyclingnews

Peel CC
Southern Veterans
Mt Baw Baw Classic
Illawarra Cycle Club
Adelaide CC
Southern Vets CC

Central Coast CC
Latrobe CC
Balmoral CC

Bundaberg Amateur CC
Central Coast CC

Launceston MBC

ACT BMX Champs

Murwillumbah Cycle Club

Chillingham, February 15, 2003

Storer takes sprint

By Phil Ruge

The Murwillumbah Cycle Club's weekly road race on Saturday was held over the 'flat' Chillingham course in hot and windy conditions. This course covers some 50 kilometres and takes riders over towards Tumbulgum before turning back and out to Chillingham where the course doubles back to finish at Dulguigan.

Despite the hot weather 63 riders faced the starter over 5 grades for the afternoon's racing. The 10 riders in A Grade set off at a steady pace which was kept up for much of this race. The attacks finally began in earnest with about 10 kilometres to go as different riders tried their best to get away. In the end a group of 6 riders opened a small gap and stayed clear to fight out a sprint finish. First home was Stephen Storer with Rob Lyte second and Ashley Bryant in third spot.

B Grade also had 10 riders in their group. The pace fluctuated in this race as the wind was strong enough to make progress difficult on various parts of the course. This didn't stop the attacks but none were successful with the bunch basically together coming into the finish. The sprint for the line saw Tony Sunderland victorious with young Tim Beck second and Craig Reston third.

A larger field of 16 riders started out in C Grade. This bunch set a quick pace despite the wind with a number of riders including Diane Monk and Mike McCall willing to share the work. McCall broke away after Chillingham but was brought back a few kilometres later after a determined chase by the bunch. A further attack with just 2 kilometres to go saw 5 riders go clear and stay away to the end. Josh Breen was first across the line followed by Mike McCall, Stan Brims and Peter Haywood. Diane Monk was the first woman after a strong ride in this race.

D Grade boasted 21 riders in its group. A number of riders including Michaela Fischer, Melanie King, Lindsay Crisp, Dennis Brown and Ted Mathot made sure that they didn't stay together for long as they set a fast pace over the first half of the course. The remaining riders managed to scramble back together by Boat Harbour and stayed that way as the strong wind made for more difficult conditions on the way home. A congested sprint finish followed with Frank Schirmer just getting over Fred Mason for first with Ted Mathot third and Dennis Brown fourth. Michaela Fischer was the first woman home after her strong ride.

The 6 E Grade riders faced a 36 kilometre course to Chillingham and return. The heat and wind made for tough racing with the stronger riders in this group opening up a lead on the homeward leg of the race. First across the line was Arie Hendriks with Peter McMahon in second place.

Racing next week will see a return of the hills with the short Bald Mountain course on the menu. Start time is 3.00 pm (DST) from Pat Smith Park, Dulguigan.


A Grade, 50 kilometres
1 Stephen Storer (GoldStars)                       1.21 (37 km/hr)
2 Rob Lyte (Hinchinbrook)
3 Ashley Bryant (Murwillumbah)
B Grade, 50 kilometres
1 Tony Sunderland (Murwillumbah)                   1.22 (36.5 km/hr)
2 Tim Beck (Murwillumbah)
3 Craig Reston (Murwillumbah)
C Grade, 50 kilometres
1 Josh Breen (Grafton)                             1.26 (35 km/hr)
2 Mike McCall (Murwillumbah)
3 Stan Brims (CATS)
4 Peter Haywood (Murwillumbah)
First Woman: Diane Monk (GoldStars)
D Grade, 50 kilometres
1 Frank Schirmer (Murwillumbah)                    1.27 (34.6 km/hr)
2 Fred Mason (CATS)
3 Ted Mathot (CATS)
4 Dennis Brown (Murwillumbah)
First Woman: Michaela Fischer (CATS)
E Grade, 36 kilometres
1 Arie Hendriks (Gold Coast)                       1.10 (31 km/hr)
2 Peter McMahon (Murwillumbah)

Australian results from the past week

Bunbury CC
St Kilda Festival Biggin & Scott Criterium Champ's
Carnegie Caulfield (Feb 9)
Praties Tour Of The Channel
Mildura-Coomealla CC (Feb 9)
St Kilda CC
Footscray CC
Randwick Botany CC
Canberra CC
Illawarra CC
Carnegie Caulfield (Feb 11)
Mildura-Coomealla CC (Feb 11)
Trek Bikes Summer Series Rd 6
Canberra CC


Complete Australian results for 2003