Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Dauphiné Libéré
Photo ©: Sirotti

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports for July 6-12, 2002


Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to cyclingnews

Peel CC
Southern Veterans
Mt Baw Baw Classic
Illawarra Cycle Club
Adelaide CC
Southern Vets CC

Central Coast CC
Latrobe CC
Balmoral CC

Bundaberg Amateur CC
Central Coast CC

Launceston MBC

ACT BMX Champs

Randwick Botany Cycling Club

Heffron Park, July 6, 2002

Drag race at Heffron Park

By Tony Horneman

The nearest thing to a top-fuel drag race was the way A-Grade finished the 36km criterium race around Heffron Park Maroubra on Saturday 6 July 2002. Two of the strongest riders in Sydney, Randwick Botany's Shaun Higgerson and Team Caravello's Anthony Spurgeon battled it out shoulder-to-shoulder in the closing stages of the race. Spurgeon won by the narrowest of margins. Higgerson, who recently won the 2002 NSW Hill Climb Championships, set the pace early in the race, breaking away from the 10-rider bunch along with Spurgeon and his Caravello team mate Nathan Russell, who had rode 170km earlier in the day on a training ride. The three stayed together until 4-laps to go when Higgerson surged, dropping the tired Russell. Higgerson and Spurgeon took the bell, indicating the last lap and sped away for the spectacular sprint finish.

Thirteen B Grade riders lined up for their 32km race. Visiting riders included Roger Shackletone from Waratah Veterans and Gary Oliver from the Manly Warringah Club. Randwick Botany's Chris White broke away and rode solo for five laps early in the race. A 5-rider breakaway formed late in the race including Dave Jackson, Chris White, Clive Hammerson, Dave McPherson and Gary Oliver. Final placings were McPherson, Hammerson, Oliver and White.

The twelve C Grade riders stayed together in the blustery conditions until three laps to go, when Chris Young, Keegan Aitchison and Steven Bligh broke away during the confusing of a passing B Grade. Young finished strongly putting 50 metres on Aitchison with Bligh further back. Tony Horneman was the strongest in the bunch sprint to claim fourth place.

Randwick Botany's Janelle Lindsay set the pace in the 11-rider D Grade 20km event. Richard Manners was too strong in the final sprint and took first place followed by Liam Fletcher and David Jenkins-Flint. Kevin Blanchfield won the E Grade 14km race.

Four junior riders competed in a 2km Time Trial with Keegan Aitchison recording a time of 3min 33sec, Jade Hughes 4min 15sec, Adriano Maradini 4min 32sec and Tyla Aitchison 4min 51sec. The 6km Scratch Race was won by Adriano Maradini in a time of 14min 25sec with Jade Hughes second and Tyla Aitchison third.

Randwick Botany Cycling Club conducts racing at Heffron Park, Maroubra NSW each Saturday throughout the year. Juniors start at 1.00pm and Seniors 2.30pm. For more information please contact the club secretary Helen Vella on 02 9667 3307 or website.



A Grade, 36km
1 Anthony Spurgeon (Caravello)
2 Shaun Higgerson (Randwick Botany CC)
3 Nathan Russell (Caravello
B Grade, 32km
1 Dave McPherson (Randwick Botany CC)
2 Clive Hammerson (Randwick Botany CC)
3 Gary Oliver Manly Warringah
4 Chris White (Randwick Botany CC)
C Grade, 28km
1 Chris Young (Randwick Botany CC)
2 Keegan Aitchison (Randwick Botany CC)
3 Steven Bligh (Randwick Botany CC)
4 Tony Horneman (Randwick Botany CC)
D Grade, 20km
1 Richard Manners (Randwick Botany CC)
2 Liam Fletcher (Randwick Botany CC)
3 David Jenkins-Flint (Randwick Botany CC)
E Grade, 14km
1 Kevin Blanchfield (Randwick Botany CC)


Time Trial, 2km
1 Keegan Aitchison          3.33
2 Jade Hughes               4.15
3 Adriano Maradini          4.32
4 Tyla Aitchison            4.51
6km Scratch Race
1 Adriano Maradini         14.25
2 Jade Hughes
3 Tyla Aitchison

Australian results from the past week

Bundaberg Cycling Club - June 22
Bundaberg Cycling Club - June 29
Canberra Cycling Club Round 8 - Brett Seaman Memorial Handicap
Carnegie Caufield Cycling Club
Darwin Cycling Club
Illawarra Cycle Club
Maryborough Cycling Club
Mackay CC
Mildura-Coomealla CC
Murwillumbah Cycle Club - Johns Cyclesport Cup Series
Randwick Botany Cycling Club
Velo Tour Race 3
West Tamar Cycling Classic


Complete Australian results for 2002