Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Mt Hood Classic
Photo ©: Swift

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports for June 1-7, 2002


Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to cyclingnews

Peel CC
Southern Veterans
Mt Baw Baw Classic
Illawarra Cycle Club
Adelaide CC
Southern Vets CC

Central Coast CC
Latrobe CC
Balmoral CC

Bundaberg Amateur CC
Central Coast CC

Launceston MBC

ACT BMX Champs

Randwick Botany Cycling Club

Heffron Park, June 1, 2002

Top Riders Race at Heffron Park

Some of the best road cyclists in Sydney, including Anthony Spurgeon, Stuart Campbell and Kirril Shields, lined up at the Randwick Botany Club races at Heffron Park on Saturday 1 June 2002.

The nine rider elite A Grade group set off on a 36km race which featured a solo attack by Eastern Suburbs rider Stuart Campbell mid-way through the race. Anthony Spurgeon from Team Caravello went into top gear to chase down Campbell in the closing stages. Kirril Shields and Randwick Botany's Aaron Castles stayed on Spurgeons wheel for the bunch sprint to the finish line. Spurgeon continued the momentum to power home to take first place in a time of 59min 13sec and an average speed of just under 37kph in the windy conditions. Second place went to Stuart Campbell and third was Aaron Castles.

Jerry Sowa is from the town of Gizycko in northeast Poland and has been studying in Australia for the past two years. Riding on his international UCI cycling licence, Sowa joined 10 other B Grade riders for a 32km race. Randwick Botany riders Tony Caruana and Club President John Buckton worked hard to keep the pace high. In an exciting final sprint, Sowa showed his strength by finishing first in a time of 54.02, and an average speed of 36km/h. Garry Oliver from the Manly Warringah club was second and Randwick Botany's Will Gray third. Mike Popplewell from Manly Warringah was fourth.

The 20-rider C Grade bunch stayed together until the last lap of their 28km event. Junior rider Chris Young broke away on the last lap and broke up the field. A handful of riders contested the sprint with new club member Sam Haeata winning in a time of 47min 52sec and just over 35kph average speed. Mark Davies made it home second and Matthew Cordery third. Chris Young finished in fourth position followed by junior rider Michael Murdoch.

Scott Rice and Mark Murdoch set the pace in the 20km D Grade race. Kuiper James made it home first in a time of 36min 11sec followed by Paul Baker and junior David Jenkins-Flint. The E Grade 14km race was won by Norman Jew in time of 37min 25sec followed by Kevin Blanchfield.

Randwick Botany Cycling Club conducts racing at Heffron Park, Maroubra NSW each Saturday throughout the year. Juniors start at 1.00pm and Seniors 2.30pm. For more information please contact the club secretary Helen Vella on 02 9667 3307 or website



A Grade, 36km
1 Anthony Spurgeon (Caravello)                59.13
2 Stuart Campbell (Eastern Suburbs)
3 Aaron Castles
B Grade, 32km
1 Jerry Sowa (Poland)                         54.02
2 Garry Oliver (Manly Warringah)
3 Will Gray
4 Mike Popplewell (Manly Warringah)
C Grade, 28km
1 Sam Haeata                                  47.52
2 Mark Davies
3 Matthew Cordery
4 Chris Young
5 Michael Murdoch
D Grade, 20km
1 Kuiper James                                36.11
2 Paul Baker
3 David Jenkins-Flint
E Grade, 14km
1 Norman Jew                                  37.25
2 Kevin Blanchfield


U17 Time Trial, 2km
1 Robert Cater                                 3.06
2 Thomas Murdoch                               3.25
3 Michael Murdoch                              3.37
U15 Time Trial, 2km
1 Andrew Young                                 3.39
U11 Time Trial, 2km
1 Andriano Maradini                            4.30
2 Nick Mellick                                 5.52
A Grade Point Score, 12km
1 Chris Jenkins                                  12 pts
2 Robert Cater                                    9
3 Michael Murdoch                                 5
4 Keegan Aitchison                                3
B Grade Scratch Race, 6km
1 Adriano Maradini                            22.09
2 Nick Mellick



Australian results from the past week

46th Ken Dinnerville Memorial Handicap
Murwillumbah Cycle Club
Bundaberg Cycle Club
Canberra Cycling Club - round 4
Carnegie Caulfield Road Race
Humpty Doo to Barkhut Classic
Gold Coast CATS CC Criterium
Berri Open (Tour of the Riverland)
Le Paris Brest Tour de Perth


Complete Australian results for 2002