12,'min'=>30, 'refresh'=>500); // IN GMT $refresh[2]=array('hr'=>13,'min'=>30, 'refresh'=>300); // IN GMT $refresh[3]=array('hr'=>17,'min'=>30, 'refresh'=>0); // IN GMT //add new $refresh rows as you like in chronological order. Set refresh => 0 for no refresh line // foreach (array_keys($refresh) as $r) { // foreach not available in PHP3! Have to do it like this reset ($refresh); while (list(, $r) = each ($refresh)) { if (time() > gmmktime($r[hr], $r[min], 0, $m, $d, $y)) $delay=$r[refresh]; }; if ($delay) { return ("\n"); } else { return(''); }; }; ?>
Home Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  


Day 1 wrap-up
Day 2 wrap-up
Day 3 wrap-up
Day 4 wrap-up
Day 5 wrap-up
Awesome Aussies looking to Athens
Medal Tally


Men's IP
Women's 500m TT
Men's 1000m TT
Men's Scratch
Women's IP
Men's Team Sprint
Men's Team Pursuit
Men's Points
Women's Points
Women's Sprint
Women's Scratch
Men's Madison
Men's Sprint



2002 WTC


Recently on Cyclingnews.com

Giro finale
Photo ©: Bettini

World Track Championships - CM

Stuttgart, Germany, July 30 - August 3, 2003

Event program and results    Men's Keirin    Women's Keirin


Gane takes fast final

By Valkerie Mangnall in Stuttgart, Germany

French star Laurent Gane won a fiercely-contested keirin ahead of Australia's Jobie Dajka after Dajka led out with about two laps to go. Dajka said later that he hadn't wanted to get caught in the back of the keirin group, but his early moved gave Gane a lead-out and the French rider over-hauled him for the win. Barry Forde of Barbados took the bronze.

See our Day 2 Wrap for more on the final.

Round 1 - Scare for Dajka

Jens Fiedler in action
Photo: © Hennes Roth
Click for larger image

Defending champion Jobie Dajka overcame a crash on the first lap of his keirin heat to qualify for tonight's second round at the world track cycling titles. The Australian fell after a clash of wheels going into the first bend and, with his feet locked into the pedals, had to pull himself up using the trackside barriers before rejoining the group. He failed to finish in the top two but breezed through his repechage, taking off with just under a lap to go and winning comfortably.

Dajka joins countrymen Mark French and Ryan Bayley in the next round, along with Barry Forde of Barbados. Forde progressed after winning his repechage the first time and then being forced into a repeat performance when the race was re-run because the derny rider did not leave the track correctly.

Also through are Germany's Rene Wolff and Jens Fiedler, Frenchmen Mickael Bourgain and Laurent Gane, Ross Edgar of Great Britain, Pavel Buran of the Czech Republic, Japan's Yuji Yamada and Malaysia's Josiah Ng.


Images by Hennes Roth/www.roth-foto.de

More images by Hennes Roth/www.roth-foto.de


Round 1
Heat 1
1 Laurent Gane (Fra)
2 Yuji Yamada (Jpn)
3 Barry Forde (Bar)
4 Ivan Vrba (Cze)
5 Jobie Dajka (Aus)
6 Gideon Massie (USA)
Heat 2
1 RenÚ Wolff (Ger)
2 Mark French (Aus)
3 Ainars Kiksis (Lat)
4 Jonathan Marin (Col)
5 Martin Benjamin (Ned)
DNF Angel Martorell (Mex)
DNF Jaroslav Jerabek (Svk)
Heat 3
1 Ryan Bayley (Aus)
2 MickaŰl Bourgain (Fra)
3 JosÚ Antonio Escuredo Raimondez (Spa)
4 Ross Edgar (GBr)
5 Lampros Vasilopoulos (Gre)
6 Toshimasa Yoshioka (Jpn)
7 Stephen Alfred (USA)
Heat 4
1 Pavel Buran (Cze)
2 Jens Fiedler (Ger)
3 Peter Bazalik (Svk)
4 Jamie Staff (GBr)
5 Josiah Ng On Lam (Mas)
6 Hiroschi Tsutsumi (Jpn)
 Theo Bos (Ned)
Heat 1
1 Barry Forde (Bar)
2 Lampros Vasilopoulos (Gre)
3 Jamie Staff (GBr)
REL Angel Martorell (Mex)
Heat 2
1 Ross Edgar (GBr)
2 Ainars Kiksis (Lat)
3 Gideon Massie (USA)
4 Martin Benjamin (Ned)
Heat 3
1 Jobie Dajka (Aus)
2 Jonathan Marin (Col)
3 JosÚ Antonio Escuredo Raimondez (Spa)
4 Stephen Alfred (USA)
5 Hiroschi Tsutsumi (Jpn)
Heat 4
1 Josiah Ng On Lam (Mas)
2 Ivan Vrba (Cze)
3 Jaroslav Jerabek (Svk)
4 Peter Bazalik (Svk)
5 Toshimasa Yoshioka (Jpn)

Round 2

Heat 1

1 Laurent Gane (Fra)
2 MickaŰl Bourgain (Fra)
3 Barry Forde (Bar)
4 Josiah Ng On Lam (Mas)
5 Pavel Buran (Cze)
6 Mark French (Aus)

Heat 2

1 Jobie Dajka (Aus)
2 RenÚ Wolff (Ger)
3 Yuji Yamada (Jpn)
4 Ryan Bayley (Aus)
5 Jens Fiedler (Ger)
6 Ross Edgar (GBr)


For 1st-6th

1 Laurent Gane (Fra)
2 Jobie Dajka (Aus)
3 Barry Forde (Bar)
4 RenÚ Wolff (Ger)
5 MickaŰl Bourgain (Fra)
6 Yuji Yamada (Jpn)

For 7th-12th

1 Jens Fiedler (Ger)
2 Josiah Ng On Lam (Mas)
3 Ryan Bayley (Aus)
4 Ross Edgar (GBr)
5 Pavel Buran (Cze)
6 Mark French (Aus)