Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Mont Ventoux
Photo ©: Sirotti

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports for June 15 - 21, 2002


Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to cyclingnews

Peel CC
Southern Veterans
Mt Baw Baw Classic
Illawarra Cycle Club
Adelaide CC
Southern Vets CC

Central Coast CC
Latrobe CC
Balmoral CC

Bundaberg Amateur CC
Central Coast CC

Launceston MBC

ACT BMX Champs

Tin Can Bay Invitation

Maryborough, June 16, 2002

The Tin Can Bay Invitation bike race run on Sunday 16th June was a huge success. Riders from Maryborough, Bundaberg, Gympie and the Sunshine Coast contested this event staged by the Maryborough Cycle Club.

The race started at the Tin Can Bay Country Club and finished at the Granville Hotel, these being the two major sponsors of the event. Riders and officials relaxed at a barbeque afterwards and many stories unfolded while sinking a cold one or two.

The race was run under handicap conditions, the scratch men giving away 12 minutes to the front markers. Wind and high humidity made the 72km race tough going and unlike last year, competitors pushed into the wind all the way home. This was reflected in the modest time of 2hrs 9mins 45secs. A grade men pushed hard to catch riders ahead of them and by the 45km mark the front markers had been reeled in. As the large bunch turned onto Boonooroo Road the fast men switched off, content to take their chances in a bunch sprint. Some small breaks occurred as riders tried to up the pace but these were quickly shut down.

In the sprint for the line Bundaberg's Phil Dunn showed his class yet again narrowly beating Brendan Ridgley, Arthur Puie and Greg Lawler. A mass of riders at the finish meant the 'Video Ref' had his work cut out to accurately place everyone.

Combined Under 15/17 event started from the Poona turnoff, a distance of some 30km. David Keevers rode most of the distance unassisted and still managed to keep the scratch men at bay. Hayden Josefski, Ryan Dixon and Peter Ransome filled the places. Winning time was 52mins 37secs.

Vets/Women riders started from the Tinanbar turnoff and completed a distance of 38km. The front markers worked well together to stay away and local rider Cyril Culley finished on top of Richard Nelson, Hugh Humphries and Richard Fox. Winning time was 1hr 12mins 9secs.

Mighty Midgets event saw Quentin Miller come in ahead of Ashley Vagg.

Racing next week starts from Oakhurst Gardens. Nominations 1.30pm racing starts 2pm. Further information phone 41281227.

A Grade
1 Phil Dunn
2 Greg Lawler
3 Bruce Phersson
B Grade
1 Brendon Ridgely
2 Arthur Puie
3 Chris Ihle
C Grade
1 Trevor Geysing
2 Paul Wroe
3 Mark Livingstone
Vets & Women
1 Cyril Culley
2 Richard Nelson
3 Nelson
Combined Under 15 / 17
1 David Keevers
2 Richard Nelson
3 Hugh humphries
Mighty Midgets
1 Quentin Miller
2 Ashley Vagg



Australian results from the past week

Brisbane Valley Tour
Bundaberg Cycle Club
Darwin Cycling Club - Bridge to Bridge 30km time trial
Darwin Cycling Club - Pointscore
Illawarra Cycle Club
Maryborough Cycle Club
Mildura-Coomealla Cycling Club
Murwillumbah Cycle Club
Randwick Botany Cycling Club
Tour of Cardinia
Wagga Motors Open Handicap
Wagga to Albury - John Woodman Memorial


Complete Australian results for 2002