Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Dauphiné Libéré
Photo ©: Sirotti

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports for June 22-28, 2002


Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to cyclingnews

Peel CC
Southern Veterans
Mt Baw Baw Classic
Illawarra Cycle Club
Adelaide CC
Southern Vets CC

Central Coast CC
Latrobe CC
Balmoral CC

Bundaberg Amateur CC
Central Coast CC

Launceston MBC

ACT BMX Champs

Murwillumbah Cycle Club - Johns Cyclesport Cup Series

Murwillumbah, June 29, 2002

Hills the order of the day

Report courtesy Phil Ruge

The first of the Johns Cyclesport Cup scratch road races were held on Saturday 29 June 2002 by the Murwillumbah Cycle Club with 59 riders turning up to take part in these point score events.

The courses for these races were longer for all grades, with A and B Grades covering 80 kilometres, C and D Grades 70 kilometres and E Grade 60 kilometres. All races went to Tumbulgum before turning back to Bald Mountain and then to Numinbah and back to the finish at Dulguigan. E Grade were spared the pleasure of Numinbah whilst A and B Grades also had to contend with Nobbys Creek to complete their respective races. Hills were the order of the day!

A strong southerly wind assisted A Grade on the first leg of the race to Tumbulgum. The initial fast pace slowed somewhat into the headwind on the way back which saw the bunch stay together until Bald Mountain. Ashley Bryant jumped away at this point and settled into the leg across to Numinbah where he was joined by Jon Guy. These two riders worked together to steadily build up their lead and with little organisation amongst the other riders they stayed away over the last 30 kilometres of the race. At the line it was Bryant first ahead of Guy with Jon Evangelista taking third place a short time later.

B Grade also had a quick run to Tumbulgum but slowed considerably into the headwind with few riders willing to do the hard work at the front of the race. Once into the hills the pace picked up as several riders tried to get away but they were brought back each time. This remained the pattern throughout the rest of the race with a relatively intact bunch fighting out a sprint finish. First home was Paul Howard with Graeme Harvey second and Tony Sunderland in third place.

The C Grade race also followed a similar pattern with few riders willing to work into the strong headwind on the exposed parts of the course. There were a few attacks after the relative shelter of the hills had been reached but apart from stringing the bunch out none survived for any distance. The pace picked up on the homeward leg but by this stage no one was giving in and the inevitable bunch sprint followed. First in was Shane Conlon with Wilf Hubac, Stan Brims, John Anderson and Jerome Carrigan following in that order. Sara Rota was the first female rider to finish after a strong ride with Sharon Heap and Sandra Bury taking out the minor placings.

D Grade set out at a quick pace to Tumbulgum but kept the momentum going back into the headwind with a number of riders willing to share the work up front. This pace saw several riders begin to drop off the bunch by Bald Mountain which continued on the run over to Numinbah where the pace was lifted every time the road went upwards. After the turn the remaining riders settled in to share the work on the way back with a more favourable tailwind. In the sprint finish 'fast' Fred Mason showed his class to take first just ahead of Rolli Tombilis with Bill Mustard third, Phil Ruge fourth and Ros Powley a creditable fifth given the wind and longer race distance.

The E Grade bunch set out at a steady pace and worked well together to maintain this despite the difficult conditions. The effort began to show by Bald Mountain where a smaller group of just 6 riders were left in contention. These included Eric Hall, Vince Nucifora and Melanie King who was having a great ride and looking stronger as the race progressed. These riders kept together back to Chillingham and onto Dulguigan where Eric Hall was first, Melanie second, Vince third with Kevin Leroy fourth and Dave Burns a great fifth after a long absence from cycle racing.

The second and final race in the Johns Cyclesport Cup series will be held on Saturday 31 August 2002 over similar distances and courses. This will be the deciding event of this series with overall placings and prizes to be awarded on the day. Entry fees will again be $10 with entries taken on the day.

Racing next week is the monthly handicap event over the 'out and back' Tyalgum course. Start time is 2.00 pm from Pat Smith Park, Dulguigan with an early sign on to assist the handicapper.


A Grade, 80km
1 Ashley Bryant (Murwillumbah)        2.12.00 (36.5 km/hr)
2 Jon Guy (Gold Coast)
3 Jon Evangelista (Gold Coast)
B Grade, 80km
1 Paul Howard (Murwillumbah)          2.17 (35.0 km/hr)
2 Graeme Harvey (Murwillumbah)
3 Tony Sunderland (Murwillumbah)
C Grade, 70km
1 Shane Conlon (GoldStars)            1.57 (35.8 km/hr)
2 Wilf Hubac (CATS)
3 Stan Brims (CATS)
4 John Anderson (Murwillumbah)
5 Jerome Carrigan (CATS)
1 Sara Rota (CATS)
2 Sharon Heap (GCMBC)
3 Sandra Bury (Murwillumbah)
D Grade 70km
1 Fred Mason (CATS)                   2.07 (33 km/hr)
2 Rolli Tombilis (Murwillumbah)
3 Bill Mustard (Murwillumbah)
4 Phil Ruge (Murwillumbah)
5 Ros Powley (GoldStars)
E Grade 60km
1 Eric Hall (Murwillumbah)            2.00 (30 km/hr)
2 Melanie King (Murwillumbah)
3 Vince Nucifora (CATS)
4 Kevin LeRoy (Murwillumbah)
5 Dave Burns (Murwillumbah)

Australian results from the past week

Barkley Challenge - Tour of Mt Isa
Illawarra Cycle Club
Iron Mike Classic Handicap Canberra CC Rd 6
Mildura-Coomealla Cycling Club
Mudgee Road Open Handicap (Mark Dwyer Memorial)
NSW Criterium Championships
Randwick Botany Cycling Club
Tin Can Bay Invitation


Complete Australian results for 2002