Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Giro finale
Photo ©: Bettini

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports from Australia

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to Cyclingnews

Peel CC
Southern Veterans
Mt Baw Baw Classic
Illawarra Cycle Club
Adelaide CC
Southern Vets CC

Central Coast CC
Latrobe CC
Balmoral CC

Bundaberg Amateur CC
Central Coast CC

Launceston MBC

ACT BMX Champs

Randwick Botany CC Criterium

Heffron Park, December 14, 2002

Puncture-plagued Jones finally gets one

By Tony Horneman

A puncture at the start line did not deter Eastern Suburbs rider and editor Jeff Jones from winning the A Grade 30km criterium race at Heffron Park on Saturday 14 December 2002. One minute from the official start time, Jones checked his front tyre to discover that it was flat. Borrowing a front wheel from a rider who was not racing, Jones quickly changed the wheel in time to start the race.

The A-Grade group battled it out for fifteen laps, dropping some riders along the way. Jeff Jones attacked three times in the last three laps, finally succeeding in getting away with 1.5 laps to go, and though the bunch chased hard they were unable to catch him. Jones crossed the line first in a time of 46min 40sec and an average speed of 39kph. Kenny was second and Hammerson third. George Pappas from the Dulwich Hill club was fourth.

Randwick Botany's Michael Cowan won the 28km B-Grade event in a time of 47min 15sec and an average speed of 35.4kph. Second was Roger Shackleton from Waratah Veterans and third Saxon Johns from Eastern Suburbs.

There were plenty of short attacks in the C-Grade 24km race. There were also some impressive lap times during the race. At the mid-way point a lap time of 3min 16sec was recorded. As a comparison, A-Grade recorded 3min 14sec during the same lap. The speed surge entering the straight for the final time saw the lead contenders jockeying for a good position and trying to pick a wheel to follow. Randwick Botany's James Stevens launched off the front of the bunch, and powered home to win by 50m in a time of 41min 34sec and an average speed of 35kph. Randwick Botany riders filled the minor placings, including Shaun Ballesty, Greg Fisher, John Rivesz and Tony Horneman. Paula Rettenmaier from the Sutherland Club again had a good race finishing with the bunch.

The D-Grade 16km event was won by Craig Klement in a time of 28min 26sec and an average 34kph. Klement rode solo from the start to win easily well ahead of the main D-Grade bunch. Second was Simon Llewellyn followed by James Guinan. Keely McNamara ("Squeal" to her friends) from the St. George Cycling Club competed for the first time in the D-Grade event. "It was a good race for my first ride at Heffron Park. It was an impressive win by Craig Klements" she said after the race.

Robert Cater blitzed the field in the Junior 1 lap (2.02 km) time trial recording a time of 2min 55sec. Keegan Aitchison's time was 3sec 23sec. Other juniors competing on the time trial and handicap races included Andrew Young (Eastern Suburbs), Mark Woodhouse, Tom Paton (Manly Warringah), Jack Bennett, Elliott Doherty, Sam Buckland, Luke Davison (Southern Cross), Andrew Young, Michael Murdoch, Thomas Murdoch and Patrick Jenner.

Coverage of local cycling results can be heard on Sydney's Eastside Radio 89.7FM "GAME ON" program, hosted by Brad Cooke, each Saturday morning from 10am.

Randwick Botany Cycling Club conducts racing at Heffron Park, Maroubra NSW each Saturday throughout the year. Juniors start at 1.00pm and Seniors 2.30pm. For more information please contact the club secretary Helen Vella on 02 9667 3307 or email or website


A Grade, 30km

1 Jeff Jones (Eastern Suburbs)                   46.40 (39kph)
2 John Kenny (Eastern Suburbs)
3 Clive Hammerson (Randwick Botany CC)
4 George Pappas (Dulwich Hill)

B Grade, 28km 

1 Michael Cowan (Randwick Botany CC)             47.15 (35.4kph)
2 Roger Shackleton (Waratah Veterans)
3 Saxon Johns (Eastern Suburbs)

C Grade, 24km

1 James Stevens (Randwick Botany CC)             41.34 (35kph)
2 Shaun Ballesty (Randwick Botany CC)
3 Greg Fisher (Randwick Botany CC)
4 John Rivesz (Randwick Botany CC)
5 Tony Horneman (Randwick Botany CC)

D Grade, 16km

1 Craig Klement (Randwick Botany CC)             28.26 (34kph)
2 Simon Llewellyn (Randwick Botany CC)
3 James Guinan (Randwick Botany CC)

E Grade, 12km

1 Norman Jew (Randwick Botany CC)                33.04
2 Kevin Malcohm (Randwick Botany CC)
3 Julia Guinan (Randwick Botany CC)


A Grade 1 Lap Time Trial

1 Robert Cater (Randwick Botany CC)               2.55
2 Keegan Aitchison (Randwick Botany CC)           0.28

B Grade 1 Lap Time Trial

1 Andrew Young (Eastern Suburbs)                  3.35
2 Mark Woodhouse (Randwick Botany CC)             0.02
3 Tom Paton (Manly Warringah)                     0.09

C Grade 1 Lap Time Trial

1 Jack Bennett (Randwick Botany CC)               4.00
2 Elliott Doherty (Randwick Botany CC)            0.14
2 Sam Buckland (Randwick Botany CC)

Handicap, 10km

1 Robert Cater (Randwick Botany CC)              15.30
2 Luke Davison (Randwick Botany CC)
3 Andrew Young (Randwick Botany CC)
4 Jack Bennett (Randwick Botany CC)
5 Sam Buckland (Randwick Botany CC)
6 Elliott Doherty (Randwick Botany CC)

Australian results from the past week

Randwick Botany CC Criterium
Canberra CC ITT
Caesar's Illawarra CC
St Kilda CC Criterium
Carnegie Caulfield CC (Dec 8)
Mildura-Coomealla CC Criterium
Mildura-Coomealla CC ITT
Carnegie Caulfield CC (Dec 10)
Canberra CC Criterium


Complete Australian results for 2002