Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Mt Hood Classic
Photo ©: Swift

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports for June 1-7, 2002


Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to cyclingnews

Peel CC
Southern Veterans
Mt Baw Baw Classic
Illawarra Cycle Club
Adelaide CC
Southern Vets CC

Central Coast CC
Latrobe CC
Balmoral CC

Bundaberg Amateur CC
Central Coast CC

Launceston MBC

ACT BMX Champs

Illawarra Cycle Club

Dapto, June 1, 2002.

Without the climb up the steep side of Marshal Mount, even though the handicap distance was 56km, the average speed of the back markers was almost 40km/h.

The lone figure of Les Hewitt led the riders off for the race with five riders on the 16 minute bunch following him 9 minutes later. Paul Kaye and Vince O'Dwyer were ably assisted by new rider Stuart Binns. Kaye was forced out of the race with a puncture.

The 5 minute bunch were travelling quickly after combining well and being organised by Grant Law. Unfortunately one of the strong men Adam Hotchkis punctured but the remaining riders Frank Tortorici, Austin Pitman, Peter Evans, Garry Doughty and Law were working on each other's strong points and gradually hauling in the 7 minute bunch.

Just after the first lap the scratch bunch caught the block riders. Mark Wall, Guy Mathiske, Adam Rourke, Josh Wall and Peter Jones had worked very hard to bridge the two minute gap so quickly.

Half way through the second of three laps the 7 minute bunch had caught all the riders infront but only had a little just under a minute lead on the 5 minute riders.

Heading out on the third lap the 5 minute bunch caught the riders infront on the climb of Hooker hill. They still had to keep the pace going to stay away from the fast finishing scratch bunch.

Jeff Gray, Lionel Covington and Kirk Brown from the 7 minute bunch didn't mind giving the 5 minute boys a turn or two.

In the final 6 kilometres Dave Morris attacked several times and when joined by Tortorici on the final climb of Hooker hill they looked half a chance to stay away but the large bunch brought them back.

Midgley and Law fought out a close finish with Law crossing the line first, a well deserved win after his very strong ride. Tortorici was third, another well earned result. Brown, Covington, Peter Kelly and Evans rounded out the top seven.

In a good sprint for fastest time Mark Wall edged out Jones for his second fastest time in a row.

Next weekend's race is Illawarra's leg of the Interclub series starting at Dapto High school at 2.15pm. Anyone who can help on the day should ring Garry Doughty on 4271 5533.

Results, 54km Handicap

Riders from Illawarra Cycle Club unless stated otherwise
1 Grant Law
2 Neil Midgley
3 Frank Tortorici
4 Kirk Brown
5 Lionel Covington
6 Peter Kelly
7 Peter Evans
8 Jeff Gray
9 Vince O'Dwyer
10 Garry Doughty
11 Tony Pulo
12 Jose Periera
13 Adrian Cooper
14 Dean Marcinkowski
15 Stuart Binns
16 Joe Chiaverini
17 Austin Pitman
18 Dave Morris
19 Mark Wall (Sutherland)
20 Peter Jones
21 Guy Mathiske
22 Dylan Forbes
23 Adam Rourke
24 Hardy Lohse
25 Bobby Krstevski
26 Josh Wall
27 Lou Jonceski
28 Terry Welsh
29 Alan McClelland
30 Reg Hitchens
DNF Paul Kaye
DNF Adam Hotchkis
DNF Richie Lorenc
DNF Chris Brown
DNF Phil Jones
DNF Peter MacDonald
DNF Tim Devlin
DNF Peter Vesel
DNF Les Hewitt
Fastest time - Mark Wall: 1.25.25



Australian results from the past week

46th Ken Dinnerville Memorial Handicap
Murwillumbah Cycle Club
Bundaberg Cycle Club
Canberra Cycling Club - round 4
Carnegie Caulfield Road Race
Humpty Doo to Barkhut Classic
Gold Coast CATS CC Criterium
Berri Open (Tour of the Riverland)
Le Paris Brest Tour de Perth


Complete Australian results for 2002