Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Giro finale
Photo ©: Bettini

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports for June 22-28, 2002


Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to cyclingnews

Peel CC
Southern Veterans
Mt Baw Baw Classic
Illawarra Cycle Club
Adelaide CC
Southern Vets CC

Central Coast CC
Latrobe CC
Balmoral CC

Bundaberg Amateur CC
Central Coast CC

Launceston MBC

ACT BMX Champs

Maryborough Cycling Club

Gayndah Road, Maryborough, June 29, 2002

A trackie's hunting ground

Strong winds greeted riders for Saturdays road racing on Gayndah Road. All events were run as points races which is more commonly used in track racing. Riders complete a set distance with a number of sprints during the race. Points are awarded for placings in each sprint and tallied up after the race is completed.

A and B grade events were run over 50km while C grade and Women/Vets were run over a distance of 30km. A grade men headed out first with a strong field of riders eager to take the money. A few early attempts to break away were shut down and it took until the 25km mark for a successful break. Greg Lawler who is showing good form at the moment, put it to the bunch about 2km before the flag for the second sprint. They did not respond so he was able to take the second sprint unchallenged. At Mongrel Mountain, 7km from the final sprint Greg attacked again this time splitting the bunch. In the end it was the track sprinting experience of Bruce Phersson that won the day having placed in each sprint. Greg Lawler placed second followed by Marty Leahy.

The B grade event over the same course produced some interesting racing. Chris Ihle broke away about 1km before the first sprint and took the flag ahead of the bunch. He was forced to retire soon after though, the intense effort taking its toll. A number of further attacks were quickly shut down, everyone keen to keep the bunch together for the rest of the race. At the finish Andrew McKenzie was the clear winner with Mark Fielding, Peter Ransome and Garry McLeish all accumulating equal points. Second and Third places were awarded to Mark Fielding and Peter Ransome on a countback. Young riders Ryan Dixon and Mark Livingstone rode impressively and will soon be challenging the stronger riders in the club.

C grade riders were down in numbers but the competition was fierce with track riders again shinning through. Trent Pitt won on a countback from Fabian Spice while Wayne Martin proved last weeks win was no fluke with a solid performance for third spot.

Women/Vets racing also proved to be a happy hunting ground for the specialist track riders. Ron Wroe dominated this event by winning all the sprints. Ron Mckay placed second and has been in good form lately, a win in the recent Caneland Tour boosting his confidence. Nev Ransome is proving strong in his first season of racing and he picked up third place.

Racing next week is a 20km Time Trial on Boonooroo Road. All nominations 1.30pm, racing starts 2pm. Further inquiries phone 41281227.


A & B  Grade combined, 50km
A  Grade
1 B. Phersson
2 G. Lawler
3 M. Leahy
B Grade
1 A. McKenzie
2 M. Fielding
3 P. Ransome
C Grade. 30km
1 T. Pitt
2 F. Spice
3 W. Martin
Women & Vets
1 R. Wroe
2 R. McKay
3 N. Ransome

Australian results from the past week

Barkley Challenge - Tour of Mt Isa
Illawarra Cycle Club
Iron Mike Classic Handicap Canberra CC Rd 6
Mildura-Coomealla Cycling Club
Mudgee Road Open Handicap (Mark Dwyer Memorial)
NSW Criterium Championships
Randwick Botany Cycling Club
Tin Can Bay Invitation


Complete Australian results for 2002