12,'min'=>30, 'refresh'=>500); // IN GMT $refresh[2]=array('hr'=>13,'min'=>30, 'refresh'=>300); // IN GMT $refresh[3]=array('hr'=>17,'min'=>30, 'refresh'=>0); // IN GMT //add new $refresh rows as you like in chronological order. Set refresh => 0 for no refresh line // foreach (array_keys($refresh) as $r) { // foreach not available in PHP3! Have to do it like this reset ($refresh); while (list(, $r) = each ($refresh)) { if (time() > gmmktime($r[hr], $r[min], 0, $m, $d, $y)) $delay=$r[refresh]; }; if ($delay) { return ("\n"); } else { return(''); }; }; ?>
Home Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  


Day 1 wrap-up
Day 2 wrap-up
Day 3 wrap-up
Day 4 wrap-up
Day 5 wrap-up
Awesome Aussies looking to Athens
Medal Tally


Men's IP
Women's 500m TT
Men's 1000m TT
Men's Scratch
Women's IP
Men's Team Sprint
Men's Team Pursuit
Men's Points
Women's Points
Women's Sprint
Women's Scratch
Men's Madison
Men's Sprint



2002 WTC


Recently on Cyclingnews.com

Dauphiné Libéré
Photo ©: Sirotti

World Track Championships - CM

Stuttgart, Germany, July 30 - August 3, 2003

Event program and results    Men's IP    Women's IP

Men's Individual Pursuit

Qualifying - Wiggins scorches opposition

Wiggins sets the mark
Photo: © Hennes Roth
Click for larger image

Bradley Wiggins threw down the challenge to his world championship opponents when he posted a scorching time in qualifying for the men's 4,000m individual pursuit in Stuttgart. The Briton rode four minutes 17.342 seconds, miles ahead of his nearest rival, last year's silver medallist, Luke Roberts of Australia, who clocked 4:21.822. Wiggins will go up against Russian Alexey Markov in the first round.

While Australia's Mark Jamieson also made it through to the first round, he qualified seventh with a time of 4:26.121, meaning he will meet his compatriot next. Frenchman Philippe Gaumont, attempting to back up after riding for Cofidis in the Tour de France, bombed out, finishing 11th. German champion Daniel Becke was fifth fastest.

Robert Bartko was unable to contest the national titles due to commitments with his professional team, Rabobank, and secured Germany's second start after beating Jens Lehmann in a 2,000m time trial at the weekend. German cycling federation director Burckhard Bremer said, "Bartko's performance leads one to the conclusion that he is capable of winning a medal at the world championships, whilst Lehmann was not able to confirm his form."

Bartko went some way to justifying the decision when he finished sixth in qualifying.

Another Briton, Paul Manning, qualified fourth with a time of 4:22.491 behind Spain's Sergi Escobar Roure. Reigning champion Bradley McGee of Australia was ruled out of the championships last week after suffering hunger flats throughout the Tour de France. He is in Paris having tests in a bid to find the cause of the problem.

Round 1 - Wiggins to meet Roberts in final

After Thursday morning's first round of the men's 4000m individual pursuit, Great Britain's Bradley Wiggins, who set the fastest time in qualifying with four minutes, 17.342 seconds, will meet last year's silver medallist, Luke Roberts of Australia, in the ride off for gold. Roberts lapped teammate Mark Jamieson in the first round while Wiggins accounted for Russian Alexey Markov. Paul Manning of Great Britain will fight it out with Spain's Sergi Escobar Roure for the bronze medal.

Final - Wiggins at last

Britain's Brad Wiggins finally fulfilled the potential that he demonstrated with his junior world's win in 1998 by taking victory in the men's 4000m pursuit over Australia's Luke Roberts. Roberts personal-best time was not enough to answer the flying Wiggins, who credited his time with professional road team FdJeux.com this year as a factor in his improvement.

Spain's Sergi Escobar Roure beat Great Britain's Paul Manning in the ride-off for bronze.

See our Day 2 Wrap for more on the final.



Images by Hennes Roth/www.roth-foto.de

Images by AFP

Round 1

Images by Hennes Roth/www.roth-foto.de


Images by Hennes Roth/www.roth-foto.de

Images by Christine Grein/www.capture-the-peloton.com


1 Bradley Wiggins (GBr)            4.17.342 (55.956 km/h)
2 Luke Roberts (Aus)               4.21.822
3 Sergi Escobar Roure (Spa)        4.21.941
4 Paul Manning (GBr)               4.22.491
5 Daniel Becke (Ger)               4.25.083
6 Robert Bartko (Ger)              4.25.981
7 Mark Jamieson (Aus)              4.26.121
8 Alexey Markov (Rus)              4.26.228
9 Vasili Kiryienka (Blr)           4.26.850
10 Brett Lancaster (Aus)           4.27.315
11 Philippe Gaumont (Fra)          4.27.398
12 Jerome Neuville (Fra)           4.29.212
13 Jens Mouris (Ned)               4.30.129
14 Volodymyr Dyudya (Ukr)          4.30.962
15 Tomas Vaitkus (Ltu)             4.31.407
16 Hayden Godfrey (NZl)            4.32.423
17 Carlos Castano Panadero (Spa)   4.32.650
18 Jaroslaw Rebiewski (Pol)        4.34.059
19 Stefano Marenco (Ita)           4.37.312
20 Ioannis Tamouridis (Gre)        4.38.038
21 Yauheni Sobal (Blr)             4.40.267
22 Gregory Devaud (Swi)            4.40.557

Round 1

Heat 1
1 Paul Manning (GBr)                4.23.880 (54.57 km/h)
2 Daniel Becke (Ger)                4.27.379
Heat 2
1 Sergi Escobar Roure (Spa)         4.22.510 (54.855 km/h)
2 Robert Bartko (Ger)               4.26.522
Heat 3
1 Luke Roberts (Aus)                4.20.870 (55.198 km/h)
2 Mark Jamieson (Aus)               Caught
Heat 4
1 Bradley Wiggins (GBr)             4.20.240 (55.332 km/h)
2 Alexey Markov (Rus)               4.29.373


For gold and silver

1 Bradley Wiggins (GBr)             4.18.570 (55.689 km/h)
2 Luke Roberts (Aus)                4.19.306

For the bronze

3 Sergi Escobar Roure (Spa)         4.21.210 (55.126 km/h)
4 Paul Manning (GBr)                4.22.461